SNAPP: Ecological levers for health: Advancing a priority agenda for disease ecology and planetary health in the 21st century

Principal Investigators:

Susanne H. Sokolow, and Kevin D. Lafferty

Our children's and grandchildren's health depends on wise stewardship of natural ecosystems. But even as evidence amasses for links between human health and environmental change, we lack actionable solutions. The UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and a new scientific movement, “Planetary Health,” are drawing attention to these issues and raising questions about how habitable climate, clean water, fiber, fuel, and natural products, among other services and subsidies, relates to human health. Whereas past efforts have promoted the concept,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group28th—29th June 2017Participant List  
Working Group11th—14th December 2018Participant List  
Working Group30th September—3rd October 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Matthew H. Bondsmhbonds@gmail.comHarvard Medical School
Julien Brunbrun@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rebecca Chaplin Kramerrchaplinkramer@gmail.comStanford University
Giulio De Leodeleo@stanford.eduStanford University
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Heather Evesheather.eves@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Andres Garchitorenaandres.garchitorena@gmail.comHarvard Medical School
Craig Grovescraig_groves@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Skylar Hopkinsskylar.hopkins@vt.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Isabel Jonesisajones@stanford.eduStanford University
Armand Kuriskuris@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Desiree LaBeauddlabeaud@stanford.eduStanford University
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sandra LaneySandra.Laney@gatesfoundation.orgBill and Melinda Gates Foundation
David Lopez-Carrcarr@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steve Lubysluby@stanford.eduStanford University
Andrea Lundandrea.lund@stanford.eduStanford University
Andrew J. MacDonaldandy.j.macdon@gmail.comStanford University
Lisa A Mandlelmandle@stanford.eduStanford University
Erin A. Mordecaiemordeca@stanford.eduStanford University
Megan Murraymmurray@hsph.harvard.eduHarvard Medical School
Rebekah NealRebekah.Neal@gatesfoundation.orgBill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Sarah Olsonsolson@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Canada
John Openshawjjo@stanford.eduStanford University
Alison Peela.peel@griffith.edu.auGriffith University
Raina Plowrightrplowright@gmail.comPennsylvania State University
Justin V. Remaisjvr@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Taylor RickettsTaylor.Ricketts@uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont
Susanne H. Sokolowssokolow@stanford.eduStanford University
Gary Taborgary@largelandscapes.orgCenter for Large Landscape Conservation
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
David Tilmantilman@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Kinari Webbkinariwebb@gmail.comHealth in Harmony
Geoff Willardwillard@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Chelsea L. Woodchelwood@uw.eduStanford University
Julia Buckbuckj@uncw.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Wilmington
Johanna Fornbergfornberg@ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Megan Kelsomegankelso@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Laura Kwonglakwong@stanford.eduStanford University
Christopher LeBoacleboa@stanford.eduStanford University
Nicole Novanicole.nova@stanford.eduStanford University
Alexandra Cohenalexandra0324@gmail.comMiddlebury Institute of International Studies
Luz De Witluzadewit@gmail.comUniversity of Vermont
Lynne Gaffikinearthlg@gmail.comStanford University
Gladys Kalema-Zikusokagladys@ctph.orgConservation Through Public Health (CTPH)
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Andy MacDonaldmacdonald@eri.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Drew Millerdjmiller411@gmail.comMiddlebury Institute of International Studies
Matthew Salyermattsalyer@gmail.comMiddlebury Institute of International Studies
Lawrence Zikusokalawrence@ctph.orgConservation Through Public Health (CTPH)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article De Leo, Giulio; Sokolow, Susanne H.; Garchitorena, Andres; Ngonghala, Calistus; Lund, Andrea; Barry, Michele; Burke, Katherine; Mordecai, Erin A.; Daily, Gretchen; Jones, James H.; Andrews, Jason; Bendavid, Eran; Luby, Steve; LaBeaud, Desiree; Seetah, Krish; Guegan, Jean-Francois; Lafferty, Kevin D.; Wood, Chelsea L.; Jones, Isabel; Bonds, Matthew H. 2017. A novel framework to account for ecological drivers in the control and elimination of environmentally transmitted disease: a modelling study. The Lancet. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Halstead, Neal T.; Hoover, Christopher M.; Arakala, Arathi; Civitello, David J.; De Leo, Giulio; Gambhir, Manoj; Johnson, Steve A.; Jouanard, Nicolas; Loerns, Kristin A.; McMahon, Taegan A.; Ndione, Raphael A.; Nguyen, Karena H.; Raffel, Thomas A.; Remais, Justin V.; Riveau, Gilles; Sokolow, Susanne H.; Rohr, Jason R. 2018. Agrochemicals increase risk of human schistosomiasis by supporting higher densities of intermediate hosts. Nature Communications. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Lafferty, Kevin D.; Hopkins, Skylar. 2018. Unique parasite aDNA in moa coprolites from New Zealand suggests mass parasite extinctions followed human-induced megafauna extinctions. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. (Online version)
Journal Article Ngonghala, Calistus; De Leo, Giulio; Pascual, Mercedes; Keenan, Donald C; Dobson, Andrew P.; Bonds, Matthew H. 2017. General ecological models for human subsistence, health and poverty. Nature Ecology & Evolution. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Rohr, Jason R.; Barrett, Christopher B.; Civitello, David J.; Craft, Megan E.; Delius, Bryan; DeLeo, Giulio A.; Hudson, Peter J.; Jouanard, Nicolas; Nguyen, Karena H.; Ostfeld, Richard S.; Remais, Justin V.; Riveau, Gilles; Sokolow, Susanne H.; Tilman, David. 2019. Emerging human infectious diseases and the links to global food production. Nature Sustainability. (Abstract) (Online version)
"SNAPP: Ecological levers for health: Advancing a priority agenda for disease ecology and planetary health in the 21st century" is project ID: 12762