Evaluation of the nursery role of wetlands and seagrasses for better conservation and management

Principal Investigators:

Michael W. Beck, and Kenneth L. Heck

Wetland (herein, estuarine marsh and mangrove) and seagrass habitats are extraordinarily productive, and are believed to play a nursery role in which juvenile fish and shellfish occur at high densities, avoid predation, grow quickly, and then migrate offshore to appropriate adult habitat. The nursery role of these habitats is a pervasive concept, and it is important in research, conservation, and management. There is, however, growing recognition that the evidence that supports this paradigm is not cohesive and sometimes weak or contradictory.... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Graduate Student11th October 1999—30th June 2000Participant List  
Working Group14th—16th December 1999Participant List  
Working Group19th—21st July 2000Participant List  
Graduate Student1st September 2000—30th June 2001Participant List  
Working Group28th—31st October 2000Participant List  
Working Group13th—15th December 2000Participant List  
Working Group18th—20th July 2001Participant List  
Working Group7th—11th January 2002Participant List  
Working Group18th—20th February 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Kaho Hoshinokhoshino@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kenneth Ableable@imcs.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Michael W. Beckmbeck@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Daniel L. Childersdan.childers@asu.eduFlorida International University
Felicia C. Colemancoleman@bio.fsu.eduFlorida State University
David B. Egglestoneggleston@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Mark S. Fonsecamarkf@mail.bea.nmfs.govNOAA, National Ocean Service (NOS)
Bronwyn Gillandersbronwyn.gillanders@adelaide.edu.auUniversity of Sydney
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Cynthia Hayshays@darwin.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Kenneth L. Heckkheck@disl.orgDauphin Island Sea Laboratory
Thomas Minellotom.minello@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Robert J. Orthjjorth@vims.eduVirginia Institute of Marine Science
Pete Sheridanpete.sheridan@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Michael Weinsteinmikew@njmsc.orgNew Jersey Marine Sciences Consortium
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduUniversità di Pisa
Jennifer A. Brownbrown@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Beck, Michael W.; Heck, Kenneth L. 2001. Identification, conservation and management of estuarine and marine invertebrates: A National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis Working Group Report. Estuarine Research Foundation.
Journal Article Beck, Michael W.; Heck, Kenneth L.; Able, Kenneth; Childers, Daniel L.; Eggleston, David B.; Gillanders, Bronwyn; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hays, Cynthia; Hoshino, Kaho; Minello, Thomas; Orth, Robert J.; Sheridan, Pete; Weinstein, Michael. 2001. The identification, conservation, and management of estuarine and marine nurseries for fish and invertebrates. BioScience. Vol: 51. Pages 633-641.
Journal Article Beck, Michael W.; Heck, Kenneth L.; Able, Kenneth; Childers, Daniel L.; Eggleston, David B.; Gillanders, Bronwyn; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hays, Cynthia; Hoshino, Kaho; Minello, Thomas; Orth, Robert J.; Sheridan, Pete; Weinstein, Michael. 2003. The role of nearshore ecosystems as fish and shellfish nurseries. Issues in Ecology. Vol: 11. Pages 1-12.
Data Set Beck, Michael W.; Heck, Kenneth L. 2006. A review of studies on the nursery role of nearshore habitats. (Online version)
Journal Article Gillanders, Bronwyn; Able, Kenneth; Brown, Jennifer A.; Eggleston, David B.; Sheridan, Pete. 2003. Evidence of connectivity between juvenile and adult habitats for mobile marine fauna: An important component of nurseries. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 247. Pages 281-295.
Journal Article Heck, Kenneth L.; Hays, G.; Orth, Robert J. 2003. Critical evaluation of the nursery role hypothesis for seagrass meadows. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 253. Pages 123-136.
Journal Article Minello, Thomas; Able, Kenneth; Weinstein, Michael; Hays, Cynthia. 2003. Salt marshes as nurseries for nekton: Testing hypotheses on density, growth and survival through meta-analysis. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 246. Pages 39-59.
Journal Article Sheridan, Pete; Hays, Cynthia. 2003. Are mangroves nursery habitat for transient fishes and decapods?. Wetlands. Vol: 23(2). Pages 449-458. (Abstract)
"Evaluation of the nursery role of wetlands and seagrasses for better conservation and management" is project ID: 2279