A sampling-standardized analysis of phanerozoic marine diversification and extinction

Principal Investigators:

John Alroy, and Charles R. Marshall

Our picture of global diversification and extinction on long time scales is mostly based on generalized data for Phanerozoic marine macroinvertebrates. While every effort was made to guarantee the comprehensiveness of this data set, the community has been aware that sampling artifacts may contribute to the observed trends. Until now, we have been unable to remove these effects. Several robust methods for doing this are now available, but these methods use locality-specific data that are not a part of the existing, more generalized compilations.... more

Participants and Meetings

See the Paleobiology Database for current information

See the Paleobiology Database for current information

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—18th August 1998Participant List  
Graduate Student5th October 1998—30th September 2000Participant List  
Working Group26th—28th March 1999Participant List  
Graduate Student15th May—15th August 1999Participant List  
Graduate Student15th June—15th August 1999Participant List  
Working Group14th—22nd August 1999Participant List  
Working Group18th—26th March 2000Participant List  
Working Group13th—20th August 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John Alroyjalroy@science.mq.edu.auSmithsonian Institution
Richard K. Bambachrbambach@oeb.harvard.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Michael Footemfoote@midway.uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Steven M. Hollandstratum@gly.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
David Jablonskidjablons@midway.uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Scott Lidgardslidgard@fieldmuseum.orgField Museum
Charles R. Marshallcrmarshall@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Michael L. McKinneymmckinne@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Arnold I. Millerarnold.miller@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
Mark E. Patzkowskybrachio@geosc.psu.eduPennsylvania State University
David Raupdraup@mail.wiscnet.netUnknown
Kaustuv Roykroy@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
J. John Sepkoskijjsepkos@midway.uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Peter J. Wagnerwagnerpj@si.eduField Museum
Michael SommersUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Franz T. Fursichfranz.fuersich@mail.uni-wuerzburg.deInstitut fur Palaeontologie
Thor A. HansenWestern Washington University
David Jacobsdjacobs@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Matthew A. Kosnikmatthew.kosnik@jcu.edu.auUniversity of Chicago
Sofy Lowsofyalow@fas.harvard.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Karen Bezuskobezuskk@email.uc.eduPennsylvania State University
Andrew J. Webberwebberaw@email.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
Linda C. Ivanylcivany@syr.eduUniversity of Michigan
Tom Olszewskitomo@geo.tamu.eduPennsylvania State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Alroy, John; Koch, P. L.; Zachos, J.C. 2000. Global climate change and North American mammalian evolution. Paleobiology. Pages 259-288.
Journal Article Alroy, John; Marshall, Charles R.; Bambach, Richard K.; Bezusko, Karen; Foote, Michael; Fursich, Franz T.; Hansen, Thor A.; Holland, Steven M.; Ivany, Linda C.; Jablonski, David; Jacobs, David; Jones, D. C.; Kosnik, Matthew A.; Lidgard, Scott; Low, Sofy; Miller, Arnold I.; Novack-Gottshall, P.M.; Olszewski, Tom; Patzkowsky, Mark E.; Raup, David; Roy, Kaustuv; Sepkoski, J. John; Sommers, Michael; Wagner, Peter J.; Webber, Andrew J. 2001. Effects of sampling standardization on estimates of Phanerozoic marine diversification. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 98. Pages 6261-6266. (Abstract)
"A sampling-standardized analysis of phanerozoic marine diversification and extinction" is project ID: 2088