Phylogeny and conservation: Problems in the quantification of biodiversity

Principal Investigators:

John L. Gittleman, and Michael L. McKinney

We propose a working group to assess the usefulness of algorithms and quantitative approaches to measuring biodiversity in terms of 'taxonomic distinctiveness' or 'independent evolutionary units'. We will critically evaluate whether and how phylogenetic information can be used to measure species value. Specifically, we will analyze the effects of sample size, topology, branch lengths and model of evolutionary change on various quantitative measures of phylogenetic diversity. Measures of phylogenetic diversity will then be applied to various... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group15th—22nd August 1999Participant List  
Working Group21st—24th August 2000Participant List  
Working Group22nd—24th February 2001Participant List  
Working Group22nd—26th July 2001Participant List  
Working Group7th—11th February 2002Participant List  
Working Group26th—29th September 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Olaf R. P. Bininda-Emondsolaf.bininda@tierzucht.tum.deUniversity of California, Davis
Thomas Brookstbrooks@natureserve.orgUniversity of Arkansas
Keith A. Crandallkeith_crandall@byu.eduBrigham Young University
Curtis C. Daehlerdaehler@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Dan Faithdanf@amsg.austmus.gov.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
John L. Gittlemanecohead@uga.eduUniversity of Virginia
Julie L. Lockwoodlockwood@aesop.rutgers.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Mark V. Lomolinoisland@esf.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Georgina Maceg.mace@ucl.ac.ukInstitute of Zoology, Zoological Society of London
Lisa L. Mannemanne@utsc.utoronto.caUniversity of Tennessee
Michael L. McKinneymmckinne@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Andy Purvisa.purvis@ic.ac.ukImperial College, London, Silwood Park Campus
Gareth J. Russellrussell@njit.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Mark W. Schwartzmwschwartz@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Wes Sechrestsechrest@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Diego P. Vazquezdvazquez@lab.cricyt.edu.arUniversity of Tennessee
Fredrik von EulerUniversity of British Columbia
Robert K. Waynerwayne@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Paul Williamsh.p.williams@lse.ac.ukNatural History Museum, London
Paul-Michael AgapowImperial College, London, Silwood Park Campus
Arne Mooersamooers@sfu.caUniversity of Amsterdam
Craig Moritzcraig.moritz@anu.edu.auUniversity of California, Berkeley
Robin Waplesrobin.waples@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Tim M. Blackburntim.blackburn@ioz.ac.ukUniversity of Birmingham
Phillip Casseyphill.cassey@adelaide.edu.au
Jeffrey R. DuncanNational Park Service
Kate E. Joneskate.jones@ioz.ac.ukUniversity of Virginia
Michael P. MarchettiCalifornia State University, Chico
Sarah Reichardreichard@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Jon BielbyJon.Bielby@ioz.ac.ukZoological Society of London
Marcel Cardillom.cardillo@ic.ac.ukImperial College, London, Silwood Park Campus
Richard Grenyerr.grenyer@ic.ac.ukImperial College, London, Silwood Park Campus
Mike Habibmbh3q@cms.mail.virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Sam Pricesp9b@cms.mail.virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Agapow, Paul-Michael; Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Crandall, Keith A.; Gittleman, John L.; Mace, Georgina; Marshall, Jonathon G.; Purvis, Andy. 2004. The impact of species concept on biodiversity studies. Quarterly Review of Biology. Vol: 79(2). Pages 161-179.
Journal Article Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Vazquez, Diego P.; Manne, Lisa L. 2000. The calculus of biodiversity: Integrating phylogeny and conservation. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 15. Pages 92-94.
Journal Article Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Gittleman, John L.; Steel, M. A. 2002. The (super)tree of life: Procedures, problems, and prospects. Annual Review of Ecology Evolution and Systematics. Vol: 33. Pages 265-289. (Abstract)
