SNAP: Making ecosystems count in the Sustainable Development Goals

Principal Investigators:

Fabrice DeClerck, and David Cleary

The dual challenge of providing for a growing and increasingly wealthy global population while protecting the environment calls for a dramatic paradigm shift in how we approach development. Growing calls for this transition is evident on numerous fronts including efforts of the private sector to account for natural capital; government initiatives with the World Bank to account for and value ecosystem services as a complement to GDP; a growing body of academic work on measuring, monitoring, and valuing ecosystem services; and the creation of the... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group6th—10th October 2014Participant List  
Working Group8th—18th February 2015Participant List  
Working Group13th—16th April 2015Participant List  
Working Group1st—2nd July 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Susan Abssusanabs@shaw.caEclipse Environmental Consulting Ltd.
Alessandra Alfierialfieri@un.orgUnited Nations Statistics Division
Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgConservation International
Brian BelcherBrian.Belcher@RoyalRoads.caRoyal Roads University
Karen Brooksk.brooks@cgiar.orgInternational Food Policy Research Institute
Bruce Campbellb.campbell@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)
Becky Chaplin Kramerrchaplinkramer@gmail.comStanford University
Julian Chowchowj@un.orgUnited Nations Statistics Division
David Clearydcleary@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Sandra Corsisandra.corsi@gmail.comBioversity International
Fabrice DeClerckf.declerck@cgiar.orgBioversity International
Robert Dessouassidessouassi2003@yahoo.frNiger Basin Authority
Ehsan Dullooe.dulloo@cgiar.orgBioversity International
Evan H. Girvetzegirvetz@cgiar.orgInternational Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)
Line Gordonline.gordon@su.seStockholm University, Stockholm Resilience Center
Ivo Havingastatistics@un.orgUnited Nations Statistics Division
Justin Johnsonjandrewjohnson@gmail.comUniversity of Minnesota
Sarah Joness.jones@cgiar.orgBioversity International
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Kareivapkareiva@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Glenn-Marie Langeglange1@worldbank.orgWorld Bank
John Lathamjohn.latham@fao.orgFood and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Lisa A Mandlelmandle@stanford.eduNatural Capital Project
Nathaniel Matthewsn.matthews@cgiar.orgInternational Water Management Institution
Shahid Naeemsn2121@columbia.eduColumbia University
Robert Nasir.nasi@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)
Bennett Nemserbnemser@gmail.comOffice of UN Secretary-General Special Envoy
Andrew Noblea.noble@cgiar.orgInternational Water Management Institution
Ravi Prabhur.prabhu@cgiar.orgInternational Centre for Research in Agroforestry
Anita Regmianita.regmi@cgiar.orgBioversity International
Matthias Reisterreister@un.orgUnited Nations Statistics Division
Todd RosenstockT.Rosenstock@cgiar.orgWorld Agroforestry Center
Robert J. Scholesbscholes@csir.co.zaCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Luis Solorzanol.solorzano@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)
James StevensonJames.Stevenson@fao.orgFood and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgStanford University
Frank van WeertFrank.vanWeert@wetlands.orgWetlands International
Sylvia Woodsylvia.wood@cgiar.orgColumbia University
Wei Zhangw.zhang@cgiar.orgInternational Food Policy Research Institute
Jennie Barronjennie.barron@sei-international.orgStockholm Environment Institute
Boubacar BarryB.BARRY@CGIAR.ORGWest African Science Service Center on Climate Change and Adapted Land Use (WASCAL)
Kate Braumankbrauman@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
James Douglassjdouglass@stanford.eduStanford University
Thomas Elmqvistthomase@ecology.su.seStockholm University
Alexander Fremieralex.fremier@wsu.eduWashington State University
Valentin Iogoiogovalentin@yahoo.frVolta Basin Authority (VBA)
Bonnie Keelerbonnie.keeler@gmail.comUniversity of Minnesota
Eszter Krasznai Kovacseszti.k.kovacs@gmail.comUniversity of Cambridge
Mark Mulligandrmarkmulligan@googlemail.comKing's College London
Patrick O'Farrellpofarrell@csir.co.zaCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Lisa-Maria Rebelol.rebelo@cgiar.orgInternational Water Management Institution
Belinda Reyersbreyers@csir.co.zaCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
William K. Smithwkolby@gmail.comUniversity of Minnesota
Michael VerdoneMichael.verdone@iucn.orgInternational Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Stephen Woodsaw2177@columbia.eduColumbia University
Felix Addo-YoboNational Development Planning Commission
Rachel Ajamborajambo@kilimotrust.orgKilimo Trust
Ben Ampomahbyampomah@yahoo.comGhana Water Resources Commission
Charles Bineycbiney@gmail.comVolta Basin Authority (VBA)
Toro Borosanaseyd@yahoo.frDirectorate General of Water (DGRE)
Jeremy Cherfasjcherfas@mac.com
Samuel Darteyafari@hq.fcghana.comForestry Commission
Jessica Fanzojf671@columbia.eduColumbia University
Yameogo Georgesgeorges.yameogo@yahoo.frNational Council on Environment and Sustainable Development (SP/CONEDD)
Ann Jeannette Glauberaglauber@worldbank.orgWorld Bank
Clara Makenyaclara.makenya@unep.orgUnited Nations Environment Program (UNEP)
Ruth Meinzen-DickR.MEINZEN-DICK@CGIAR.ORGInternational Food Policy Research Institute
Joseph Osiakwanjosephosiakwan@yahoo.comMinistry of Lands and Natural Resources
Cheryl Palmcpalm@ei.columbia.eduColumbia University
Roseline Remansrremans@ei.columbia.eduColumbia University
Abdulkarim H. Seidaseid@nilebasin.orgNile Basin Initiative
Michael Victorm.victor@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)
Adolphe Zangreazangre@hotmail.comMinistry of Agriculture and Food Security
Camilla Zanzanianic.zanzanaini@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Wood, Sylvia; DeClerck, Fabrice. 2015. Ecosystems and human well-being in the sustainable development goals. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 13(3). Pages 123.
"SNAP: Making ecosystems count in the Sustainable Development Goals" is project ID: 12691