Coevolution and the organization of biodiversity

Principal Investigators:

John N. Thompson

I propose to spend July 1997 through August 1998 at NCEAS analyzing three ecological problems on how the coevolutionary process contributes to the organization of biological diversity within and among communities. These problems are the spatial scale of coevolution, the temporal scale of coevolution, and different forms of multispecific coevolution. Activities will include construction and evaluation of a database of ecological studies that have evaluated rapid evolution of interspecific interactions, a workshop at NCEAS on the relationship... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Sabbatical Fellow1st July 1997—31st July 1998Participant List  
Workshop22nd—24th October 1997Participant List  
Workshop6th—9th March 1998Participant List  
Workshop20th—24th June 1998Participant List  
Workshop10th—14th November 1998Participant List  
Working Group10th—20th March 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John N. Thompsonthompson@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Peter A. Abramspeter.abrams@utoronto.caUniversity of Maryland
Jeremy J. Burdonjeremy.burdon@pi.csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Keith ClayIndiana University
Steven A. FrankUniversity of California, Irvine
Douglas J. FutuymaState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook
Scott A. Hodgeshodges@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John JaenikeUniversity of Rochester
Richard E. Lenskilenski@msu.eduMichigan State University
Curtis M. Livelyclively@sunflower.bio.indiana.eduIndiana University
Matthew A. ParkerUniversity of New York
O. J. Reichmanojreichman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Cristina Sandovalsandoval@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Douglas W. Schemskeschem@msu.eduUniversity of Washington
Dolph Schluterschluter@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Joseph Travistravis@neuro.fsu.eduFlorida State University
Michael Turellimturelli@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Sara E. ViaUniversity of Maryland
Thomas G. WhithamNorthern Arizona University
Richard Gomulkiewiczgomulki@wsu.eduWashington State University
Michael E. Hochbergmhochber@univ-montp2.frUniversité Pierre et Marie Curie
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Kansas
Jordi Bascomptebascompte@ebd.csic.esUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Timothy H. Keitttkeitt@mail.utexas.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Scott Nuismersnuismer@uidaho.eduWashington State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Benkman, C. W. 1999. The selection mosaic and diversifying coevolution between crossbills and lodgepole pine. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S75-S91.
Journal Article Burdon, Jeremy J.; Thrall, Peter H. 1999. Spatial and temporal patterns in coevolving plant and pathogen associations. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S15-S33.
Journal Article Gomulkiewicz, Richard; Thompson, John N.; Holt, Robert D.; Nuismer, Scott; Hochberg, Michael E. 2000. Hot spots, cold spots, and the geographic mosaic theory of coevolution. American Naturalist. Vol: 156. Pages 156-174.
Presentations Hochberg, Michael E. 1999. Parasite virulence across geographic ranges. Evolutionary Biology of Host-Parasite Relationships: Reality Meets Models (CBETM). Perpignan, France.
Journal Article Hochberg, Michael E.; Holt, Robert D.; Gomulkiewicz, Richard; Thompson, John N. 2000. Weak sinks could cradle mutualistic symbioses - strong sources should harbour parasitic symbioses. Journal of Evolutionary Biology. Vol: 13. Pages 213-222.
Journal Article Kraaijeveld, A. R.; Godfray, Charles. 1999. Geographic patterns in the evolution of resistance and virulence in Drosophila and its parasitoids. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S61-S74.
Journal Article Lively, Curtis M. 1999. Migration, virulence, and the geographic mosaic of adaptation by parasites. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S34-S47.
Journal Article Nuismer, Scott; Thompson, John N.; Gomulkiewicz, Richard. 1999. Gene flow and geographically structured coevolution. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 266. Pages 605-609.
Journal Article Nuismer, Scott; Thompson, John N.; Gomulkiewicz, Richard. 2000. Coevolutionary clines across selection mosaics. Evolution. Vol: 54(4). Pages 1102-1115.
Journal Article Parker, Matthew A. 1999. Mutualism in metapopulations of legumes and rhizobia. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S48-S60.
Report or White Paper Thompson, John N. 1998. Coevolution Modelling Working Group I Report. (Online version)
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1998. Coping with multiple enemies: 10 years of attack on Lomatium dissectum plants. Ecology. Vol: 79. Pages 2550-2554.
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1998. Rapid evolution as an ecological process. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 13. Pages 329-332.
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1998. The population biology of coevolution. Researches on Population Ecology. Vol: 40. Pages 159-166.
Presentations Thompson, John N. 1998. Vice President's symposium of the American Society of Naturalists. Vice President's symposium of the American Society of Naturalists. American Society of Naturalists and NCEAS.
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1999. Coevolution and escalation: Are ongoing coevolutionary meanderings important?. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S92-S93.
Report or White Paper Thompson, John N. 1999. Geographic Mosaic of Coevolution Working Group - Summary for March 1999 Meeting. (Online version)
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1999. Specific hypotheses on the geographic mosaic of coevolution. American Naturalist. Vol: 153. Pages S1-S14.
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1999. The evolution of species interactions. Science. Vol: 284. Pages 2116-2118.
Journal Article Thompson, John N. 1999. The raw material for coevolution. Oikos. Vol: 84. Pages 5-16.
Book Chapter Thompson, John N. 1999. What we know and do not know about coevolution: Insect herbivores and plants as a test case. Edited by Olff, H.; Brown, V. K.; Drent, R. H.. Herbivores: Between Plants and Predators. Blackwell. Oxford. Pages 7-30.
Book Thompson, John N. 2005. The Geographic Mosaic of Coevolution. University of Chicago Press. Chicago. Pages 443.
Report or White Paper Thompson, John N. Coevolution and the Organization of Biodiversity. (Online version)
"Coevolution and the organization of biodiversity" is project ID: 2030