LTER: Scaling-up productivity responses to changes in biodiversity

Principal Investigators:

Forest Isbell, Jane Cowles, and Laura Dee

Although hundreds of short-term local experiments indicate that random changes in biodiversity can cause substantial changes in primary productivity, considerable debate remains regarding whether these influences of biodiversity are weaker or stronger at larger spatial and temporal scales in natural ecosystems. Given this knowledge gap, current models often implicitly assume no influence of biodiversity on ecosystem productivity, likely leading to inaccurate predictions in at least some cases. We propose to develop and test a strategy for scaling-up... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group12th—15th June 2017Participant List  
Working Group5th—9th February 2018Participant List  
Working Group18th—22nd February 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Meghan L. Avoliomeghan.avolio@jhu.eduNational Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC)
Jarrett E. Byrnesjarrett.byrnes@umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts-Boston
Adam Clarkadam.tclark@gmail.comUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Jane Cowlesjcowles@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Laura Deeledee@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Maria Dornelasmaadd@st-andrews.ac.ukUniversity of St. Andrews
Andrew Gonzalezandrew.gonzalez@mcgill.caMcGill University
Yann Hautieryannhautier@gmail.comUniversiteit Utrecht
Andrew Hectorandrew.hector@plants.ox.ac.ukUniversity of Zurich
Forest Isbellisbell@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Kimberly J. La Pierrelapierrek@si.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Michel Loreaumichel.loreau@ecoex-moulis.cnrs.frEcole Normale Superieure
Akira Moriakira.s.mori@gmail.comNational Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Tim Newboldt.newbold@ucl.ac.ukUniversity College London
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Peter B. Reichpreich@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Eric Seabloomseabloom@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Melinda D. Smithmelinda.smith@colostate.eduColorado State University
Laura Williamswill3972@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Sasha Wrightsashajwright@gmail.comCalifornia State University, Los Angeles
Patrick L. Thompsonpatrick.thompson@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Charlie Outhwaitecharlotte.outhwaite.14@ucl.ac.ukUniversity College London

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Isbell, Forest; Cowles, Jane; Dee, Laura; Loreau, Michel; Reich, Peter B.; Gonzalez, Andrew; Hector, Andrew; Schmid, Bernhard. 2018. Quantifying effects of biodiversity on ecosystem functioning across times and places. Ecology Letters. (Abstract)
Journal Article Mori, Akira; Isbell, Forest; Seidl, Rupert. 2018. B-Diversity, Community Assembly, and Ecosystem Functioning. Trends in Ecology and Evolution. (Abstract)
Journal Article Thompson, Patrick L.; Isbell, Forest; Loreau, Michel; O'Connor, Mary I.; Gonzalez, Andrew. 2018. The strength of the biodiversity-ecosystem function relationship depends on spatial scale. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. (Abstract)
"LTER: Scaling-up productivity responses to changes in biodiversity" is project ID: 12765