Interactions in mixed tree-grass systems

Principal Investigators:

William J. Parton, Steven R. Archer, Michael B. Coughenour, and David Hall

It is proposed to hold two workshops at NCEAS, in March of 1998 and 1999 respectively, to test and unify the emerging theory which accounts for the partitioning of Net Primary Production (NPP), and the co-existence of trees and grasses, in mixed tree-grass systems. The workshops would apply four savanna models, which reflect a range in complexity in the way they treat the tree-grass interaction, to thirty data sets from widely differing environments, in three experiments which will critically test the interaction theory. The effort is part of a... more

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop10th—13th May 1998Participant List  
Workshop15th—19th November 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Steven R. Archersarcher@ag.arizona.eduTexas A and M University
David D. BreshearsLos Alamos National Laboratory
Michael B. Coughenourmikec@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Michael B. Dodddoddm@agresearch.cri.nzAgResearch (formally New Zealand Pastoral Agricultural Research Institute)
David Halldavid.hall@kcl.ac.ukKing's College London
Niall P. Hananniall@nrel.colostate.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joanna I. Housejo.house@bgc-jena.mpg.deKing's College London
Richard Joffrejoffre@cefe.cnrs-mop.frCentre d'Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive-Centre national de la recherche scientifique CEFE-CNRS
John Ludwigjohn.ludwig@terc.csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Jean-Claude Menautpinto@paris.orstom.frOrstom
Ruben A. Montesrmontes@oikos.ivic.veUniversidad Simón Bolívar
Charles S. Moyomatopos@cgnet.comMatopos Research Station
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Jose San Josejsanjose@oikos.ivic.veInstituto Venezolano de Investigaciones Cientificas (IVIC)
Joe C. Scanlanscanlanjc@dnr.qld.gov.auAustralia Department of Natural Resources
Robert J. Scholesbscholes@csir.co.zaCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Jonathan Scurlocknpq@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Bruce Thorroldthorroldb@agresearch.cri.nzAgResearch (formally New Zealand Pastoral Agricultural Research Institute)
Jacques Gignouxgignoux@biologie.ens.frLaboratoire d'Ecologie ENS
Nancy Y. Kiangnancy@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Chad McMurtrycmcmurt@acs.tamu.eduTexas A and M University
Guillaume Simionisimioni@biologie.ens.frLaboratoire d'Ecologie ENS

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article House, Joanna I.; Archer, Steven R.; Breshears, David D.; Scholes, Robert J. 2003. Conundrums in mixed woody-herbaceous plant systems. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 30. Pages 1763-1777.
Book Chapter Ludwig, John; Coughenour, Michael B.; Dyer, Rodney. 1999. Modelling the impacts of fire and grazing on the productivity and sustainability of tropical savannas, northern Australia. Edited by Eldridge, D.; Freudenberger, D.. People and Rangelands: Building the Future. Society for Range Management. Denver, CO. Pages 845-847.
Report or White Paper Parton, William J. 1998. Tree-Grass Modelling Meeting. (Online version)
Report or White Paper Parton, William J. 1999. SCOPE Project on Tree-Grass Dynamics: Modelling Workshop 1 Summary Report. (Online version)
Report or White Paper Parton, William J. 1999. SCOPE Project on Tree-Grass Dynamics: Project Summary Report. (Online version)
Report or White Paper Parton, William J. 1999. SCOPE Project on Tree-Grass Dynamics: Workshop 2 Summary Report. (Online version)
Report or White Paper Parton, William J. 1999. Tree-grass interactions workshop. (Online version)
Journal Article San Jose, Jose; Montes, Ruben A. 1997. Fire effect on the coexistence of trees and grasses in savannas and the resulting outcome on organic matter budget. Interciencia. Vol: 22. Pages 289-298.
Journal Article San Jose, Jose; Montes, Ruben A.; Farinas, M. R. 1998. Carbon stocks and fluxes in a temporal scaling from a savanna to a semi-deciduous forest. Forest Ecology and Management. Vol: 105. Pages 251-262.
Journal Article San Jose, Jose; Nikonova, N.; Brancho, R. 1998. Comparison of factors affecting water transfer in a cultivated paleotropical grass (Brachiaria decumbens Stapf) field and a neotropical savanna during the dry season of the Orinoco lowlands. Journal of Applied Meteorology. Vol: 37. Pages 509-522.
Journal Article San Jose, Jose; Brancho, R.; Nikonova, N. 1998. Comparison of water transfer as a component of the energy balance in a cultivated grass (Brachiaria decumbens Stapf.) field and a savanna during the wet season of the Orinoco Llanos. Agricultural and Forest Meteorology. Vol: 90. Pages 65-79.
Journal Article San Jose, Jose; Montes, Ruben A.; Mazorra, M. 1998. The nature of savanna heterogeneity in the Orinoco basin. Global Ecology and Biogeography Letters. Vol: 7. Pages 441-455.
"Interactions in mixed tree-grass systems" is project ID: 2062