SNAP: Managing Data Limited Fisheries for Economic and Biological Objectives

Principal Investigators:

Jono R. Wilson, Carmen Revenga, and Jeremy Rude

Sixty four percent of global fisheries, comprising 80% of the global fish catch, lack the data and resources to perform formal stock assessments. These fisheries are estimated to be overfished, resulting in ecosystem degradation and reduced social and economic welfare to fishing dependent communities. Innovative approaches to assess data-limited fisheries have been developed and can assist with restoring stocks to biomass levels that achieve higher yields, increase economic opportunities, and promote ecosystem resiliency. However, there is a lack... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group6th—8th May 2014Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th December 2014Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Elizabeth A. Babcockebabcock@rsmas.miami.eduUniversity of Miami
T. Douglas Bearddbeard@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Stuart Campbells.campbell@wcsip.orgWildlife Conservation Society Indonesia
Jason M. Copejason.cope@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Rod Fujitarfujita@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Todd Gedamketodd@merconsultants.orgMER Consultants
Mary Gleasonmgleason@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Nicolas Gutierreznicolas.gutierrez@msc.orgMarine Stewardship Council
Peter Mouspmous@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Daniel Ovandodovando@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ana Maria Parmaparma@cenpat.edu.arCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Jeremy Princebiospherics@ozemail.com.auMurdoch University
Cody Szuwalskicszuwalski@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah R. Valenciasarah.r.valencia@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
George Waweru Mainagwmaina@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jono R. Wilsonjono_wilson@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Matias Caillauxmcaillaux@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Emily S. Darlingesdarling@gmail.comUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Natalie Dowlingnatalie.dowling@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Adrian Hordyka.hordyk@murdoch.edu.auMurdoch University
Carmen Revengacrevenga@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Merrill Ruddmbrudd@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Jeremy Rudejrude@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Steven Victorsvictor@picrc.orgPalau International Coral Reef Center

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAP: Managing Data Limited Fisheries for Economic and Biological Objectives" is project ID: 12687