Nitrogen transport and transformations: A regional and global analysis

Principal Investigators:

Robert W. Howarth

On behalf of the Scientific Committee on Problems in the Environment (SCOPE), we request funds to partially support the final synthesis activities of the SCOPE International Nitrogen Project. This project was established in 1993 to improve our understanding of the global nitrogen cycle via a focus upon changes at the scale of large regions; since that time four regional workshops have been held in the U.S., Chile, Taiwan, and Japan, with a fifth planned for China this October. Here, we describe a two year plan aimed at synthesizing and completing... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—18th November 1998Participant List  
Working Group2nd—4th December 1998Participant List  
Working Group8th—10th December 1998Participant List  
Working Group11th—13th December 1998Participant List  
Sabbatical Fellow1st January—30th June 1999Participant List  
Working Group20th—22nd January 1999Participant List  
Working Group15th—17th April 1999Participant List  
Working Group6th—8th May 1999Participant List  
Working Group24th—27th May 1999Participant List  
Working Group11th—13th March 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Marina Azzaroli BlekenAgricultural University of Norway
Pornpimol Chaiwanakuptporn@doa.go.thDepartment of Agriculture, Chatuchak
John Freneyj.freney@pi.csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Richard B. Howarthrbhowarth@dartmouth.eduDartmouth College
Robert W. Howarthrwh2@cornell.eduCornell University
Pamela Matsonpamela.matson@stanford.eduStanford University
Jerry M. Melillojmelillo@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Katsuyuki Minamiminami@niaes.affrc.go.jpNational Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Arvin R. MosierUS Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Roz Naylorroz@stanford.eduStanford University
Zhao-Liang Zhuzlzhu@issas.ac.cnInstitute of Soil Science
Birgitta BergmanStockholm University
Doug CaponeUniversity of Maryland
Ed Carpenterecarpenter@ccmail.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook
Dave Karldkarl@soest.hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Ricardo LetelierOregon State University
Fred Lipschultzfred@bbsr.eduBermuda Biological Station for Research
Anthony F. Michaelstony@usc.eduUniversity of Southern California
Hans W. Paerlhans_paerl@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dan SigmanPrinceton University
Lucas StalNetherlands Institute of Ecology
Kenneth G. Cassmankcassman1@unl.eduUniversity of Nebraska, Lincoln
Cory C. Clevelandcory.cleveland@umontana.eduUniversity of Colorado
Tim CrewsPrescott College
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Nancy B. Grimmnbgrimm@asu.eduArizona State University
Luiz Martinellimartinelli@cena.usp.brUniversidade de São Paulo
Edward Rastettererastett@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Janet SprentUniversity of Dundee
Peter Vitousekvitousek@stanford.eduStanford University
Gilles BillenUniversité Libre de Bruxelles Libre de Bruxelles
Elizabeth W. Boyerewboyer@syr.eduCornell University
Norbert Jaworskicjaworsk@pegasus.cc.ucf.eduEnvironmental Protection Agency
Kate Lajthalajthak@bcc.orst.eduOregon State University
Bernhard Mayerbernhard@earth.geo.ucalgary.caUniversity of Calgary
Knute Nadelhofferknute@umich.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Scott W. NixonUniversity of Rhode Island
William H. Schlesingerschlesin@duke.eduDuke University
Nico van Breemennico.vanbreemen@bodeco.beng.wau.nlWageningen Agricultural University
Douwe van Damdouwe.vandam@bodeco.beng.wau.nlWageningen Agricultural University
Guangxi XingChinese Academy of Sciences
Richard B. AlexanderUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Gregory P. Asnergpa@carnegiescience.eduStanford University
Vladimir BashkinSeoul National University
Rob Braswellbraswell@sherman.sr.unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Frank J. DentenerUniversiteit Utrecht
Jim GallowayUniversity of Virginia
Elisabeth A. Hollandeholland@acd.ucar.eduNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Penny JohnesUniversity of Reading
William LewisUniversity of Colorado
William H. McDowellbill.mcdowell@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michel MeybeckUniversité de Paris
Jason C. Neffneffjc@colorado.eduColorado State University
William Robertsonwr@mellon.orgAndrew W. Mellon Foundation
Richard A. Smithrsmith1@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Alan R. Townsendalan.townsend@duke.eduUniversity of Colorado
Charles J. Vorosmartycharles.vorosmarty@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Christine L. Goodaleclg33@cornell.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Keith Paustiankeithp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Sybil Seitzingersybil@imcs.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Pamela A. Greenpgreen@ccny.cuny.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Mary Boothmbooth@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Sharon Collinge
Gretchen Dailygdaily@leland.stanford.eduStanford University
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Paul R. Epsteinpaul_epstein@hms.harvard.eduHarvard Medical School
Dennis Keeneydrkeeney@iastate.eduIowa State University
Michael Mallinmallinm@uncwil.eduUniversity of North Carolina

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Alexander, Richard B.; Johnes, Penny; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Smith, Richard A. 2002. A comparison of models for estimating the riverine export of nitrogen from large watersheds. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 295-339.
