Ecosystem Model-Data Intercomparison Working Group on Data - Synthesis, Formats, and Establishment of an EMDI Server Facility

Principal Investigators:

Kathy A. Hibbard

We propose to conduct a 4-5 day Working Group to promote an Ecosystem Model-Data Intercomparison (EMDI) activity through which, for the first time ever, a wide range of global carbon cycle models will be compared with measured net primary productivity (NPP). The goals of the EMDI are to compare model estimates of terrestrial carbon fluxes to estimates from ground-based measurements. Proposed tasks include finalizing synthesis for ancillary data sets, agreement on data formats, and establishment of computer server/s (one proposed to be located... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group28th April—1st May 1999Participant List  
Graduate Student1st November 1999—30th June 2000Participant List  
Working Group18th—21st April 2001Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Kathy A. Hibbardkathy.hibbard@pnl.govUniversity of New Hampshire
David W. Kicklighterdkick@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Chris J. Kucharikkucharik@facstaff.wisc.eduInstitute for Environment Studies
Beverly E. Lawbev.law@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Richard J. Olsonolsonrj@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Stephen D. Princesprince@geog.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland
Annette Schlossannette.schloss@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Benjamin Smithben.smith.lu@gmail.comLund University
Keri Johnson3kj@ornl.govUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
Dominique Bacheletdominique@consbio.orgOregon State University
Victor BrovkinVictor.Brovkin@pik-potsdam.dePotsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Mingkui Caomkcao@glue.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
George Hurttgeorge.hurtt@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Julian Jenkinsjulian.jenkins@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Jinjun Jijjj@ast590.tea.ac.cnChinese Academy of Sciences
Joerg Kadukjoerg@jasper.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Alisa R. Keyseralisa@ntsg.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Steven A. Kloostersklooster@gaia.arc.nasa.govCalifornia State University, Monterey Bay
Yinpeng Lilyp@ast590.tea.ac.cnChinese Academy of Sciences
Mac Postwmp@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Jonathan Scurlocknpq@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Jen Smalljsmall@geog.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Peter E. Thorntonthorntonpe@ornl.govUniversity of Montana
Nicolas Viovyviovy@lsce.saclay.cea.frUnknown
Daolan Zhengdzheng@utnet.utoledo.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Del Grosso, Stephen; Parton, William J.; Stohlgren, Thomas; Zheng, Daolan; Bachelet, Dominique; Prince, Stephen D.; Hibbard, Kathy A.; Olson, Richard J. 2008. Global potential net primary production predicted from vegetation class, precipitation, and temperature. Ecology. Vol: 89(8). Pages 2117-2126.
Data Set Olson, Robert J.; Scurlock, Jonathan; Prince, Stephen D.; Zheng, Daolan; Johnson, Keri. 2013. NPP Multi-Biome: Global primary production data initiative products, R2 .
"Ecosystem Model-Data Intercomparison Working Group on Data - Synthesis, Formats, and Establishment of an EMDI Server Facility" is project ID: 2042