PEGASuS: Managing Ocean Change and Food Security:Implementing Palau’s National Marine Sanctuary

Principal Investigators:

Fiorenza Micheli, Yimnang Golbuu, and Jim Leape

One of the most acute challenges for ocean nations and coastal communities is food security, including sustaining wild capture fisheries in a time of rapid and profound change in the oceans and in the global food sector. Palau’s commitment to protect ocean ecosystems and resources for its people, demonstrated in a 2020 policy to close 80% of its EEZ, provides an unprecedented opportunity to take a systems approach to tackling this complex and urgent challenge. The Government of Palau has asked us to convene a working group to synthesize existing... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group12th—15th February 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Annadel Cabanbanannadel.cabanban@gmail.comUniversiti Malaysia Sabah
Patrick J. Christiepatrickc@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Javier Cuetos-Buenojaviercuetos@gmail.comThe Nature Conservancy
Valerie Cumminsv.cummins@ucc.ieUniversity College Cork
Angela N. Doerrandoerr@stanford.eduStanford University
Robert B. Dunbardunbar@stanford.eduStanford University
Sebastian Fersesebastian.ferse@leibniz-zmt.deUniversity of Bremen
Alan M. Friedlanderfriedlan@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Manoa
Jessica Gephartjag5sa@virginia.eduUniversity of Maryland
Yimnang Golbuuygolbuu@picrc.orgPalau International Coral Reef Center
Lucie Hazenljhazen@stanford.eduStanford University
Alistair Hobdayalistair.hobday@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
Noah Idechongnoah.idechong@tnc.orgMinistry of Natural Resources, Environment, and Tourism
David Idipdavididip@gmail.comPalau Automated Land and Resource Information System Office
Vanessa Jaitehvanessa.jaiteh@hotmail.comCoral Reef Research Foundation
Philip Jamespasjames@gmail.comThe Pacific Community (SPC)
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Jim Leapejleape@stanford.eduStanford University
Staci Lewisslewis13@stanford.eduStanford University
Steve Lindfieldsteve@coralreefpalau.orgCoral Reef Research Foundation
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
Joleen NgoriaklKoror State Government
Nick NgwalPalau National Marine Sanctuary
Kirsten L.L. Olesonkoleson@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Manoa
Kevin Rhodesklrhodes_grouper@yahoo.comMarAlliance
Robert H. Richmondrichmond@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Keobel SakumaPalau International Coral Reef Center
F. Umiich SengebauPalau Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment, and Tourism
Colette Wabnitzc.wabnitz@oceans.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Mark Zimringmzimring@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"PEGASuS: Managing Ocean Change and Food Security:Implementing Palau’s National Marine Sanctuary" is project ID: 12799