Interdisciplinary synthesis of recent natural and managed floods

Principal Investigators:

William K. Michener, and Richard Haeuber

Science, policy, and resource management knowledge gaps as they relate to flooding will be addressed by three NCEAS working groups. Specific objectives are to:

  • synthesize existing knowledge, incorporating inter-site comparative analyses where appropriate;
  • relate results from studies of natural flood disturbances to those of managed floods to devise scientifically sound management prescriptions;
  • examine how floods have served as the impetus for policy change and evaluate the effectiveness of those... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group14th—16th September 1998Participant List  
Working Group1st—7th May 1999Participant List  
Working Group13th—19th November 1999Participant List  
Working Group7th—12th May 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Nicholas G. Aumennick_aumen@nps.govSouth Florida Water Management
Betsy CodyCongressional Research Office
Nancy B. Grimmnbgrimm@asu.eduArizona State University
Richard HaeuberEcological Society of America
William K. Michenerwilliam.michener@gmail.comJoseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
John C. State University
Margaret A. Shannonmshannon@buffalo.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Buffalo
Fred Swansonfswanson@lternet.eduUSDA Forest Service
Thomas BirklandState University of New York (SUNY), Albany
Alice CelayUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hanna J. Cortnerhcortner@ag.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Thomas Dunnetdunne@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Greg EdgarUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mary Freemanmary@ttrout.ecology.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
David L. Galatgalatd@missouri.eduUniversity of Missouri
Gordon Grantgordon.grant@orst.eduUSDA Forest Service
Paula Johnsonaluap@arches.uga.eduUnknown
Sherri L. Johnsonsherri.johnson@ucr.eduOregon State University
Jeff Masonleal@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
N. LeRoy Poffpoff@lamar.colostate.eduColorado State University
Richard E. Sparksrsparks@uiuc.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Emily H. Stanleyehstanley@facstaff.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Lou Tothltoth@sfwmd.govSouth Florida Water Management
Ray Burbyburby@email.unc.eduUniversity of New Orleans
David Conradconrad@nwf.orgNational Wildlife Federation
Len Army Corps of Engineers
Berton Lee Lamblaml@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Martin Army Corps of Engineers
Susan Selbysusan.selby@lvvwd.comSouthern Nevada Water Authority
Richard F. Wellsrwells@pn.usbr.govUS Bureau of Reclamation
Robb Jacobsonrobb_jacobson@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Peter J. Maypmay@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Chapter Benda, Lee; Miller, D. J.; Dunne, Thomas; Reeves, Gordon H.; Agee, J. K. 1998. Dynamic landscape systems. Edited by Naiman, R.; Bilby, R.; Kantor, S.. River Ecology and Management: Lessons from the Pacific Coastal Ecoregion. Springer-Verlag. New York. Pages 261-288.
Journal Article Birkland, Thomas; Burby, Ray; Conrad, David; Cortner, Hanna J.; Michener, William K. 2003. River ecology and flood hazard mitigation. Natural Hazards Review. Vol: 4(1). Pages 46-54.
Journal Article Dunne, Thomas. 1998. Critical data requirements for prediction of erosion and sedimentation in mountain drainage basins. Journal of the American Water Resources Association. Vol: 34(4). Pages 795-808.
Journal Article Dunne, Thomas; Mertes, Leal; Meade, R. H.; Richey, J. E.; Forsberg, Bruce R. 1998. Exchanges of sediment between flood plain and the channel of the Amazon River in Brazil. Geological Society of America Bulletin. Vol: 110. Pages 450-467.
Book Chapter Dunne, Thomas. 1998. Hydrologic landscapes...on a the future. National Academy Press. Washington, DC. Pages 10-43.
Presentations Dunne, Thomas. 1999. Amazon River basin hydrology from whole-basin to hillslope scales. Regional Conference. International Association of Geomorphology. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Presentations Dunne, Thomas. 1999. Channel-floodplain sedimentation. Pacific Division of Americon Association for the Advancement of Science. San Francisco, California.
Journal Article Haeuber, Richard; Michener, William K. 1998. Natural flood control. Issues in Science and Technology. Vol: 15. Pages 74.
Journal Article Johnson, Sherri L.; Swanson, Fred; Grant, Gordon; Wondzell, Steve. 2000. Riparian forest disturbances by a mountain flood - the influence of floated wood. Hydrological Processes. Vol: 14. Pages 3031.
Journal Article Michener, William K. 1997. Quantitatively evaluating restoration experiments: Research design, statistical analysis, and data management considerations. Restoration Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 324-337.
Book Michener, William K.; Brunt, James W. 2000. Ecological Data: Design, Management and Processing (Ecology Series). Blackwell. Oxford.
"Interdisciplinary synthesis of recent natural and managed floods" is project ID: 2091