Global Primary Production Data Initiative

Principal Investigators:

Stephen D. Prince

We propose to conduct a 2-week Working Group to develop a methodology for extrapolating sparse field observations of net primary production (NPP), including environmental controls on carbon allocation, to create a database representative of major worldwide vegetation and environmental regimes. This methodology will be used to produce a consistent database of worldwide NPP estimates, which is currently lacking. The database will be made available to global change researchers to (1) parameterize and validate global primary production models, (2)... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—15th December 1997Participant List  
Working Group18th—22nd February 1998Participant List  
Working Group14th—19th October 1998Participant List  
Meeting19th—19th October 1998Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Michael Appsmapps@nofc.forestry.caCanadian Forest Service
Sandra BrownUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Jeff Q. Chamberschambers@tulane.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Deborah A. of Missouri, St. Louis
Ken DayClimate Impacts and Grazing Systems
Stith T. Gowerstgower@facstaff.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Robin Kellyrobink@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
David W. Kicklighterdkick@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Olga KrankinaOregon State University
Sune LinderSwedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Jack A. MorganUS Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Jian NiLund University
Dennis S. Ojimadennis@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Richard J. Olsonolsonrj@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Stephen D. Princesprince@geog.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland
Jonathan Scurlocknpq@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Marc Steiningermsteininger@conservation.orgUniversity of Maryland
John R. ThomlinsonUniversity of Puerto Rico
John R. Vande Castlejvc@LTERnet.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Caroline BledsoeUniversity of California, Davis
Warren B. Cohencohen@fsl.orst.eduUSDA Forest Service
Michael B. Coughenourmikec@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Scott Goetzsgoetz@whrc.orgUniversity of Maryland
Kathy A. Hibbardkathy.hibbard@pnl.govUniversity of New Hampshire
Edward J. RykielWashington State University
Robert J. for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
James Sulzmanjsulzman@ncar.ucar.eduUniversity of Colorado
Wolfgang Cramercramer@pik-potsdam.dePotsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Elisabeth A. Hollandeholland@acd.ucar.eduNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Robert B. Jacksonjackson@duke.eduUniversity of Texas, Austin
Jennifer Jenkinsjjenkins@fs.fed.usNorthern Global Change Research Program, USFS
William LauenrothColorado State University
Mac Postwmp@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
H. Jochen Schenkjschenk@fullerton.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Larry TieszenUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Xinshi Academy of Sciences
Guangsheng Academy of Sciences
Rob of New Hampshire
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Jon Foleyjfoley@facstaff.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Andrew of Terrestrial Ecology, Edinburgh Resaerch Station
Joerg Kadukjoerg@jasper.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Steven W. Runningswr@ntsg.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Martin University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Chambers, Jeff Q.; dos Santos, J.; Ribeiro, R. J.; Higuchi, Niro. 2001. Tree damage, allometric relationships, and above-ground net primary production in Central Amazon forest. Forest Ecology and Management. Vol: 152 (1-3). Pages 73-84.
Data Set Clark, Deborah A. 1999. Annotated dataset on tropical forest NPP components. (Online version)
Journal Article Clark, Deborah A.; Brown, Sandra; Kicklighter, David W.; Chambers, Jeff Q.; Thomlinson, John R.; Ni, Jian; Holland, Elisabeth A. 2001. Measuring net primary production in forests: Concepts and field methods. Ecological Applications. Vol: 11(2). Pages 356-370.
Journal Article Clark, Deborah A.; Brown, Sandra; Kicklighter, David W.; Chambers, Jeff Q.; Thomlinson, John R.; Ni, Jian; Holland, Elisabeth A. 2001. Net primary production in tropical forests: An evaluation and synthesis of existing field data. Ecological Applications. Vol: 11(2). Pages 371-384.
Data Set Clark, Deborah A.; Brown, Sandra; Kicklighter, David W.; Chambers, Jeff Q.; Thomlinson, John R.; Holland, Elisabeth A. 2005. Net primary production in tropical forests: An evaluation and synthesis of existing field data. (Online version)
Data Set Clark, Deborah A.; Brown, Sandra; Kicklighter, David W.; Chambers, Jeff Q.; Thomlinson, John R.; Ni, Jian; Holland, Elisabeth A. 2005. Published data from tropical forest sites with data on forest biomass and at least one component of NPP, with documentation of the methods underlying these data (and associated references). (Online version)
Data Set De Angelis, Don; Gardner, Robert H.; Shugart, Hank. 2005. Productivity of forest ecosystems studied during the International Biological Programme (IBP): The woodlands data set. (Online version)
Data Set Esser, G.; Lieth, H.; Scurlock, Jonathan; Olson, Richard J. 2005. Osnabruck NPP dataset: Worldwide estimates and bibliography of net primary productivity derived from pre-1982 publications. (Online version)
Data Set Gill, R.; Kelly, Robin; Parton, William J.; Day, Ken; Jackson, Robert B.; Morgan, Jack A.; Scurlock, Jonathan; Tieszen, Larry; Castle, J.; Ojima, Dennis S.; Zhang, Xinshi. 2005. NPP grassland: Constistent worldwide site estimates, 1954-1990. (Online version)
Journal Article Gower, Stith T.; Krankina, Olga; Olson, Richard J.; Apps, Michael; Linder, Sune; Wang, C. 2001. Net primary production and carbon allocation patterns of boreal forest ecosystems. Ecological Applications. Vol: 11. Pages 1395-1411.
Data Set Gower, Stith T.; Krankina, Olga; Apps, Michael; Linder, Sune; Wang, C.; Olson, M. H. 2006. NPP boreal forest: Consistent worldwide site estimates, 1977-1994. (Online version)
Journal Article Jenkins, Jennifer; Birdsey, Richard A.; Pan, Yude. 2001. Biomass and NPP estimation for the mid-Atlantic region (USA) using plot-level forest inventory data. Ecological Applications. Vol: 11. Pages 1174-1193.
Data Set Kicklighter, David W. 2005. Terrestrial ecosystem model (TEM) dataset - data from 16 vegetation types worldwide. (Online version)
Data Set Krankina, Olga. 2005. Scots pine NPP dataset (Siberia) - data from 14 boreal forest stands in easter Russia. (Online version)
Journal Article Ni, Jian; Zhang, Xinshi; Scurlock, Jonathan. 2001. Synthesis and analysis of biomass and net primary production in Chinese forests. Annals of Forest Science. Vol: 58. Pages 351-384.
Data Set Olson, Richard J.; Scurlock, Jonathan. 2005. NPP multi-biome: Grassland, boreal forest, and tropical forest sites, 1939-1996. (Online version)
Data Set Prince, Stephen D. 1999. Worldwide Net Primary Production (NPP) database.
Data Set Prince, Stephen D.; Haskett, J.; Steininger, Marc; Strand, H.; Wright, R. 2005. NPP cropland: Gridded estimates for the central USA, 1982-1996. (Online version)
Journal Article Walters, Carl J.; Kitchell, James F. 2001. Cultivation/depensation effects on juvenile survival and recruitment: Implications for the theory of fishing. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 58(1). Pages 39-50. (Abstract)
Data Set Waring, Richard; Law, Beverly E.; Bond, Barbara J. 2005. Nine treatments from six distinct study sites in Oregon transect ecosystem research project, Northwestern USA. (Online version)
Data Set Zheng, Daolan; Prince, Stephen D.; Wright, R. 2005. NPP multi-biome: Gridded estimates for selected regions worldwide, 1989-2001, R1. (Online version)
"Global Primary Production Data Initiative" is project ID: 2017