Understanding the role of individual-scale processes in community-level dynamics: What are the dynamically relevant organizational scales for predicting community dynamics?

Principal Investigators:

Oswald J. Schmitz

Community ecologists continually strive to build models that realistically describe the dynamics of the systems they study. An important challenge is discovering which biological details are needed for accurate predictions. There is increasing evidence that processes operating at the level of individuals in communities can have an important bearing on the overall dynamics of the community as a whole. A Working Group will be convened to synthesize existing empirical information on the role of individual behavior and life-histories in shaping... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group17th—18th February 1999Participant List  
Working Group3rd—5th June 1999Participant List  
Working Group28th—29th April 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Benjamin Bolkerbolker@mcmaster.caPrinceton University
Marcel Holyoakmaholyoak@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Vlastimil Krivankrivan@entu.cas.czAcademy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Biological Research Center
Barney Luttbegluttbeg@okstate.eduYale University
Marc Mangelmsmangel@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Locke Rowelrowe@zoo.utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Oswald J. Schmitzoswald.schmitz@yale.eduYale University
Earl E. Wernereewerner@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Bolker, Benjamin; Holyoak, Marcel; Krivan, Vlastimil; Rowe, Locke; Schmitz, Oswald J. 2003. Connecting theoretical and empirical studies of trait-mediated interactions. Ecology. Vol: 84(5). Pages 1101-1114.
Journal Article Callaway, Ragan; Pennings, Steven C.; Richards, C. L. 2003. Phenotypic plasticity and interactions among plants. Ecology. Vol: 84. Pages 1115-1128.
Journal Article Krivan, Vlastimil. 2000. Optimal intraguild foraging and population stability. Theoretical Population Biology. Vol: 58. Pages 79-94.
Journal Article Luttbeg, Barney; Rowe, Locke; Mangel, Marc. 2003. Prey state and experimental design affect relative size of trait- and density-mediated indirect effects. Ecology. Vol: 84(5). Pages 1140-1150.
Journal Article Werner, Earl E.; Peacor, Scott D. 2003. A review of trait-mediated indirect interactions in ecological communities. Ecology. Vol: 84(5). Pages 1083-1100.
"Understanding the role of individual-scale processes in community-level dynamics: What are the dynamically relevant organizational scales for predicting community dynamics?" is project ID: 2152