Value of the world's ecosystem services and natural capital: Toward a dynamic, integrated approach

Principal Investigators:

Robert Costanza, and Stephen Farber

Our first workshop on this topic at NCEAS in June of 1996 was very successful at synthesizing the large (but scattered) existing information about the value of ecosystem services and natural capital and presenting it in a form useful for ecologists, economists, policy makers, and the general public. The results were ultimately published in Nature (Costanza et. al. 1997) and (as we intended) stimulated much discussion, media attention, and debate, including stories in the NY Times, Newsweek, Science, Science News, and US News and World Report.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group1st—5th June 1998Participant List  
Graduate Student1st August 1998—30th June 2000Participant List  
Graduate Student1st August 1998—30th June 2000Participant List  
Visitor27th December 1998—27th March 1999Participant List  
Working Group1st—6th June 1999Participant List  
Working Group11th—15th June 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Wiktor L. AdamowiczVic.Adamowicz@ales.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Robert Costanzarobert.costanza@anu.edu.auUniversity of Maryland
Ralph C. d'ArgeUnknown
Rudolf de Grootdolf.degroot@algemeen.cmkw.wau.nlWageningen Agricultural University
Stephen FarberUniversity of Pittsburgh
Monica Grassomgrasso@cbl.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Bruce HannonUniversity of Illinois, Chicago
John Hobbiejhobbie@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Richard B. Howarthrbhowarth@dartmouth.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Glenn-Marie Langeglange1@worldbank.orgUniversity of New York
Karin Limburgklimburg@esf.eduStockholm University
Ramone Lopezrlopez@arec.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland
Shahid Naeemsn2121@columbia.eduUniversity of Washington
Robert V. O'Neillrvo@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Murray Pattersonm.g.patterson@massey.ac.nzMassey University, Manawatu
Jan RotmansMaastricht University
Matthias Ruthmruth@bu.eduBoston University
Paul Suttonsutton@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ferdinando Villaferdinando.villa@uvm.eduUniversity of Maryland
Robert Jay Wilderrobw@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Wilkinsonwilkinson@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James Wilsonjwilson@maine.eduUniversity of Maine
Matthew A. Wilsonwilson@bsad.uvm.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Roelof M. Boumansroelof.boumans@uvm.eduUniversity of Maryland

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Boumans, Roelof M.; Costanza, Robert; Farley, Joshua; Wilson, Matthew A.; Rotmans, Jan; Villa, Ferdinando; Portela, Rosimeiry; Grasso, Monica. 2002. Modeling the dynamics of the Integrated Earth System and the Value of Global Ecosystem Services using the GUMBO Model. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 529-560.
Data Set Costanza, Robert. 1999. Global values of ecosystem services. (Online version)
Journal Article Costanza, Robert; Farber, Stephen. 2002. Introduction to the special issue on the Dynamics and Value of Ecosystem Services: Integrating economic and ecological perspectives. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 367-373. (Online version)
Data Set Costanza, Robert; Farber, Stephen. 2006. Value of the world's ecosystem services and natural capital datasets. (Online version)
Report or White Paper de Groot, Rudolf. 1997. Valuing natural ecosystems: From local services to global capital. Position-paper for the European Symposium on Environmental Valuation, organised by C3ED. Pages 20pp.
Journal Article de Groot, Rudolf; Wilson, Matthew A.; Boumans, Roelof M. 2002. A typology for the classification, description and valuation of ecosystem functions, goods and services. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 393-408. (Online version)
Journal Article Farber, Stephen; Costanza, Robert; Wilson, Matthew A. 2002. Economic and ecological concepts for valuing ecosystem services. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 375-392. (Online version)
Journal Article Howarth, Richard B.; Farber, Stephen. 2002. Accounting for the value of ecosystem services. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 421-429. (Online version)
Journal Article Konarska, Keri M.; Sutton, Paul; Castellon, Michael J. 2002. Evaluating scale dependence of ecosystem service valuation: A comparison of NOAA-AVHRR and Landsat TM datasets. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 491-507. (Online version)
Journal Article Limburg, Karin; O'Neill, Robert V.; Costanza, Robert; Farber, Stephen. 2002. Complex systems and valuation. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 409-420. (Online version)
Journal Article Patterson, Murray. 2002. Ecological production based pricing of biosphere processes. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 457-478. (Online version)
Journal Article Sutton, Paul; Costanza, Robert. 2002. Global estimates of market and non-market values derived from nighttime satellite imagery, land cover, and ecosystem service valuation. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 509-527. (Online version)
Journal Article Villa, Ferdinando; Wilson, Matthew A.; de Groot, Rudolf; Farber, Stephen; Costanza, Robert; Boumans, Roelof M. 2002. Designing an integrated knowledge base to support ecosystem services valuation. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 445-456. (Online version)
Journal Article Wilson, Matthew A.; Howarth, Richard B. 2002. Discourse-based valuation of ecosystem services: Establishing fair outcomes through group deliberation. Ecological Economics. Vol: 41(3). Pages 431-443. (Online version)
"Value of the world's ecosystem services and natural capital: Toward a dynamic, integrated approach" is project ID: 2058