Ecological Monitoring

Principal Investigators:

Harold A. Mooney

In the year 2001 there will be an International Biodiversity Observation Year (IBOY). This program has been initiated by DIVERSITAS, a program for the study of the science of biodiversity. There are many different activities planned for IBOY that involve new science, new integration as well as activities designed to publicize the value of biodiversity to the general public.

In designing IBOY it has become evident that there are a large number of international biodiversity monitoring efforts. IBOY could bring focused attention to the... more

In the year 2001 there will be an International Biodiversity Observation Year (IBOY). This program has been initiated by DIVERSITAS, a program for the study of the science of biodiversity. There are many different activities planned for IBOY that involve new science, new integration as well as activities designed to publicize the value of biodiversity to the general public.

In designing IBOY it has become evident that there are a large number of international biodiversity monitoring efforts. IBOY could bring focused attention to the monitoring agenda but we need to identify what particular aspects should be highlighted for maximum effect. A workshop is proposed with the primary objective of identifying biodiversity monitoring program opportunities that would be the most appropriate contribution to IBOY.

A byproduct of this planning effort is to examine the various international monitoring programs and to evaluate if, overall, important aspects are being ignored, as well as where there might be duplication of effort. Some of the issues we would address are: 1) What are some of the overriding questions related to monitoring? 2) How do answering these question relate to differing spatial and temporal scales (this is in essence the heart of the problem since there are so many scales of interest to different groups)? 3) What is the value (and downsides) of standardized methods for intersite comparisons in relation to the questions posed in 1 and 2? 4) How can we link data sets and approaches (a lot of thought has gone into this already for certain types of measurements)? 5) How can we move forward in biodiversity monitoring considering the multiplicity of efforts, the lack of resources and often lack of political will?

Such an analysis could help strengthen biodiversity research in general.

collapse

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop8th—10th April 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ruth Barretossc_iucn@ec.gc.caCanadian Wildlife Service
Peter Bridgewaterpbridgewater@ozemail.com.auEnvironment Australia
Josep G. Canadellpep.canadell@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Mark Collinsmark.collins@wcmc.org.ukIUCN World Conservation Monitoring Center
Gladys Cottergladys_cotter@usgs.govUnknown
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Mark Fornwallmark_fornwall@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Claude GasconConservation International
James Goszjgosz@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
J. Frederick Grasslegrassle@ahab.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Anne Larigauderieanne@icsu.orgInternational Council for Science (ICSU)
Pierre Lasserrep.lasserre@unesco.orgUnited Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Jean-Pierre Le DanffWorld Trade Center
Harold A. MooneyStanford University
Tohru NakashizukaKyoto University
O. J. Reichmanojreichman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Walter V. Reidwreid@packard.orgWorld Resources Institute
Jane Robertson Vernhesj.robertson@unesco.orgUnited Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Michael RuggieroUS Department of the Interior
Douglas Siegel-Causeydsiegel@nsf.govNational Science Foundation
Jorge Soberon Mainerojsoberon@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
David B. Wakewakelab@uclink.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Clive Wilkinsonc.wilkinson@aims.gov.auAustralian Institute of Marine Science

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Ecological Monitoring" is project ID: 2227