The Evidence Project: Supporting scientific claims

Principal Investigators:

Mark L. Taper, Subhash R. Lele, and Nicholas J. I. Lewin-Koh

Scientists strive to understand the operation of natural processes. To this end, they collect data both experimental and observational. The objective and quantitative interpretation of data as evidence for one hypothesis over another hypothesis is an integral part of the scientific process. None of the existing schools of statistical inference fully addresses the needs of working scientists. Scientists are forced to twist their thinking to pigeon hole their analyses into existing paradigms. We believe that a revision of statistical theory is in... more

collapse

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th February—3rd March 1999Participant List  
Postdoctoral Fellow1st July 1999—30th June 2002Participant List  
Postdoctoral Fellow1st July 1999—30th June 2002Participant List  
Working Group22nd—29th May 2001Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Jeffrey D. Blumejblume@stat.brown.eduJohns Hopkins University
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Ted Casecase@biomail.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
George Casellacem1@cornell.eduCornell University
Brian Dennisbrian@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho
S. K. Morgan Ernestmorgane@biology.usu.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Daniel Finkdf36@cornell.eduCornell University
Thomas M. FrostNational Science Foundation
V. P. Godambevpgodamb@math.uwaterloo.caUniversity of Waterloo
Daniel Goodmangoodman@rapid.msu.montana.eduMontana State University
Suzanne Henson Alonzoshalonzo@cats.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
David Hinkleyhinkley@pstat.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Krusemkruse@vt.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Subhash R. Leleslele@ualberta.caJohns Hopkins University
Nicholas J. I. Lewin-Kohnikko@hailmail.netIowa State University
Bruce G. Lindsaybgl@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
Barney Luttbegluttbeg@okstate.eduYale University
Marc Mangelmsmangel@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Brian A. Maurermaurerb@msu.eduBrigham Young University
Charles E. McCullochcem1@cornell.eduCornell University
Jean Millerjemille6@vt.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Manuel Mollesmolles@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Calyampudi R. Raocrr1@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
Richard Royallrroyall@jhsph.eduJohns Hopkins University
Mark L. Tapertaper@rivers.oscs.montana.eduMontana State University
Mary C. Townermary.towner@okstate.eduUniversity of California, Davis

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Luttbeg, Barney; Towner, Mary C.; Wandesforde-Smith, Alix; Mangel, Marc; Foster, Susan A. 2001. State-dependent mate-assessment and mate-selection behavior in female threespine sticklebacks (Gasterosteus aculeatus, Gasterosteiformes : Gasterosteidae) . Ethology. Vol: 107. Pages 545-558.
Presentations Luttbeg, Barney. 2001. The relative likelihood of alternative decision-making rules. Animal Behavior Society Meeting. Corvalis, OR.
Journal Article Luttbeg, Barney. 2002. Assessing the robustness and optimality of alternative decision rules with varying assumptions. Animal Behaviour. Vol: 63. Pages 805-814.
Presentations Luttbeg, Barney. 2002. The relative performances of alternative decision rules depend on assumptions about time, options, and imperfect information. International Behavioral Ecology Congress. Montreal, Canada.
Journal Article Luttbeg, Barney; Langen, Tom A. 2004. Comparing alternative models to empirical data: Cognitive models of western scrub-jay foraging behavior. American Naturalist. Vol: 163(2). Pages 263-276. (Abstract)
Journal Article Luttbeg, Barney. 2004. Female mate assessment and choice behavior affect the frequency of alternative male mating tactics. Behavioral Ecology. Vol: 15(2). Pages 239-247. (Abstract)
Book Taper, Mark L.; Lele, Subhash R. 2004. The Nature of Scientific Evidence: Statistical Philosophical, and Empirical Considerations. University of Chicago Press. Chicago, IL.
Journal Article Towner, Mary C. 1999. A dynamic model of human dispersal in a land-based economy. Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology. Vol: 46. Pages 82-94.
Journal Article Towner, Mary C. 2001. Linking dispersal and resources in humans. Life history data from Oakham, Massachusetts (1750-1850). Human Nature-An Interdisciplinary Biosocial Perspective. Vol: 12(4). Pages 321-349.
Journal Article Towner, Mary C. 2002. Linking dispersal and marriage in humans - Life history data from Oakham, Massachusetts, USA (1750-1850). Evolution and Human Behavior. Vol: 23. Pages 337-357.
"The Evidence Project: Supporting scientific claims" is project ID: 2172