Ecological processes and evolutionary rates

Principal Investigators:

Niles Eldredge, and John N. Thompson

In recent years, the science of ecology has become increasingly directed toward questions at larger spatial and temporal scales. The same is true of evolutionary biology. Our working group will be a direct attempt to evaluate where and when evolutionary biology is important to our understanding of ecological analyses of large-scale spatial and temporal processes. This evolutionary/ecological link is at the heart of the major questions identified at the recent combined GSA/ESA symposium (Hunter 1998). This group will also build explicitly upon one... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—19th February 2000Participant List  
Working Group30th November—3rd December 2000Participant List  
Working Group18th—20th March 2001Participant List  
Working Group9th—11th December 2001Participant List  
Working Group9th—11th June 2002Participant List  
Working Group4th—6th January 2003Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th December 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Paul M. Brakefieldbrakefield@rulsfb.leidenuniv.nlUniversity of Leiden
Niles Eldredgeepunkeek@amnh.orgAmerican Museum of Natural History
Sergey Gavriletsgavrila@tiem.utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
David Jablonskidjablons@midway.uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Jeremy B.C. Jacksonjeremybcjackson@gmail.comUniversity of California, San Diego
Richard E. Lenskilenski@msu.eduMichigan State University
Bruce S. Liebermanblieber@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Mark A. McPeekmark.mcpeek@dartmouth.eduDartmouth College
William Millerwm1@axe.humboldt.eduHumboldt State University
Dolph Schluterschluter@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
John N. Thompsonthompson@biology.ucsc.eduWashington State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Eldredge, Niles; Thompson, John N.; Brakefield, Paul M.; Gavrilets, Sergey; Jablonski, David; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Lenski, Richard E.; Lieberman, Bruce S.; McPeek, Mark A.; Miller, William. 2005. The dynamics of evolutionary stasis. Paleobiology. Vol: 31(2). Pages 133-145.
Book Chapter Jablonski, David. 2000. Micro- and macroevolution: Scale and hierarchy in evolutionary biology and paleobiology. Paleobiology. Vol: 26. The Paleontological Society. Pages 15-52.
Journal Article Miller, William. 2001. The structure of species, outcomes of speciation and the 'species problem': Ideas for paleobiology. Palaeogeography Palaeoclimatology Palaeoecology. Vol: 176. Pages 1-10.
Journal Article Miller, William. 2002. Regional ecosystems and the origin of species. Neues Jahrbuch fur Geologie und Palaontologie-Abhandlungen. Vol: 225(2). Pages 137-156.
Journal Article Miller, William. 2003. A place for phyletic evolution within the theory of punctuated equilibria: Eldredge pathways. Neues Jahrbuch fur Geologie und Palaontologie-Monatshefte. Vol: 8. Pages 463-476.
"Ecological processes and evolutionary rates" is project ID: 2224