PEGASuS: Designing the observing system for the world’s ocean from microbes to whales

Principal Investigators:

Nicholas Bax, Daniel Dunn, and Patricia Miloslavich

A globally coordinated and sustained ocean observing system is urgently needed to systematically assess the status of the ocean's biodiversity and ecosystems and how these are responding to increasing resource use, including coastal development under the range of long-term climate change scenarios. A set of measurable biological characteristics or “biological essential ocean variables" have been identified by experts to aid global understanding of these responses and how they may provide the data that addresses policy seeking to manage or mitigate... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group5th—7th March 2019Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th December 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Valerie Allainvaleriea@spc.intThe Pacific Community (SPC)
Sonia BattenSonia.Batten@mba.ac.ukMarine Biological Association of the UK
Nicholas BaxNic.Bax@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Zoe Baxzbax@alumni.risd.edu
Mathieu Belbeochmbelbeoch@jcommops.orgJoint Technical Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM)
Sky Bristolsbristol@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS) Powell Center for Analysis and Synthesis
Pier Luigi Buttigiegpbuttigi@mpi-bremen.deAlfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research
Rachel Cavanaughrcav@bas.ac.ukBritish Antarctic Survey
J. Emmett Duffyduffye@si.eduSmithsonian Environmental Research Center
Daniel Dunndaniel.dunn@duke.eduDuke University
Karen EvansKaren.Evans@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Alfredo Giróngiron@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Heath Kelseyhkelsey@ca.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Olav Sigurd Kjesbuolav.kjesbu@hi.noInstitute of Marine Research
Patricia Miloslavichpmilos@usb.veUniversity of Tasmania
Frank Muller-Kargercarib@usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
David Oburadobura@cordioea.netCoastal Oceans Research and Development Indian Ocean (CORDIO)
Erin Satterthwaitesatterthwaite@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Elizabeth R. Seligelizabethrselig@gmail.comCenter for Ocean Solutions
Craig Stargercraig.starger@futureearth.orgFuture Earth
Joshua Tewksburyjosh.tewksbury@futureearth.orgUniversity of Washington
Simon Thrushsimon.thrush@auckland.ac.nzUniversity of Auckland
Marjo Vierrosmvierros@shaw.caUniversity of British Columbia
Anna Zivianazivian@oceanconservancy.orgOcean Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"PEGASuS: Designing the observing system for the world’s ocean from microbes to whales" is project ID: 12798