Analysis and synthesis of trace gas fluxes

Principal Investigators:

Dennis S. Ojima, and Arvin R. Mosier

Current estimates of atmospheric growth of key trace gas species are based on scanty measurements of the sources and sinks of these compounds. The terrestrial processes controlling the fluxes of these trace gas have been studied over the past decades, but a coordinated effort to synthesize these studies and to analyze the environmental controlling factors has not been conducted. A critical synthesis of information on the biotic and abiotic controls of trace gas fluxes is needed in order to advance our ability to determine regional... more

Current estimates of atmospheric growth of key trace gas species are based on scanty measurements of the sources and sinks of these compounds. The terrestrial processes controlling the fluxes of these trace gas have been studied over the past decades, but a coordinated effort to synthesize these studies and to analyze the environmental controlling factors has not been conducted. A critical synthesis of information on the biotic and abiotic controls of trace gas fluxes is needed in order to advance our ability to determine regional estimates of various trace gas compounds. The U.S. TRAce Gas NETwork (TRAGNET) is developing an accessible data base of multi-year trace gas flux data (and ancillary data) from a range of ecosystems across North America, contributed by a number of independent research groups. TRAGNET also includes several trace gas flux models, which have not yet been tested against most of the TRAGNET flux data.

collapse

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Graduate Student5th May 1997—30th September 1998Participant List  
Working Group2nd—6th December 1997Participant List  
Working Group26th—27th May 1998Participant List  
Working Group19th—24th April 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Jeff Q. Chamberschambers@tulane.eduUnknown
Per Ambusper.ambus@risoe.dkRisoe National Laboratory
Jean Bognerlandfill@ix.netcom.comArgonne National Laboratory
Rainer BrummeUniversity Waldernarung
Klaus Butterbach-BahlFraunhofer Institute for Atmospheric Environmental Research
Heiner Flessahflessa@gwdg.deIBW
Steve Frolkingsteve.frolking@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Peter M. Groffmangroffmanp@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Melannie HartmanColorado State University
Elisabeth A. Hollandeholland@acd.ucar.eduNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Michael Kellermichael@kaos.sr.unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Leif KlemedtssonSwedish Environmental Research Institute
Steve Knoxstevek@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Changsheng LiUniversity of New Hampshire
Pamela Matsonpamela.matson@stanford.eduStanford University
Arvin R. MosierUS Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Dennis S. Ojimadennis@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Hans Papenpapen@ifu.fhg.deFraunhofer Institute for Atmospheric Environmental Research
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Chris Pottercpotter@mail.arc.nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
William S. Reeburghreeburgh@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
William J. RileyUniversity of California, Berkeley
Ron L. SassRice University
Joshua P. Schimelschimel@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Keith A. SmithUniversity of Edinburgh
Florian Stangestange@ifu.fhg.deFraunhofer Institute for Atmospheric Environmental Research
David ValentineUniversity of Alaska
Bernadette P. Walterbwalter@giss.nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Per Weslienper.weslien@ivl.seSwedish Environmental Research Institute
Richard ZeppUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Werner Borkenwborken@gwdg.deBusgenweg 2
Stephen Del Grossodelgro@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Jennifer Kingjyking@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Elaine Matthewsematthews@giss.nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Louis Verchotverchotl@ecostudies.orgUnknown

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Bogner, Jean; Sass, Ron L.; Walter, Bernadette P. 1998. Modeling of methane production and net emissions: A review of major controls across a management gradient encompassing natural wetlands, rice production systems and landfills. American Geophysical Union Meeting. San Francisco, CA.
Dissertation or Thesis Del Grosso, Stephen. 1999. General models for trace gas flux from denitrification and methane oxidation in soils.
Journal Article Del Grosso, Stephen; Parton, William J.; Mosier, Arvin R.; Ojima, Dennis S.; Borken, Werner; Brumme, Rainer; Butterbach-Bahl, Klaus; Crill, Patrick; Dobbie, K.; Smith, Keith A. 2000. General CH4 oxidation model and comparisons of CH4 oxidation in natural and managed systems. Global Biogeochemical Cycles. Vol: 14. Pages 999-1020.
Journal Article Del Grosso, Stephen; Parton, William J.; Mosier, Arvin R.; Ojima, Dennis S.; Kulmala, A. E.; Phongpan, S. 2000. General model for N2O and N2 emissions from soils due to denitrification. Global Biogeochemical Cycles. Vol: 14. Pages 1045-1060.
Presentations Flessa, Heiner; Klemedtsson, Leif; Doersch, P.; Martikainen, P. J.; Klemedtsson, A.; Smith, Keith A.; Mosier, Arvin R. 1998. Low-temperature nitrous oxide emissions may contribute significantly to total annual emissions from soils. American Geophysical Union, Fall Meeting. San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Groffman, Peter M.; Parton, William J.; Mosier, Arvin R. 1998. Predictive power of annual ecosystem scale estimates of trace gas fluxes. American Geophysical Union Meeting. San Francisco, CA.
Journal Article Huang, Yao; Sass, Ron L.; Fisher, F. M. 1998. Model estimates of methane emission from irrigated rice cultivation of China. Global Change Biology. Vol: 4. Pages 809-821.
Report or White Paper Ojima, Dennis S. 1997. Trace gas meeting report. (Online version)
Data Set Ojima, Dennis S.; Mosier, Arvin R. 1999. Trace gas flux data. (Online version)
Presentations Parton, William J.; Del Grosso, Stephen; Mosier, Arvin R.; Ojima, Dennis S. 1998. Comparisons of CH4 oxidation in managed and natural ecosystems using the TRAGNET data base. American Geophysical Union Meeting. San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Reeburgh, William S. 1998. Modeling soil methane oxidation: Constraints from field observations. American Geophysical Union Meeting. San Francisco, CA.
"Analysis and synthesis of trace gas fluxes" is project ID: 2267