Journal Article Bashkin, Vladimir; Park, S. U.; Choi, M. S.; Less, C. B. 2002. Nitrogen budgets for the Republic of Korea and the Yellow Sea region. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 387-403.
Presentations Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Alexander, Richard B.; Asner, Gregory P.; Bashkin, Vladimir; Braswell, Rob; Dentener, Frank J.; Holland, Elisabeth A.; Howarth, Robert W.; Johnes, Penny; Lewis, William; Meybeck, Michel; McDowell, William H.; Melack, John M.; Neff, Jason C.; Townsend, Alan R.; Vorosmarty, Charles J.; Xing, Guangxi. 1999. Regional and landscape-scale nitrogen budgets. Ecological Society of America. Spokane, WA.
Journal Article Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Goodale, Christine L.; Jaworski, Norbert; Howarth, Robert W. 2002. Anthropogenic nitrogen sources and relationships to riverine nitrogen export in the northeastern USA. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 137-169.
Book Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Howarth, Robert W. 2002. The Nitrogen Cycle at Regional to Global Scales: Report of the International SCOPE Nitrogen Project. Kluwer Academic Publishers. Dordrecht. Pages 519.
Book Chapter Breitburg, Denise L.; Baxter, James W.; Hatfield, Colleen; Howarth, Robert W.; Jones, Clive G.; Lovett, Gary M.; Wigand, Cathleen. 1998. Understanding effects of multiple stressors: Ideas and challenges. Edited by Pace, Michael; Groffman, Peter. Successes, Limitations and Frontiers in Ecosystem Science. Springer-Verlag. New York. Pages 416-431.
Journal Article Goodale, Christine L.; Lajtha, Kate; Nadelhoffer, Knute; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Jaworski, Norbert. 2002. Forest nitrogen sinks in large eastern U.S. watersheds: Estimates from forest inventory and an ecosystem model. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 239-266.
Report or White Paper Howarth, Robert W. 2000. Clean coastal waters: Understanding and reducing the effects of nutrient pollution. National Research Council. National Academies Press. Washington, DC.
Journal Article Howarth, Robert W.; Anderson, Donald M.; Cloern, James E.; Elfring, Chris; Hopkinson, Chuck; Lapointe, Brian; Malone, Tom; Marcus, Nancy; McGlathery, Karen J.; Sharpley, Andrew; Walker, Dan. 2000. Nutrient pollution of coastal rivers, bays, and seas. Issues in Ecology. Vol: 7. Pages 1-15.
Journal Article Howarth, Robert W.; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Pabich, W. J.; Galloway, Jim. 2002. Nitrogen use in the United States from 1961-2000 and potential future trends. Ambio. Vol: 31. Pages 88-96.
Book Chapter Howarth, Robert W. 2002. The nitrogen cycle. Edited by Mooney, Harold A.; Canadell, Josep G.. Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change, The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change. Vol: 2. John Wiley and Sons, Ltd.. Chichester. Pages 429-435.
Journal Article Johnes, Penny; Butterfield, D. 2002. Landscape, regional and global estimates of nitrogen flux from land to sea: Errors and uncertainties. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 429-476.
Journal Article Karl, Dave; Michaels, Anthony F.; Bergman, Birgitta; Capone, Doug; Carpenter, Ed; Leterlier, R.; Lipschultz, Fred; Paerl, Hans W.; Sigman, Dan; Stah, L. 2002. Dinitrogen fixation in the world's oceans. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 47-98.
Journal Article Lewis, William. 2002. Yield of nitrogen from minimally disturbed watersheds of the United States. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 375-385.
