SNAPP: Delivering Social and Ecological Outcomes From Diverse Coastal Governance Approaches

Principal Investigators:

Emily S. Darling, and Georgina Gurney

The Sustainable Development Goals have set an ambitious and inclusive agenda to achieve social targets and protect biodiversity. In coastal ecosystems, management tools such as marine protected areas (MPAs) and increasingly, other effective area-based conservation measures (OECMs), are now encouraged to deliver multiple ecological and social benefits. How to achieve these multiple outcomes is limited by a lack of understanding of what socialecological contexts and governance arrangements can enable win-wins for nature and people. This SNAPP group... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group9th—13th April 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Vera N. Agostinivera.agostini@fao.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Arun Agrawalarunagra@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Gabby Ahmadiagabby.ahmadia@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Natalie C. Bannban@uvic.caUniversity of Victoria
Jessica Blythejessicalblythe@gmail.comBrock University
Stuart Campbellscampbell@rare.orgWildlife Conservation Society Indonesia
Joachim Claudetjoachim.claudet@gmail.comCentre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Phillipa Cohenp.cohen@cgiar.orgWorldFish Center
Emily S. Darlingedarling@wcs.orgUniversity of Toronto
Graham Epsteingbepstei@uwaterloo.caOntario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Whitney Friedmanfriedman@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Gilldavid.gill@duke.eduDuke University
Georgina Gurneygeorgina.gurney@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
Andrew Halfordandrewha@spc.intThe Pacific Community (SPC)
Harry Jonasharry@futurelaw.orgInternational Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Dan Laffoleydanlaffoley@btinternet.comInternational Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Timothy R. McClanahantmcclanahan@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Gavin McDonaldgmcdonald@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth McLeodemcleod@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Nyawira Muthiganmuthiga@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Casey O'Haraohara@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ravaka Ranaivosonrranaivoson@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society, Madagascar
Estradivari Santestradivari@wwf.idWorld Wildlife Fund, Indonesia
Amelia WengerAmelia.Wenger@my.jcu.edu.auJames Cook University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Delivering Social and Ecological Outcomes From Diverse Coastal Governance Approaches" is project ID: 12796