Modelling growth and form of sessile marine organisms

Principal Investigators:

Jaap A. Kaandorp, and Janet E. Kubler

Support is requested for a workshop on Modelling Growth and Form of Marine Sessile Organisms, such as stromatolites, algae, and metazoans including stony corals, hydrocorals, octocorals, sponges, etc. Simulation models of growth and form represent an important option, along with experimental observations, for studying morpholocial plasticity and the impact of the physical environment on growth and form of clonal organisms. A better understanding of this morpholocial plasticity is crucial for biodiversity and bio-monitoring studies. We believe that... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop23rd—27th August 1999Participant List  
Working Group13th—20th April 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Edward Abrahame.abraham@niwa.cri.nzNational Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
Dave J. Barnesd.barnes@aims.gov.auAustralian Institute of Marine Science
Robert Carpenterrobert.carpenter@csun.eduCalifornia State University
Peter Doddsdodds@math.mit.eduMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Steven Dudgeonsteve.dudgeon@csun.eduCalifornia State University, Northridge
David Garbarydgarbary@stfx.caSt. Francis Xavier University
Susanne Gattisgatti@awi-bremerhaven.deAlfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research
Brian Helmuthhelmuth@biol.sc.eduUniversity of South Carolina, Aiken
Jaap A. KaandorpUniversity of Amsterdam
Mimi R. Koehlcnidaria@socrates.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Janet E. Kublerjanet.kubler@csun.eduCalifornia State University, Northridge
Howard R. Laskerhlasker@acsu.buffalo.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Buffalo
Roeland Merksroel@wins.uva.nlUniversity of Amsterdam
W. E. G. Muellerwmueller@mail.uni-mainz.deUniversitaet am Mainz
Soyoka Mukomuko@bio-math10.biology.kyushu-u.ac.jpKyushu University
Buki Rinkevichbuki@ocean.org.ilIsrael Oceanographic and Limnological Research
Juan Armando Sanchezjs15@acsu.buffalo.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Buffalo
Peter M. A. Slootsloot@wins.uva.nlUniversity of Amsterdam
Mark Vermeijmarkv08@ibm.netCarmabi Marine Biological Station

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Kaandorp, Jaap A.; Kubler, Janet E. 2001. The Algorithmic Beauty of Seaweeds, Sponges, and Corals. Springer-Verlag. New York.
Journal Article Sanchez, Juan Armando; Lasker, Howard R.; Nepomuceno, Erivelton G.; Woldenberg, Michael J. 2004. Branching and self-organization in marine modular colonial organisms: A model. American Naturalist. Vol: 163. Pages E24-E39.
"Modelling growth and form of sessile marine organisms" is project ID: 2143