Long-term ecological records of marine environments, populations and communities

Principal Investigators:

Jeremy B.C. Jackson

Ecological time series across large spatial and temporal scales are essential for resolving and understanding anthropogenic and natural sources of variability and change in the oceans and prediction of their consequences. However, virtually all marine ecological observational records are too short or infrequent for useful time series analysis, so that prediction of ecological responses to further perturbations is difficult or impossible. Paleoecological, archeological and historical data (hereafter referred to as paleo data) are the only hope for... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group13th—17th September 1999Participant List  
Postdoctoral Fellow16th February 2000—20th April 2001Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th March 2000Participant List  
Working Group20th—24th March 2000Participant List  
Working Group31st March—3rd April 2000Participant List  
Working Group5th—8th June 2000Participant List  
Working Group7th—10th December 2000Participant List  
Working Group25th—29th January 2001Participant List  
Graduate Student1st February—30th April 2001Participant List  
Working Group3rd—8th March 2001Participant List  
Working Group15th—21st October 2001Participant List  
Working Group28th November—3rd December 2001Participant List  
Working Group4th—8th April 2002Participant List  
Working Group18th—22nd April 2002Participant List  
Working Group17th—20th May 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Wolfgang H. Bergerwberger@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Louis W. Botsfordlwbotsford@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Bruce J. Bourquebbourque@abacus.bates.eduBates College
Roger Bradburyroger@cres.anu.edu.auBureau of Rural Sciences
Richard G. Cookecooker@naos.si.eduSmithsonian Institution
James A. Estesjestes@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Terence P. Hughesterry.hughes@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
Jeremy B.C. Jacksonjeremybcjackson@gmail.comUniversity of California, San Diego
Douglas S. Jonesdsjones@nervm.nerdc.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Susan Kidwellskidwell@midway.uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Carina Langeclange@udec.clUniversity of California, San Diego
Alec D. MacCallalec.maccall@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
John McGowanjmcgowan@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
John M. Pandolfij.pandolfi@uq.edu.auSmithsonian Institution
Charles H. Petersoncpeters@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina
Robert S. Stenecksteneck@maine.eduUniversity of Maine
George Sugiharagsugihara@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Mia Tegnermtegner@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Robert R. Warnerwarner@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael X. Kirbymkirby@epgaz.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hunter S. Lenihanlenihan@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Debbie Corbettdebbie_corbett@fws.govUS Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Jon Erlandsonjerland@oregon.uoregon.eduUniversity of Oregon
Michael H. Grahammhgraham@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Vanese Floodvanesef@yahoo.comUniversity of Georgia
Karen A. Bjorndalkab@zoo.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Enric Salaesala@coast.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgSeaWeb/COMPASS
Daniel F. BelknapUniversity of Maine
Deborah McArdledamcardle@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Clemenzclementz@emerald.ucsc.edu.University of California, Santa Cruz
Loren McClenachanlmcclenachan@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Marah Newmanmjnewman@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Heike K. Lotzeheike.lotze@dal.caDalhousie University
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Erlandson, Jon. 2001. A coastal colonization of the Americas?: A California perspective, 4 December 2001. Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History. Santa Barbara, CA.
Journal Article Erlandson, Jon; Graham, Michael H.; Bourque, Bruce J.; Corbett, Debbie; Estes, James A.; Steneck, Robert S. 2007. The Kelp Highway Hypothesis: Marine Ecology, the Coastal Migration Theory, and the Peopling of the Americas. Journal of Island and Coastal Archeaology. Vol: 2(2). Pages 161-174.
Presentations Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2000. What was natural in the coastal oceans? June 2000. Duke University Marine Laboratory.
Journal Article Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Kirby, Michael X.; Berger, Wolfgang H.; Bjorndal, Karen A.; Botsford, Louis W.; Bourque, Bruce J.; Bradbury, Roger; Cooke, Richard G.; Erlandson, Jon; Estes, James A.; Hughes, Terence P.; Kidwell, Susan; Lange, Carina; Lenihan, Hunter S.; Pandolfi, John M.; Peterson, Charles H.; Steneck, Robert S.; Tegner, Mia; Warner, Robert R. 2001. Historical overfishing and the recent collapse of coastal ecosystems. Science. Vol: 293. Pages 629-638.
Presentations Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2001. The past is key to the future management of the coastal oceans, February 2001. Smithsonian Institution National Board at STRI, Panama. Panama.
Presentations Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2001. What was natural in the coastal oceans?. Princeton University. Princeton, NJ.
Journal Article Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2001. What was natural in the coastal oceans?. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 98. Pages 5411-5418.
Journal Article Lotze, Heike K.; Lenihan, Hunter S.; Bourque, Bruce J.; Bradbury, Roger; Cooke, Richard G.; Kay, Matthew C.; Kidwell, Susan; Kirby, Michael X.; Peterson, Charles H.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2006. Depletion, degradation, and recovery potential of estuaries and coastal seas. Science. Vol: 312. Pages 1806-1809.
Journal Article Lotze, Heike K.; Coll, Marta; Dunne, Jennifer A. 2011. Historical changes in marine resources, food-web structure and ecosystem functioning in the Adriatic Sea, Mediterranean. Ecosystems. Vol: 14. Pages 198-222. (Online version)
Journal Article Pandolfi, John M.; Bradbury, Roger; Sala, Enric; Hughes, Terence P.; Bjorndal, Karen A.; Cooke, Richard G.; McArdle, Deborah; McClenachan, Loren; Newman, Marah; Paredes, Gustavo; Warner, Robert R.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C. 2003. Global trajectories of the long-term decline of coral reef ecosystems. Science. Vol: 301. Pages 955-958. (Abstract)
Journal Article Pandolfi, John M.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Baron, Nancy; Bradbury, Roger; Guzman, Hector M.; Hughes, Terence P.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Ogden, John C.; Possingham, Hugh P.; Sala, Enric. 2005. Are U.S. coral reefs on the slippery slope to slime?. Ecology. Vol: 307. Pages 1725-1726.
Journal Article Peterson, Charles H.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Kirby, Michael X.; Lenihan, Hunter S.; Bourque, Bruce J.; Bradbury, Roger; Cooke, Richard G.; Kidwell, Susan. 2001. Response to: Factors in the decline of coastal ecosystems. Science. Vol: 293. Pages 1590-1591.
Journal Article Steneck, Robert S.; Graham, Michael H.; Bourque, Bruce J.; Corbett, Debbie; Erlandson, Jon; Estes, James A.; Tegner, Mia. 2002. Kelp forest ecosystems: Biodiversity, stability, resilience and future. Environmental Conservation. Vol: 29(4). Pages 436-459.
"Long-term ecological records of marine environments, populations and communities" is project ID: 2214