Synthesis in Ecology: Applications, opportunities and challenges

Principal Investigators:

Stephen R. Carpenter

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Other17th—20th November 1996Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Anna Arftarft@rastro.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado
Yvonne BaskinYBASKIN@aol.comScience Magazine
John Blairjblair@ksu.eduKansas State University
Patrick Bourgeronpbourgeron@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Michael BowersUniversity of Virginia
Tom Bradytbrady@nsf.govNational Science Foundation
Cheryl J. Briggscherie.briggs@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Joel Brownsquirrel@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois, Chicago
Grace Brushgbrush@jhuvms.hcf.jhu.eduJohns Hopkins University
Ingrid C. Burkeindy@cnr.colostate.eduColorado State University
Rebecca S. Burtonrebecca.burton@alverno.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James E. Byersjebyers@uga.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nina Caracocaracon@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Stephen R. Carpentersrcarpen@facstaff.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Virginia Castagnola-HunterUnknown
Jonathan M. Chasejonathan.chase@idiv.deUniversity of Chicago
Steven I. Citron-Poustysip94001@uconnvm.uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
James S. Clarkjimclark@duke.eduDuke University
David C. Colemandavec@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Scott L. Collinsscollins@sevilleta.unm.eduNational Science Foundation
Michael Collopycollopym@fsl.orst.eduUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Scott D. Cooperscooper@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Costanzarobert.costanza@anu.edu.auUniversity of Maryland
Kathryn L. Cottinghamkathryn.cottingham@dartmouth.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Alan P. Covichalanc@uga.eduColorado State University
Larry B. Crowderlarry.crowder@stanford.eduDuke University
Gretchen Dailygdaily@leland.stanford.eduStanford University
Virginia H. Dalevhd@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Brent Danielsonjessie@iastate.eduIowa State University
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Patty Debenhampattydebenham@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lisa DentArizona State University
Heidi Dierssendierssen@icess.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ginny Eckertginny.eckert@uas.alaska.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Don C. ErmanUniversity of California, Davis
Timothy E. Essingtonessing@u.washington.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
William F. Faganbfagan@glue.umd.eduUniversity of Washington
David R. Fosterdrfoster@fas.harvard.eduHarvard University
Diana W. FreckmanColorado State University
Robert H. Gardnergardner@al.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Ross Gerrardrgerrard@fs.fed.usUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Barry D. Goldbarry.gold@moore.orgGrand Canyon Monitoring and Research Center
Lloyd GoldwasserUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James Goszjgosz@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Nancy B. Grimmnbgrimm@asu.eduArizona State University
Peter M. Groffmangroffmanp@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Nick Haddadnick_haddad@ncsu.eduUniversity of Georgia
Chris D.G. Harleyharley@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of Washington
John Heckmanjheckman@vt.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Selina S. HeppellSelina.Heppell@oregonstate.eduDuke University
Ray Hilbornhilbornr@gmail.comUniversity of Washington
John Hobbiejhobbie@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Sarah E. Hobbieshobbie@umn.eduStanford University
Crawford S. HollingUniversity of Florida
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Kansas
Nancy Huntlyhuntnanc@isu.eduIdaho State University
Anthony R. Ivesarives@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Anthony C. Janetosjanetos@heinzctr.orgNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Matthew B. Jonesjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Kareivapkareiva@tnc.orgUniversity of Washington
Dawn Kaufmandkaufman@ksu.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Brian KellerEcological Society of America
Melissa Kellylis@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bruce E. Kendallkendall@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joel G. Kingsolverjgking@bio.unc.eduUniversity of Washington
Ann P. Kinzigkinzig@asu.eduPrinceton University
Ron Kneibrtkneib@uga.cc.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Gretchen LeBuhnlebuhn@sfsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Donald Leopolddendro@mailbox.syr.eduState University of New York (SUNY)
Simon A. Levinsimon@eno.princeton.eduPrinceton University
Jianguo Liujliu@perm3.fw.msu.eduMichigan State University
Jane Lubchencojane.lubchenco@noaa.govOregon State University
Diane Marshallmarshall@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Neo Martinezneo@peacelab.netRomberg Tiburon Center
Samuel McNaughtonsjmcnaug@mailbox.syr.eduSyracuse University
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Judy Meyerjlmeyer@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bruce T. Milnebmilne@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Max A. Moritzmmoritz@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
