Developing the conceptual basis for restoration biology

Principal Investigators:

Edith B. Allen, W. W. Covington, and Donald A. Falk

A workshop is proposed to improve the scientific basis for ecological restoration. The Conservation and Restoration Biology Program has had relatively few proposals submitted and funded on restoration, even though the field of restoration is growing rapidly and is in need of a stronger conceptual basis. Restoration may be considered an experimental tool for understanding the functioning of ecological systems, but the promise of the contribution restoration ecology can make has not been fulfilled. There are literally thousands of restoration... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop19th—21st April 1996Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Edith B. AllenUniversity of California, Riverside
Michael F. Allenmichael.allen@ucr.eduSan Diego State University
Taber D. Allisontabermbl@crestedbutte.netRocky Mountain Biological Laboratory
Richard F. Ambroserambrose@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Susan BellUniversity of South Florida
Stephen L. Hayden Bee Research Center
Andy Clewellclewell@gcn.scri.fsu.eduA.F. Clewell, Incorporated
Coleen Coryccory@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
W. W. Covingtonwwc@alpine.for.nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Michael P. Crosbymcrosby@coasts.nos.noaa.govNational Ocean Service
Clifford Dahmcdahm@sevilleta.unm.eduNSF Division of Environmental Biology
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joan Ehrenfeldehrenfel@rci.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
John J. Eweljewel@fs.fed.usInstitute of Pacific Island Forestery
Donald A. Falkdonfalk@u.washington.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Stan Gregorystanley.gregory@orst.eduOregon State University
William HalvorsonUniversity of Arizona
Steve HandelState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
John J. Hellyhellyj@ucsd.eduSan Diego Supercomputer Center
Karen LevyEnvironmental Defense Fund
James A. MacMahonjam@cc.usu.eduUtah State University
William K. Michenerwilliam.michener@gmail.comJoseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
Annette M. Olsonolsonam@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Margaret A. Palmermpalmer@sesync.orgUniversity of Maryland
Thomas Parkerparker@sfsu.eduSan Francisco State University
N. LeRoy Poffpoff@lamar.colostate.eduTrout Unlimited
Richard Primackprimack@bio.bu.eduBoston University
O. J. Reichmanojreichman@gmail.comUS National Biological Service
Kevin Ricekjrice@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
John RiegerCalifornia Department of Transportation (CALTRANS)
Rob Robichauxrobichau@u.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Doug Ryan/S=D.RYAN/OU1=WO1C@mhs-fswa.attmail.comUSDA Forest Service
Al SteuterAL_Steuter@together.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Lou Tothltoth@sfwmd.govSouth Florida Water Management
Robert Twilleyrtwilley@usl.eduUniversity of Louisiana, Lafayette
Peter S. Whitepswhite.coker@mhs.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina
Susan L. Williamsslwilliams@ucdavis.eduSan Diego State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Allen, Edith B.; Covington, W. W.; Falk, Donald A. 1996. National Science Foundation workshop supports restoration-related research. Restoration and Management Notes. Vol: 14. Pages 148-150.
Journal Article Allen, Edith B.; Covington, W. W.; Falk, Donald A. 1997. Developing the conceptual basis for restoration ecology. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 275-276.
Journal Article Bell, Susan; Fonseca, Mark S.; Motten, L. B. 1997. Linking restoration and landscape ecology. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 318-323.
Journal Article Clewell, Andy; Rieger, John. 1997. What practitioners need from restoration ecologists. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 350-354.
Journal Article Ehrenfeld, Joan; Toth, Lou. 1997. Restoration ecology and the ecosystem perspective. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 307-317.
Journal Article Montalvo, Arlee; Williams, Susan L.; Rice, Kevin; Buchmann, Stephen L.; Cory, Coleen; Handel, Steve; Nabhan, G.; Robichaux, Rob. 1997. Restoration biology: A population biology perspective. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 277-290.
Journal Article Palmer, Margaret A.; Ambrose, Richard F.; Poff, N. LeRoy. 1997. Ecological theory and community restoration ecology. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 291-300.
Journal Article Parker, V. 1997. The scale of successional models and restoration objectives. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 301-306.
Journal Article White, Peter S.; Walker, Joan L. 1997. Approximating nature's variation: Selecting and using reference information in restoration ecology. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 338-349.
"Developing the conceptual basis for restoration biology" is project ID: 2000