Journal Article Mayer, Bernhard; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Goodale, Christine L.; Jaworski, Norbert; van Breemen, Nico; Howarth, Robert W.; Seitzinger, Sybil; Billen, Gilles; Lajtha, Kate; Nadelhoffer, Knute; van Dam, Douwe; Hetling, Leo J.; Nosal, Miloslav; Paustian, Keith. 2002. Sources of nitrate in rivers draining sixteen watersheds in the northeastern U.S.: Isotopic constraints. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 171-197.
Journal Article Mosier, Arvin R.; Bleken, Marina Azzaroli; Chaiwanakupt, Pornpimol; Ellis, Erle C.; Freney, John; Howarth, Robert W.; Matson, Pamela; Minami, Katsuyuki; Naylor, Roz; Weeks, Kristin N.; Zhu, Zhao-Liang. 2001. Policy implications of human-accelerated nitrogen cycling. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 52. Pages 281-320.
Journal Article Mosier, Arvin R.; Bleken, Marina Azzaroli; Chaiwanakupt, Pornpimol; Ellis, Erle C.; Freney, John; Howarth, Richard B.; Matson, Pamela; Minami, Katsuyuki; Naylor, Roz; Weeks, Kristin N.; Zhu, Zhao-Liang. 2002. Policy implications of human-accelerated nitrogen cycling (Reprinted from Biogeochemistry, vol 52, pg 281-320, 2001). Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57(1). Pages 477-516. (Online version)
Journal Article Neff, Jason C.; Holland, Elisabeth A.; Dentener, Frank J.; McDowell, William H.; Russell, Kristina M. 2002. The origin, composition and rates of organic nitrogen deposition: A missing piece of the nitrogen cycle?. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 99-136.
Journal Article Seitzinger, Sybil; Styles, R. V.; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Alexander, Richard B.; Billen, Gilles; Howarth, Robert W.; Mayer, Bernhard; van Breemen, Nico. 2002. Nitrogen retention in rivers: Model development and application to watersheds in the northeastern USA. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 199-237.
Journal Article Sickman, James; Melack, John M.; Stoddard, J. L. 2002. Regional analysis of inorganic nitrogen yield and retention in high-elevation ecosystems of the Sierra Nevada and Rocky Mountains. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 341-374.
Journal Article Tartowski, S.; Howarth, Robert W. 2000. Nitrogen, nitrogen cycling. Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. Vol: 4. Academic Press. San Diego, CA. Pages 377-388.
Journal Article Townsend, Alan R.; Howarth, Robert W.; Bazzaz, Fakhri A.; Booth, Mary; Cleveland, Cory C.; Collinge, Sharon; Dobson, Andrew P.; Epstein, Paul R.; Holland, Elisabeth A.; Keeney, Dennis; Mallin, Michael; Rogers, Christine A.; Wayne, Peter; Wolfe, Amir H. 2003. Human health effects of a changing global nitrogen cycle. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 1(5). Pages 240-246.
Presentations van Breemen, Nico; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Jaworski, Norbert; Lajtha, Kate; Nadelhoffer, Knute; van Dam, Douwe. 1999. Estimated losses and storage of N inputs to 15 watersheds of the mid-Atlantic and New England states, USA. ESA Bulletin.
Journal Article van Breemen, Nico; Boyer, Elizabeth W.; Goodale, Christine L.; Jaworski, Norbert; Paustian, Keith; Seitzinger, Sybil; Lajtha, Kate; Mayer, Bernhard; van Dam, Douwe; Howarth, Robert W.; Nadelhoffer, Knute; Eve, M.; Billen, Gilles. 2002. Where did all the nitrogen go? Fate of nitrogen inputs to large watersheds in the northeastern USA. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 267-293.
Journal Article Vitousek, Peter; Cassman, Kenneth G.; Cleveland, Cory C.; Crews, Tim; Field, Christopher B.; Grimm, Nancy B.; Howarth, Robert W.; Marino, R.; Martinelli, Luiz; Rastetter, Edward; Sprent, Janet. 2002. Towards an ecological understanding of biological nitrogen fixation. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 1-45.
Journal Article Xing, Guangxi; Zhu, Zhao-Liang. 2002. Regional nitrogen budgets for China and its major watersheds. Biogeochemistry. Vol: 57&58. Pages 405-427.
"Nitrogen transport and transformations: A regional and global analysis" is project ID: 2064