William F. Morriswfmorris@duke.eduDuke University
Patrice A. Morrowmorrow@biosci.cbs.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
William W. Murdochmurdoch@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert J. Naimannaiman@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Roger M. Nisbetroger.nisbet@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Barry R. Noonbrnoon@cnr.colostate.eduColorado State University
Gordon Oriansorians@zoology.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Richard S. Ostfeldrostfeld@ecostudies.orgUniversity of California, Berkeley
Margaret A. Palmermpalmer@sesync.orgUniversity of Maryland
Mike Palmercarex@okstate.eduOklahoma State University
Camille Parmesanparmesan@mail.utexas.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John Pastorjpastor@sage.nrri.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Charles H. Petersoncpeters@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina
Garry Petersongarry.peterson@mcgill.caUniversity of Florida
Steward T. Pickettpicketts@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Louis F. Pitelkapitelka@al.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Gary A. PolisVanderbilt University
Alison G. Poweragp4@cornell.eduCornell University
Mary E. Powermepower@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Ronald H. Pulliampulliam2@uga.eduUS Department of the Interior
Mark Raushermdr@mendel.zoo.duke.eduDuke University
O. J. Reichmanojreichman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Chantal Reidchantal_reid@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
William Robertsonwr@mellon.orgAndrew W. Mellon Foundation
Michael L. Rosenzweigscarab@u.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Robin Rossrobin@icess.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stephen Rothsteinrothstei@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joan Roughgardenjoan.roughgarden@hawaii.eduStanford University
Gareth J. Russellrussell@njit.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Osvaldo E. Salaosvaldo_sala@brown.eduUniversidad de Buenos Aires
Orlando Sarnellesarnelle@msu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joshua P. Schimelschimel@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel E. Schindlerdeschind@u.washington.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Tom Schoenerbashaneyfelt@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Sebastian Schreibersschreib@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Timothy Seastedttimothy.seastedt@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado
Gaius R. Shavergshaver@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Robin Sherwoodsherwood@sas.upenn.eduUniversity of Pennsylvania
John Silanderjohn.silander@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Thomas D. SiskThomas.Sisk@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Craig Smithcsmith@soest.hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Stanley D. Smithssmith@ccmail.nevada.eduArizona State University
Patricia Sorannosoranno@msu.eduMichigan State University
Victoria L. Sorkvlsork@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Thomas Spiesspiest@ccmail.orst.eduForestry Sciences Laboratory
Thomas Stohlgrenstohlgrent@usgs.govColorado State University
Linda Stormstorm.linda@epamail.epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Donald R. Strongdrstrong@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Paul Suttonsutton@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Taylorrtaylor@imax.biogeog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jim ThorneUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Amy Treonisamy@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Midori Tudamtuda@tansei.cc.u-tokyo.ac.jpUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Turchinpeter.turchin@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Monica G. Turnerturnermg@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Dean Urbandeanu@duke.eduDuke University
Frederic H. Wagnerfwagner@cc.usu.eduUtah State University
Brian Walkerbrian.walker@dwe.csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Marilyn D. WalkerUniversity of Colorado
Linda L. Wallacelwallace@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Mike Weintraubweintrau@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Dick Wiegertwiegert@zookeeper.zoo.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Kimberly Withkwith@bgnet.bgsu.eduBowling Green State University
Ho Jung Yooyoo@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Yaron ZivUniversity of Arizona

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Chapter Burke, Ingrid C.; Lauenroth, William; Wessman, Carol A. 1998. Progress in understanding biogeochemical cycles at regional to global scales. Edited by Pace, Michael; Groffman, Peter. Successes, limitations and frontiers in ecosystem science. Springer-Verlag. New York. Pages 165-194.
Report or White Paper Carpenter, Stephen R. 1996. Program for .
Journal Article Essington, Timothy E.; Carpenter, Stephen R. 2000. Nutrient cycling in lakes and streams: Insights from a comparative analysis. Ecosystems. Vol: 3(2). Pages 131-143.
"Synthesis in Ecology: Applications, opportunities and challenges" is project ID: 2284