NSF Pollinator Decline Workshop (Hosted by NCEAS)

Principal Investigators:

James H. Cane

Workshop to Explore Causes and Extent of Declines Among Native Invertebrate Pollinators: Detection, Evidence and Consequences Insects, particularly native bees, are the predominant and essential pollinators of many wild and agricultural plants in North America. For many flowering plants, they move pollen between plants while foraging, thereby contributing to: 1) fruit set and size, 2) seed production and viability, and 3) seedling vigor, while 4) enhancing genetic diversity of plant populations. Is this essential ecosystem service in jeopardy?... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop8th—10th October 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Priyanga Amarasekareamarasek@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Boydrboyd@acesag.auburn.eduAuburn University, Alabama
Stephen L. Buchmannbuchmann@tucson.ars.ag.govCarl Hayden Bee Research Center
James H. Canejcane@biology.usu.eduUtah State University
Philip Dixonpdixon@iastate.eduIowa State University
Sam Droegefrog@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Carol Kearnskearnsca@rintintin.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Jeremy T. Kerrjkerr@uottawa.caUnknown
Peter Kevanpkevan@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Penny Kukukpkukuk@selway.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Robert Minckleyrminckle@mail.rochester.eduAuburn University, Alabama
Jack Neffberyl@email.utexas.eduTexas Melittological Institute
Paul Oplerpaulevi@webaccess.netColorado State University
Laurence Packerlaurencepacker@yahoo.comYork University
David W. Roubikroubikd@tivoli.si.eduSmithsonian Institution
John R. SauerJohn_R_Sauer@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Beryl B. Simpsonberyl@mail.utexas.eduUniversity of Texas, Austin
Vince Tepedinoandrena@biology.usu.eduUtah State University
James Thomsonjt@life.bio.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook
Robbin Thorprwthorp@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Neal M. Williamsnmwilliams@ucdavis.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Cane, James H.; Tepedino, Vince. 2001. Causes and extent of declines among native North American invertebrate pollinators: Detection, evidence, and consequences. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 1. (Online version)
Journal Article Cane, James H. 2001. Habitat fragmentation and native bees: A premature verdict?. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 3.
Journal Article Kearns, Carol. 2001. North American dipteran pollinators: Assessing their value and conservation status. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 5.
Journal Article Kearns, Carol. 2002. Flies and flowers, an enduring partnership. Wings. Vol: Fall.
Journal Article Kearns, Carol. In press. Solicited book review: Conserving Migratory Pollinators (ed. G. Nabhan). Quarterly Review of Biology.
Journal Article Kerr, Jeremy T. 2001. Butterfly species richness patterns in Canada: Energy, heterogeneity, and the potential consequences of climate change. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 10.
Journal Article Kevan, Peter; Phillips, T. P. 2001. The economic impacts of pollinator declines: An approach to assessing the consequences. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 8.
Journal Article Marlin, J. C.; LaBerge, W. E. 2001. The native bee fauna of Carlinville, Illinois, revisited after 75 years: A case for persistence. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 9.
Journal Article Packer, Laurence; Owen, R. D. 2001. Population genetic aspects of pollinator decline. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 4.
Journal Article Roubik, David W. 2001. Ups and downs in pollinator populations: When is there a decline?. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 2.
Journal Article Thomson, James. 2001. Using pollination deficits to infer pollinator declines: Can theory guide us?. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 6.
Journal Article Williams, Neal M.; Minckley, Robert; Silveira, F. 2001. Variation in native bee faunas and its implications for detecting community changes. Conservation Ecology. Vol: 5(1). Pages 7.
"NSF Pollinator Decline Workshop (Hosted by NCEAS)" is project ID: 2231