Infectious diseases and conservation biology

Principal Investigators:

Andrew P. Dobson, and Robert D. Holt

SUMMARY: Infectious diseases present a special challenge to conservation biologists: they form a largely unexplored component of biodiversity that from one perspective helps promote coexistence and diversity; at the other extreme, there are several examples of pathogens contributing to the extinction of threatened and endangered species. This working group will examine three topics that are central to our understanding of the role pathogens play in conservation biology. Central to the theme of the workshop is the development of a quantitative... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group1st—5th November 1999Participant List  
Working Group26th—30th July 2000Participant List  
Working Group27th February—6th March 2001Participant List  
Working Group8th—12th October 2001Participant List  
Working Group1st—5th April 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sonia Altizersaltizer@uga.eduPrinceton University
Priyanga Amarasekareamarasek@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ottar N. Bjornstadonb1@psu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Leah R. Gerberleah.gerber@asu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joshua Ginsbergjrg@pipeline.comUnknown
Bryan T. Grenfellgrenfell@princeton.eduUniversity of Cambridge
Drew Harvellcdh5@cornell.eduCornell University
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Kansas
Peter J. Hudsonpjh18@psu.eduUniversity of Stirling
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Charles E. Mitchellmitchell@bio.unc.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Richard S. Ostfeldrostfeld@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Craig Packerpacker@biosci.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Alison G. Poweragp4@cornell.eduCornell University
Leslie A. Reallreal@biology.emory.eduEmory University
Eric M. Schauberschaubere@ecostudies.orgUniversity of Connecticut
Frances Gullandgullandf@tmmc.orgMarine Mammal Center
Kiho Kimkiho@american.eduCornell University
Armand Kuriskuris@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael D. Samuelmichael_samuel@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Mark E. Torchintorchinm@si.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hamish McCallumh.mccallum@griffith.edu.auUniversity of Queensland

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Aguirre, A. A.; Ostfeld, Richard S.; House, C. A.; Tabor, Gary; Pearl, M. 2002. Conservation Medicine: Ecological Health in Practice. Oxford University Press. New York.
Journal Article Altizer, Sonia; Harvell, Drew; Friedle, Elizabeth. 2003. Rapid evolutionary dynamics and disease threats to biodiversity. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 18(11). Pages 589-596. (Abstract)
Data Set Burdon, Jeremy J. 2006. Incidence of the rust Triphragmium ulmariae on Filipendula ulmaria in the Skeppsvik archipelago, Sweden. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Dobson, Andrew P. 2000. Raccoon rabies in space and time. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 97. Pages 14041-14043.
Presentations Dobson, Andrew P. 2001. Topic: Disease and Conservation. Symposium at Ecological Society of America Annual Meeting, April 2001. Madison, WI.
Presentations Dobson, Andrew P. 2004. Disease ecology and declining populations: Analyzing and predicting disease in sensitive populations. Disease Ecology Symposium. ESA Annual Meeting.
Journal Article Holt, Robert D.; Dobson, Andrew P.; Begon, M.; Bowers, R. G.; Schauber, Eric M. 2003. Parasite establishment in host communities. Ecology Letters. Vol: 6(9). Pages 837-842.
Journal Article Holt, Robert D.; Roy, Manojit. 2007. Predation can increase the prevalence of infectious disease. American Naturalist. Vol: 169(5). Pages 690-9.
Journal Article Hudson, Peter J.; Dobson, Andrew P.; Lafferty, Kevin D. 2006. Is a healthy ecosystem one that is rich in parasites?. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 21(7). Pages 381-385.
Book Chapter Kim, Kiho; Harvell, Drew; Dobson, Andrew P.; Gulland, Frances. 2001. A plague of marine epidemics. Marine Biodiversity and Conservation. Island Press.
Journal Article Lafferty, Kevin D.; Gerber, Leah R. 2002. Good medicine for conservation biology: The intersection of epidemiology and conservation theory. Conservation Biology. Vol: 16(3). Pages 593-604.
Journal Article Lafferty, Kevin D.; Holt, Robert D. 2003. How should environmental stress affect the population dynamics of disease?. Ecology Letters. Vol: 6. Pages 654-664.
Journal Article Lafferty, Kevin D. 2004. Fishing for lobsters indirectly increases epidemics in sea urchins. Ecological Applications. Vol: 14(5). Pages 1566-1573.
Journal Article Mitchell, Charles E.; Power, Alison G. 2003. Release of invasive plants from fungal and viral pathogens. Nature. Vol: 421. Pages 625-627.
Book Chapter Ostfeld, Richard S.; Pearl, M.; Meffe, G. 2002. Conservation medicine: The birth of another crisis discipline. Edited by Aguirre, A.; Ostfeld, R. S.; House, C. A.; Tabor, G.; Pearl, M.. Conservation Medicine: Ecological Health in Practice. Oxford University Press. New York. Pages 17-26.
Book Chapter Ostfeld, Richard S.; Keesing, F.; Schauber, Eric M.; Schmidt, Kenneth A. 2002. The ecological context of infectious disease: Diversity, habitat fragmentation, and Lyme disease risk in North America. Edited by Aguirre, A.; Ostfeld, R. S.; House, C. A.; Tabor, G.; Pearl, M.. Conservation Medicine: Ecological Health in Practice. Oxford University Press. New York. Pages 207-219.
Journal Article Packer, Craig; Holt, Robert D.; Hudson, Peter J.; Lafferty, Kevin D.; Dobson, Andrew P. 2003. Keeping the herds healthy and alert: Implications of predator control for infectious disease. Ecology Letters. Vol: 6. Pages 797-802.
Book Chapter Tabor, Gary; Ostfeld, Richard S.; Poss, Mary; Dobson, Andrew P.; Aguirre, A. A. 2001. Conservation biology and the health sciences: Research priorities of conservation medicine. Edited by Soule, M. E.; Orians, G. H.. Conservation Biology: Research Priorities for the Next Decade. Island Press. Washington, DC. Pages 155-174.
Journal Article Torchin, Mark E.; Lafferty, Kevin D.; Dobson, Andrew P.; McKenzie, Valerie J.; Kuris, Armand. 2003. Introduced species and their missing parasites. Nature. Vol: 421. Pages 628-630.
"Infectious diseases and conservation biology" is project ID: 2198