LTER: Advancing soil organic matter research: Synthesizing multi-scale observations, manipulations & models

Principal Investigators:

Will Wieder

Competing hypotheses that emphasize the chemical recalcitrance vs. microbial-mineral stabilization of soil organic matter (SOM) generate alternative representations in biogeochemical models. Synthesis of multi-site data presents opportunities to evaluate and refine the theories, assumptions, and parameters associated with these alternative model structures and, ultimately advance ecosystem science. Such efforts would markedly benefit from syntheses of soil organic matter (SOM) data within and among LTER sites. Given the continental-scale eco-climatological... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group6th—9th March 2018Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th November 2018Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sara Baersgbaer@siu.eduSouthern Illinois University
Ford Ballantynefb4@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Asmeret Berheasmeret@gmail.comUniversity of California, Merced
Sharon Billingssharonb@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Stephany Chaconstephany.chacon@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Stevan Earlstevan.earl@asu.eduLong Term Ecological Research (LTER)/Central Arizona-Phoenix (CAP)
Jennifer M. Fraterrigojmf@illinois.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Katerina Georgiougeorgiou.kat@gmail.comUniversity of California, Berkeley
Stuart GrandyStuart.Grandy@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Melannie HartmanMelannie.Hartman@colostate.eduColorado State University
Sarah E. Hobbieshobbie@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Chris Johnsoncejohns@syr.eduSyracuse University
Kate Lajthalajthak@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Rebecca Lybrandrebecca.lybrand@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Jessica MooreJessica.Moore@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Knute Nadelhofferknute@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Derek Piersondrk.pierson@gmail.comOregon State University
Whendee L. Silverwsilver@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Benjamin Sulmanbsulman@gmail.comPrinceton University
Xanthe WalkerXanthe.walker@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Samantha Weintraubsweintraub@battelleecology.orgNational Ecological Observatory Network, Inc. (NEON)
Will Wiederwwieder@ucar.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Laurel Brighamlaurel.brigham@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Avni Malhotraavnim@stanford.eduStanford University
Craig Rasmussencrasmuss@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"LTER: Advancing soil organic matter research: Synthesizing multi-scale observations, manipulations & models" is project ID: 12772