The Role of Dispersal in the Holocene Expansion of Trees

Principal Investigators:

James S. Clark

We propose a workshop to integrate new, interdisciplinary data sets and models to better understand how dispersal influences tree population responses to rapid environmental change. Recent developments include spatio-temporal data sets on past tree abundances, population models that include variable kurtosis, and parameter estimates of seed production and dispersal. Our workshop would be anticipated by exchange of parameter estimates and data sets for modeling efforts that would be discussed, critiqued, and synthesized at the workshop.... more

collapse

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop1st—3rd July 1996Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

James S. Clarkjimclark@duke.eduDuke University
Chris Fastiefastie@ccit.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
George Hurttgeorge.hurtt@unh.eduPrinceton University
Stephen Jacksonjackson@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
W. Carter Johnsonjohnson@mg.sdstate.eduSouth Dakota State University
George Kinggeorge@mail.cor.epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Mark A. Lewismlewis@math.ualberta.caUniversity of Utah
Stephen W. Pacalapacala@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Colin Iain Prenticecolin@planteco.lu.seUnknown
Gene SchuppACHHUPP@cc.usu.eduUtah State University
Thompson III WebbThompson_Webb_III@brown.eduBrown University
Pete WyckoffDuke University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Clark, James S.; Fastie, Chris; Hurtt, George; Jackson, Stephen; Johnson, W. Carter; King, George; Lewis, Mark A.; Lynch, Jason; Pacala, Stephen W.; Prentice, Colin Iain; Schupp, Gene; Webb, Thompson III; Wyckoff, Pete. 1998. Reid's Paradox of rapid plant migration: Dispersal theory and interpretation of paleoecological records. BioScience. Vol: 48(1). Pages 13-24.
"The Role of Dispersal in the Holocene Expansion of Trees" is project ID: 2293