Ecology transformed? A proposed working group to study new forms of scientific collaboration

Principal Investigators:

Edward J. Hackett

We propose to examine the organization, functioning and products of selected NCEAS working groups, placing them within the larger contexts of the disciplinary development of ecology and the emergence of new patterns of scientific collaboration. We would do this in two ways. First, we would examine the characteristics and consequences of NCEAS working groups, using interviews, observations and examination of documents (such as publications, proposals, and participants┬┐ vitae). Second, we would organize a working group to study new forms of scientific... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Graduate Student15th May—15th August 1999Participant List  
Working Group5th—6th May 2000Participant List  
Working Group11th—13th January 2001Participant List  
Working Group8th—10th March 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Lisa KramerArizona State University
Geoffrey C. Bowkerbowker@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Barry Bozemanbarry.bozeman@pubpolicy.gatech.eduGeorgia Institute of Technology
David Conzconz@asu.eduArizona State University
Edward J. Hackettehackett@asu.eduArizona State University
Caroline Haythornthwaitehaythorn@uiuc.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Sara Kieslerkiesler@cs.cmu.eduCarnegie Mellon University
Gary M. Olsongmo@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Jason D. Owen-Smithjdos@stanford.eduUniversity of Arizona
Wesley Shrumshrum@lsu.eduLouisiana State University
John P. Walshjwalsh@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois, Chicago
Katie Vannkvann@weber.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Nancy G. Maloneynmalon1@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois, Chicago
John N. Parkerjohn.parker@asu.eduArizona State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Duque, Ricardo B.; Ynalvez, Marcus; Sooryamoorthy, R.; Mbatia, Paul; Dzorgbo, Dan-Bright S.; Shrum, Wesley. 2005. Collaboration paradox: Scientific productivity, the Internet, and problems of research in developing areas. Social Studies of Science. Vol: 35(5). Pages 755-785.
Presentations Hackett, Edward J. 2004. Symposia on scientific collaboration. Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Denver, Colorado.
Journal Article Hackett, Edward J. 2005. Essential tensions: Identity, control, and risk in research. Social Studies of Science. Vol: 35(5). Pages 787-826.
Journal Article Hackett, Edward J. 2005. Introduction to the special guest-edited issue on scientific collaboration. Social Studies of Science. Vol: 35(5). Pages 667-671.
Presentations Hackett, Edward J. 2005. Symposia on scientific collaboration. Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Seattle, Washington.
Presentations Haythornthwaite, Caroline; Steinley, D. 2002. Interdisciplinary knowledge exchange. International Sunbelt Social Network Conference, February 2002. New Orleans, LA.
Journal Article Owen-Smith, Jason D. 2001. Managing laboratory work through skepticism: Processes of evaluation and control. American Sociological Review. Vol: 66(3). Pages 427-452.
Journal Article Owen-Smith, Jason D. 2005. Dockets, deals, and sagas: Commensuration and the rationalization of experience in University licensing. Social Studies of Science. Vol: 35(1). Pages 69-97.
Presentations Parker, John N.; Hackett, Edward J. 2003. Topic: Scientific collaboration. Biennial meetings of the International Society for the History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology, July 2003. Vienna, Austria.
Journal Article Shrum, Wesley; Chompalov, Ivan; Genuth, Joel. 2001. Trust, conflict and performance in scientific collaborations. Social Studies of Science. Vol: 31(5). Pages 681-730.
"Ecology transformed? A proposed working group to study new forms of scientific collaboration" is project ID: 2225