Proposal for Workshop and Web-Based Working Group on The Theoretical Foundations of Biodiversity/Ecosystem Function Relationships

Principal Investigators:

Ann P. Kinzig, and Stephen W. Pacala

The Theoretical Foundations of Biodiversity/Ecosystem Function Relationships
We seek to develop a theoretical framework for elucidating relationships between biodiversity and ecosystem function, and for understanding and interpreting the results of several large-scale diversity-function experiments that have either already been completed or are currently underway. We propose to develop this framework by analyzing a series of models; these models will consist of a common ecosystem component coupled to one of several possible different... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group7th—10th November 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Juan ArmestoUniversidad de Chile
Teri Balserterib@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Benjamin Bolkerbolker@mcmaster.caPrinceton University
Peter L. Chessonplchesson@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Rodolfo Dirzourania@miranda.ecologia.unam.mxCentro de Ecología UNAM
Mary Firestonemkfstone@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Andrew Hectorandrew.hector@uzh.chImperial College, London, Silwood Park Campus
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Kansas
Jasmin Joshijjoshi@uni-potsdam.deUniversity of Zurich
Ann P. Kinzigkinzig@asu.eduPrinceton University
Sharon Lawlersplawler@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Clarence L. Lehmanlehman@lter.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Simon A. Levinsimon@eno.princeton.eduPrinceton University
Michel Loreauloreau@ens.frEcole Normale Superieure
Harold A. MooneyStanford University
Shahid Naeemsn2121@columbia.eduUniversity of Washington
Stephen W. Pacalapacala@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Joan Roughgardenjoan.roughgarden@hawaii.eduStanford University
Osvaldo E. Salaosvaldo_sala@brown.eduUniversidad de Buenos Aires
Bernhard Schmidbschmid@uwinst.unizh.chUniversity of Zurich
David Tilmantilman@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Chapter Balser, Teri; Kinzig, Ann P.; Firestone, Mary. 2002. Linking soil microbial communities and ecosystem functioning. Edited by Kinzig, A.; Pacala, S.; Tilman, D.. Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 265-293.
Book Chapter Kinzig, Ann P.; Pacala, Stephen W.; Tilman, David. 2002. Looking back and peering forward. Edited by Kinzig, A.; Pacala, S.; Tilman, D. Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 314-329.
Book Chapter Kinzig, Ann P. 2002. Opening remarks. Edited by Kinzig A.; Pacala S.; Tilman D.. Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 1-6.
Book Chapter Kinzig, Ann P.; Pacala, Stephen W. 2002. Successional biodiversity and ecosystem functioning. Edited by Kinzig, A.; Pacala, S.; Tilman, D.. Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 175-212.
Book Kinzig, Ann P.; Pacala, Stephen W.; Tilman, David. 2002. The Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 365.
Book Chapter Pacala, Stephen W.; Kinzig, Ann P. 2002. Introduction to theory and the common ecosystem model. Edited by Kinzig, A.; Pacala, S.; Tilman, D.. Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 169-174.
Book Chapter Pacala, Stephen W.; Tilman, David. 2002. The transition from sampling to complementarity. Edited by Kinzig, A. P.; Pacala, S. W.; Tilman, D.. The Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 151-166.
Book Chapter Tilman, David; Lehman, Clarence L. 2002. Biodiversity, composition, and ecosystem processes: Theory and concepts. Edited by Kinzig, A. P.; Pacala, S. W.; Tilman, D.. The Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 9-41.
Book Chapter Tilman, David; Knops, Johan; Wedin, D.; Reich, Peter B. 2002. Experimental and observational studies of diversity, productivity and stability. Edited by Kinzig, A. P.; Pacala, S. W.; Tilman, D.. The Functional Consequences of Biodiversity: Empirical Progress and Theoretical Extensions. Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 42-70.
"Proposal for Workshop and Web-Based Working Group on The Theoretical Foundations of Biodiversity/Ecosystem Function Relationships" is project ID: 2169