Ecological implications of alternative fishing strategies for apex predators

Principal Investigators:

Robert J. Olson, and James F. Kitchell

We ask support to a working group that will develop modeling tools intended to set alternative fishing practices in an ecosystem context for the yellowfin tuna fishery pursued in the eastern Pacific Ocean (EPO). We ask NCEAS to serve as the primary sponsor of this effort and offer joint sponsorship through the auspices of the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC) based in La Jolla, California. We propose to incorporate historical and recent data from the EPO with a new spatially-explicit version of the Ecosim model. The effort will involve... more

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—21st November 1998Participant List  
Working Group24th—26th June 1999Participant List  
Working Group30th November—2nd December 1999Participant List  
Working Group1st—3rd November 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Kerim Aydinkerim.aydin@noaa.govUniversity of Washington
Marco Garciamgarcia@iattc.ucsd.eduScripps Institution of Oceanography
James F. Kitchellkitchell@mhub.limnology.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Robert J. Olsonrolson@iattc.orgInterAmerican Tropical Tuna Commission
George Wattersgeorge.watters@noaa.govInterAmerican Tropical Tuna Commission
Lisa BallanceNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Christofer H. Boggscboggs@honlab.nmfs.hawaii.eduNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Timothy E. Essingtonessing@u.washington.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Robert C. Francisbfrancis@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Martin Hallmhall@iattc.ucsd.eduScripps Institution of Oceanography
Jeffrey Polovinajeffrey.polovina@noaa.govNOAA, Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Stephen Reillysreilly@ucsd.eduNOAA, Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Carl J. Waltersc.walters@fisheries.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Richard B. Derisorderiso@iattc.ucsd.eduScripps Institution of Oceanography
Elizabeth Edwardsliz@caliban.ucsd.eduNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Paul Fiedlerpfiedler@ucsd.eduNOAA, Southwest Fisheries Science Center

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Essington, Timothy E.; Kitchell, James F.; Schindler, Daniel E.; Olson, Robert J.; Boggs, Christofer H.; Hilborn, Ray. 2000. Ecological consequences of alternative fisheries: Examples from yellowfin tuna (Thunnus albacares) in the Pacific Ocean. 51st International Tuna Conference, May 22-25. Lake Arrowhead, CA.
Journal Article Essington, Timothy E.; Kitchell, James F.; Walters, Carl J. 2001. The von Bertalanffy growth function, bioenergetics, and the consumption rates of fish. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 58. Pages 2129-2138.
Journal Article Essington, Timothy E. 2004. Getting the right answer from the wrong model: Evaluating the sensitivity of multispecies fisheries advice to uncertain species interactions. Bulletin of Marine Science. Vol: 74. Pages 563-581.
Journal Article Essington, Timothy E.; Hansson, Sture. 2004. Predator-dependent functional responses and interaction strengths in a natural food web. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 61. Pages 2227-2236.
Presentations Olson, Robert J.; Watters, George. 1999. An ecosystem model for the tropical eastern Pacific Ocean: Review of progress. 50th Annual Tuna Conference, May 24-27. Lake Arrowhead, CA.
Report or White Paper Olson, Robert J. 1999. Report of the Bycatch Working Group. Part 2, Working group on ecological studies and modeling. Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission. La Jolla, CA.
Report or White Paper Olson, Robert J. 1999. Working Group: Ecological Implications of Alternative Fishing Strategies for Apex Predators. (Online version)
Presentations Olson, Robert J.; Watters, George; Aydin, Kerim; Kitchell, James F.; Boggs, Christofer H.; Essington, Timothy E.; Fiedler, Paul; Francis, Robert C.; Polovina, Jeffrey; Walters, Carl J. 2001. Interactive effects of climate and fishing on the eastern tropical Pacific pelagic ecosystem. 52nd International Tuna Conference, May 21-24. Lake Arrowhead, CA.
Presentations Olson, Robert J.; Watters, George. 2002. The pelagic ecosystem in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean: A modeling approach. 53rd International Tuna Conference, May 20-23. Lake Arrowhead, CA.
Journal Article Olson, Robert J.; Watters, George. 2003. A model of the pelagic ecosystem in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean. Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission Bulletin. Vol: 22(3). Pages 133-219.
Presentations Watters, George; Olson, Robert J.; Hinke, Jefferson; Kaplan, Isaac C. 2002. Tradeoffs and tuna fisheries in the eastern tropical Pacific. Confronting Tradeoffs in the Ecosystem Approach to Fisheries Management, 5-7 November 2002. William R. and Lenore Mote International Symposium. Sarasota, FL.
Journal Article Watters, George; Olson, Robert J.; Francis, Robert C.; Fiedler, Paul; Polovina, Jeffrey; Reilly, Stephen; Aydin, Kerim; Boggs, Christofer H.; Essington, Timothy E.; Walters, Carl J.; Kitchell, James F. 2003. Physical forcing and the dynamics of the pelagic ecosystem in the eastern tropical Pacific: Simulations with ENSO-scale and global-warming climate drivers. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 60(9). Pages 1161-1175.
"Ecological implications of alternative fishing strategies for apex predators" is project ID: 2071