Journal Article Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Jones, Kate E.; Price, Sam; Grenyer, Richard; Cardillo, Marcel; Habib, Mike; Purvis, Andy; Gittleman, John L. 2003. Supertrees are a necessary not-so-evil: A comment on Gatesy et al.. Systematic Biology. Vol: 52. Pages 724-729.
Journal Article Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Cardillo, Marcel; Jones, Kate E.; MacPhee, Ross; Beck, Robin; Grenyer, Richard; Price, Sam; Vos, Rutger; Gittleman, John L.; Purvis, Andy. 2007. The delayed rise of present-day mammals. Nature. Vol: 446. Pages 507-513.
Journal Article Blackburn, Tim M.; Jones, Kate E.; Cassey, Phillip; Losin, Neil. 2004. The influence of spatial resolution on macroecological patterns of range size variation: a case study using parrots (Aves : Psittaciformes) of the world. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 31. Pages 285-293.
Journal Article Cassey, Phillip; Blackburn, Tim M.; Russell, Gareth J.; Jones, Kate E.; Lockwood, Julie L. 2004. Influences on the transport and establishment of exotic bird species: an analysis of the parrots (Psittaciformes) of the world. Global Change Biology. Vol: 10. Pages 417-426.
Journal Article Cassey, Phillip; Blackburn, Tim M.; Jones, Kate E.; Lockwood, Julie L. 2004. Mistakes in the analysis of exotic species establishment: Source pool designation and correlates of introduction success among parrots (Aves: Psittaciformes) of the world. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 31(2). Pages 277-284.
Journal Article Crandall, Keith A.; Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Mace, Georgina; Wayne, Robert K. 2000. Considering evolutionary processes in conservation biology. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 15. Pages 290-295.
Data Set Crandall, Keith A. 2006. Evolutionary significant units (ESU) table. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Faith, Dan. 2002. Quantifying biodiversity: A phylogenetic perspective. Conservation Biology. Vol: 16. Pages 248-252.
Journal Article Jones, Kate E.; Bininda-Emonds, Olaf R. P.; Gittleman, John L. 2005. Bats, clocks, and rocks: Diversification patterns in chiroptera. Evolution. Vol: 59(10). Pages 2243-2255.
Journal Article Lockwood, Julie L.; Russell, Gareth J.; Gittleman, John L.; Daehler, Curtis C.; McKinney, Michael L.; Purvis, Andy. 2002. A metric for analyzing taxonomic patterns of extinction risk. Conservation Biology. Vol: 16. Pages 1137-1142.
Journal Article Mace, Georgina; Gittleman, John L.; Purvis, Andy. 2003. Preserving the tree of life. Science. Vol: 300. Pages 1707-1709.
Journal Article Purvis, Andy; Agapow, Paul-Michael; Gittleman, John L.; Mace, Georgina. 2000. Nonrandom extinction and the loss of evolutionary history. Science. Vol: 288. Pages 328-330.
Book Chapter Purvis, Andy; Mace, Georgina; Gittleman, John L. 2001. Past and future carnivore extinctions: A phylogenetic perspective. Edited by Gittleman, J. L.; Funk, S.; MacDonald, D. W.; Wayne, R. K.. Carnivore Conservation. Cambridge University Press. Cambridge. Pages 11-34.
Book Purvis, Andy; Gittleman, John L.; Brooks, Thomas. 2005. Phylogeny and Conservation. Cambridge University Press. Cambridge. Pages 446.
Journal Article Sechrest, Wes; Brooks, Thomas; da Fonseca, Gustavo A. B.; Konstant, William R.; Mittermeier, Russell A.; Purvis, Andy; Rylands, Anthony B.; Gittleman, John L. 2002. Hotspots and the conservation of evolutionary history. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 99. Pages 2067-2071.
Journal Article von Euler, Fredrik. 2001. Selective extinction and rapid loss of evolutionary history in the bird fauna. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 268. Pages 127-130.
Journal Article Williams, Paul; Faith, Dan; Manne, Lisa L.; Sechrest, Wes; Preston, Chris. 2006. Complementarity analysis: Mapping the performance of surrogates for biodiversity. Biological Conservation. Vol: 128. Pages 253-264.
"Phylogeny and conservation: Problems in the quantification of biodiversity" is project ID: 2150