Analysis, synthesis, and integration of temperature manipulation research

Principal Investigators:

Lindsey Rustad, and Giles M. Marion

Greenhouse gas emissions are expected to increase mean global temperature by 2-4oC in the next 50-100 years. The
consequences of this warming for primary ecosystem processes are not yet understood, and have become the focus of an
emergent field of ecological research. This proposal seeks support to bring together a multi-disciplinary, international group
of scientists to synthesize data from existing temperature manipulation and natural gradient studies to develop a conceptual
and mechanistic framework in which to evaluate... more

Greenhouse gas emissions are expected to increase mean global temperature by 2-4oC in the next 50-100 years. The
consequences of this warming for primary ecosystem processes are not yet understood, and have become the focus of an
emergent field of ecological research. This proposal seeks support to bring together a multi-disciplinary, international group
of scientists to synthesize data from existing temperature manipulation and natural gradient studies to develop a conceptual
and mechanistic framework in which to evaluate the effects of elevated temperature, both alone and in combination with
other vectors of global change, on terrestrial ecosystems. In addition, we will use this forum to discuss and launch a new
GCTE Ecosystem Warming Network, which will have far reaching effects in supporting and promoting future information
exchange, technology transfer, and synthesis efforts in ecosystem warming research.
collapse

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting6th—8th January 1999Participant List  
Workshop1st—5th February 1999Participant List  
Workshop17th—19th May 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John Campbellgeorgeunm@gmail.comUSDA Forest Service
Sara DukeUniversity of Utah
Lindsey Rustadrustad@maine.maine.eduUSDA Forest Service
Martin AguiarUniversidad de Buenos Aires
Richard D. AlwardUniversity of Nebraska, Lincoln
Claus Beierclaus.beier@risoe.dkRisoe National Laboratory
Scott D. BridghamUniversity of Notre Dame
Josep G. Canadellpep.canadell@csiro.auStanford University
F. Stuart Chapinfschapiniii@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska
Hans CornelissenSheffield Center for Arctic Ecology
David Easterlingdeasterl@ncdc.noaa.govNOAA, National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
Wei Fangweifang@life.bio.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook
Ivan J. Fernandezivanjf@maine.eduUniversity of Maine
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Carla A. Gundersoncgu@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Jessica Gurevitchjgurvtch@life.bio.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY)
John Hartejharte@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Anne Hartleyhartley.74@osu.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Greg H.R. Henryghenry@geog.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Robert D. Hollisterhollistr@gvsu.eduMichigan State University
John HomUSDA Forest Service
Robert HortonIowa State University
Phil Inesonp.ineson@ite.ac.ukMerlewood Research Station
John Ingramjsii@ceh.ac.ukCentre for Ecology and Hydrology
Sven JonassonUniversity of Copenhagen
Christian KoernerUniversity of Basel
Sune LinderSLU Faculty of Forestry
Yiqi Luoyluo@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Giles M. Mariongmarion@CRREL41.CRREL.USACE.ARMY.MILUS Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
Jerry M. Melillojmelillo@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Myron J. MitchellState University of New York (SUNY), College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Knute Nadelhofferknute@umich.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Chris Neillcneill@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Richard J. Norbyrjn@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Louis F. Pitelkapitelka@al.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Kurt S. PregitzerMichigan Technological University
Gaius R. Shavergshaver@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
M. Rebecca Shawrshaw@edf.orgCarnegie Institution
Dave TingeyUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Paul Verburgpverburg@dri.eduDesert Research Institute
Diana H. Walldiana@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Elena Zverevaelezve@utu.fiUniversity of Turku

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Rustad, Lindsey; Campbell, John; Marion, Giles M.; Norby, Richard J.; Mitchell, Myron J.; Hartley, Anne; Cornelissen, Hans; Gurevitch, Jessica. 2001. A meta-analysis of the response of soil respiration, net nitrogen mineralization, and aboveground plant growth to experimental ecosystem warming. Oecologia. Vol: 126. Pages 543-562.
Journal Article Shaver, Gaius R.; Canadell, Josep G.; Chapin, F. Stuart; Gurevitch, Jessica; Harte, John; Henry, Greg H.R.; Ineson, Phil; Jonasson, Sven; Melillo, Jerry M.; Pitelka, Louis F.; Rustad, Lindsey. 2000. Global warming and terrestrial ecosystems: A conceptual framework for analysis. BioScience. Vol: 50. Pages 871-882.
"Analysis, synthesis, and integration of temperature manipulation research" is project ID: 2068