Designing and assessing the viability of nature reserve systems at regional scales: Integration of optimization, heuristic and dynamic models - Year 2

Principal Investigators:

Sandy J. Andelman

With this proposal we seek a second year of support (beginning in July, 1998) to continue and expand the activities of our NCEAS working group (for a description of the project and summary of results see http://www.nceas.ucsb.edu/projects/2002). Our research aims to enhance the theoretical framework for biodiversity conservation planning, and to develop a novel computer-based approach to the design of nature reserve networks that integrates traditional optimization and heuristic... more

collapse

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group6th—7th October 1998Participant List  
Working Group8th—9th October 1998Participant List  
Working Group12th—18th October 1998Participant List  
Working Group13th—20th December 1998Participant List  
Working Group29th—30th April 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
William F. Faganbfagan@glue.umd.eduArizona State University
Peter Kareivapkareiva@tnc.orgUniversity of Washington
Eli Meiremeir@simbio.comUniversity of Washington
Hugh P. Possinghamh.possingham@uq.edu.auUniversity of Adelaide, Roseworthy
Jordi Bascomptebascompte@ebd.csic.esUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Burgmanmarkab@unimelb.edu.auUniversity of Melbourne
Richard L. Churchchurch@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Marc Hoshovskymhoshovs@dfg.ca.govCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
Parviez R. Hosseinihosseini@princeton.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mary Ruckelshausmary.ruckelshaus@stanford.eduNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Ian BallUniversity of Adelaide
Mark BryerThe Nature Conservancy
Bart ButterfieldIdaho Department of Fish and Game
Jon HakThe Nature Conservancy
Jimmy Kaganjimmy.kagan@pdx.eduOregon Natural Heritage Program
Trish KlahrThe Nature Conservancy
Bob MoseleyIdaho Department of Fish and Game
David M. Stomsstoms@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Andelman, Sandy J.; Fagan, William F. 2000. Umbrellas and flagships: Efficient conservation surrogates or expensive mistakes?. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 97. Pages 5954-5959.
Journal Article Davis, Frank W.; Stoms, David M.; Andelman, Sandy J. 1999. Systematic reserve selection in the USA: An example from the Columbia Plateau Ecoregion. Parks. Vol: 19. Pages 31-41.
Presentations Fagan, William F. 1998. Variation thresholds for extinction and their implications for conservation strategies. Ecological Society of America. Baltimore, MD.
Presentations Fagan, William F. 1999. Umbrella species: Efficient conservation surrogates, or leaky, expensive mistakes?. Society for Conservation Biology. College Park, MD.
Journal Article Fagan, William F.; Meir, Eli; Moore, Joslin L. 1999. Variation thresholds for extinction and their implications for conservation strategies. American Naturalist. Vol: 154(5). Pages 510-520.
Presentations Fagan, William F. 1999. Will observation error and biases ruin the use of simple extinction models?. Ecological Society of America. Spokane, WA.
Presentations Meir, Eli. 1999. The quantity and quality of data needed for effective design of systems of reserves. Ecological Society of America Annual Meeting. Spokane, WA.
Journal Article Meir, Eli; Fagan, William F. 2000. Will observation error and biases ruin the use of simple extinction models?. Conservation Biology. Vol: 14. Pages 148-154.
Journal Article Meir, Eli; Andelman, Sandy J.; Possingham, Hugh P. 2004. Does conservation planning matter in a dynamic and uncertain world?. Ecology Letters. Vol: 7(8). Pages 615-622. (Online version)
Book Chapter Possingham, Hugh P.; Ball, Ian; Andelman, Sandy J. 2000. Mathematical methods for identifying representative reserve networks. Edited by Ferson, Scott and Burgman, Mark. Quantitative methods for conservation biology. Springer-Verlag. New York. Pages 291-306.
Journal Article Pyke, Chris; Andelman, Sandy J.; Midgley, Guy F. 2005. Identifying priority areas for bioclimatic representation under climate change: A case study for Proteaceae in the Cape Floristic Region, South Africa. Biological Conservation. Vol: 125(1). Pages 1-9.
"Designing and assessing the viability of nature reserve systems at regional scales: Integration of optimization, heuristic and dynamic models - Year 2" is project ID: 2135