Sampling curves in ecology: Theory and application

Principal Investigators:

Gareth J. Russell, and Michael L. McKinney

The working group is founded on the proposition that various empirical 'sampling curves' such as species-area, species-time, can be derived from a simple sampling curve by incorporating the patchy nature of communities in space and time. Its participants have made recent advances in theory which link together two or more types of sampling curve. The group has four phases. In the first and second phases, we will put the 'state of the art' into the context of a framework that identifies two types of distortion of a basic sampling curve: the island... more

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group1st—6th March 1998Participant List  
Working Group15th—22nd August 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John Alroyjalroy@science.mq.edu.auSmithsonian Institution
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Michael D. CollinsUniversity of Tennessee
Kevin J. Gastonk.j.gaston@sheffield.ac.ukUniversity of Sheffield
Ilkka Hanskiilkka.hanski@helsinki.fiUniversity of Helsinki
Wade LeitnerUniversity of Arizona
Brian A. Maurermaurerb@msu.eduBrigham Young University
Michael L. McKinneymmckinne@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Michael L. Rosenzweigscarab@u.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Gareth J. Russellrussell@njit.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel S. Simberloffdsimberloff@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Thomas Brookstbrooks@natureserve.orgUniversity of Arkansas
Julie L. Lockwoodlockwood@aesop.rutgers.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Sampling curves in ecology: Theory and application" is project ID: 2066