A circumpolar comparison of tundra response to temperature manipulation: A synthesis of international tundra experiment data

Principal Investigators:

Marilyn D. Walker, and Michael Hunt Jones

This proposal seeks support for synthesis of existing data from 26 circumpolar arctic and alpine sites regarding species response to a common temperature manipulation. The sites are part of the International Tundra Experiment (ITEX), a collaboration of arctic and alpine researchers. ITEX programs have been in place throughout the circumpolar arctic and temperate alpine since 1992 or 1993. ITEX investigators use a common experimental design, work with a common set of species, and monitor common parameters of the ecosystem and physical environment.

ITEX... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Postdoctoral Fellow28th October 1996—20th January 1997Participant List  
Workshop4th—9th December 1996Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Anna Arftarft@rastro.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado
Juha Alatalojuha.alatalo@systbot.gu.seGöteborgs Universitet/University of Gothenburg
Syndonia Bret-Harteffmsb@uaf.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Mark Daledalem@unbc.caUniversity of Alberta
Matthias DiemerUniversitat Basel
Felix GugerliUniversity of Zurich
Jessica Gurevitchjgurvtch@life.bio.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY)
Greg H.R. Henryghenry@geog.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Robert D. Hollisterhollistr@gvsu.eduMichigan State University
Michael Hunt JonesOhio State University
Kari Lainekari.laine@oulu.fiUniversity of Oulu
Esther Levesqueesther.levesque@uqtr.caUniversity of Toronto
Giles M. Mariongmarion@CRREL41.CRREL.USACE.ARMY.MILUS Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
Ulf Molauulf.molau@systbot.gu.seGöteborgs Universitet/University of Gothenburg
Per Molgaardpm@charon.dhf.dkRoyal Danish School of Pharmacy
Urban Nordenhallurban.nordenhall@systbot.gu.seGöteborgs Universitet/University of Gothenburg
Vladimir Razzhivinvalodyar@north.binras.spl.ruKomarov Botanical Institute
Clare H. Robinsonclare.robinson@kcl.ac.ukKing's College London
Greg Starrgstarr01@servax.fiu.eduFlorida International University
Mikael Stenstrommikael.stenstrom@sysbot.gu.seGöteborgs Universitet/University of Gothenburg
Ørjan Totlandorjan.totland@umb.noUniversity of Bergen
P. Lee Turnerturnerpl@taimyr.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Lisa Walkerwalkerl5@pilot.msu.eduMichigan State University
Marilyn D. WalkerUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Patrick Webberwebber@pilot.msu.eduMichigan State University
Jeffrey M. Welkerafjmw1@uaa.alaska.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Philip Wookeyp.wookey@rhbnc.ac.ukUniversity of London

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Arft, Anna; Walker, Marilyn D.; Gurevitch, Jessica; Alatalo, Juha; Bret-Harte, Syndonia; Dale, Mark; Diemer, Matthias; Gugerli, Felix; Henry, Greg H.R.; Jones, Michael Hunt; Hollister, Robert D.; Jónsdóttir, Ingibjörg Svala; Laine, Kari; Levesque, Esther; Marion, Giles M.; Molau, Ulf; Molgaard, Per; Nordenhall, Urban; Razzhivin, Vladimir; Robinson, Clare H.; Starr, Greg; Stenstrom, A.; Stenstrom, Mikael; Totland, Ørjan; Turner, P. Lee; Walker, Lisa; Webber, Patrick; Welker, Jeffrey M.; Wookey, Philip. 1999. Responses of tundra plants to experimental warming: Meta-analysis of the international tundra experiment. Ecological Monographs. Vol: 69(4). Pages 491.
Data Set Walker, Marilyn D.; Jones, Michael Hunt. 2006. A circumpolar comparison of tundra response to temperature manipulation: A synthesis of international tundra experiment data. (Online version)
"A circumpolar comparison of tundra response to temperature manipulation: A synthesis of international tundra experiment data" is project ID: 2258