Deep-sea biodiversity: Spatiotemporal dynamics and conservation strategies

Principal Investigators:

Donald R. Strong, and Michael A. Rex

Support is requested to form a Working Group on deep-sea biodiversity that builds on our NCEAS Workshop held in the spring of 1996. The objectives of the Working Group are to document patterns of diversity on different spatial and temporal scales and to integrate causes between scales. At small scales the extraordinarily high level of species coexistence in the deep sea remains a major challenge to contemporary ecological theory. Patterns of local diversity will be examined using existing published and unpublished data from precision sampling... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—22nd March 1998Participant List  
Working Group9th—12th May 1999Participant List  
Working Group21st—24th January 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Hal Caswellhcaswell@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ron J. Etteretter@umbsky.cc.umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
Gene Gallaghergallagher@umbsky.cc.umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
J. Frederick Grasslegrassle@ahab.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Robert R. Hesslerrrh@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Charles H. Petersoncpeters@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Michael A. Rexmichael.rex@umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
Craig Smithcsmith@soest.hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Paul SnelgroveMemorial University of Newfoundland
Andrew Goodayang@soc.soton.ac.ukSouthampton Oceanography Center
Lisa A. Levinllevin@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Dave Pawsonpawson.david@nmnh.si.eduSmithsonian Institution
Jesus Pinedajpineda@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Carol Stuartstuart@umbsky.cc.umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
Eldredge Berminghameb@naos.si.eduSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Thomas M. Cronintcronin@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Scott Francefrances@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston
Michael L. Rosenzweigscarab@u.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
George D. F. WilsonAustralian Museum

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Chase, M. C.; Etter, Ron J.; Rex, Michael A.; Quattro, J. 1998. Bathymetric patterns of genetic variation in a deep-sea protobranch bivalve, Deminucula atacellana. Marine Biology. Vol: 131. Pages 301-308.
Presentations Gooday, Andrew. 1999. Biodiversity of deep-sea foraminifera. European Congress on Protistology. Helsingor, Sweden.
Journal Article Levin, Lisa A.; Etter, Ron J.; Rex, Michael A.; Gooday, Andrew; Smith, Craig; Pineda, Jesus; Stuart, Carol; Hessler, Robert R.; Pawson, Dave. 2001. Environmental influences on regional deep-sea species diversity. Annual Review of Ecology Evolution and Systematics. Vol: 32. Pages 51-93.
Report or White Paper Rex, Michael A. 1998. Deep-sea biodiversity: Spatiotemporal dynamics and conservation strategies - Summary. (Online version)
Journal Article Rex, Michael A.; McClain, Craig R.; Johnson, Nicholas A.; Etter, Ron J.; Allen, John A.; Bouchet, Philippe; Waren, Anders. 2005. A source-sink hypothesis for abyssal biodiversity. American Naturalist. Vol: 165. Pages 163-178.
Journal Article Smith, Craig; Maybaum, H.; Baco, A.; Pope, R.; Carpenter, Stephen R.; Yager, P.; Macko, S.; Deming, J. 1998. Sediment community structure around a whale skeleton in the deep Northeast Pacific: Macrofaunal, microbial and bioturbation effects. Deep-Sea Reasearch Part II-Topical Studies in Oceanography. Vol: 45. Pages 335-364.
Journal Article Wilson, George D. F. 1998. Historical influences on deep-sea isopod diversity in the Atlantic Ocean. Deep-Sea Reasearch Part II-Topical Studies in Oceanography. Vol: 45(1-3). Pages 279-301.
"Deep-sea biodiversity: Spatiotemporal dynamics and conservation strategies" is project ID: 2011