A multidisciplinary analysis of alternative farmland-retirement strategies for restoring San Joaquin Valley ecosystems

Principal Investigators:

Katherine Ralls, Christopher Amrhein, Frank W. Davis, and Richard B. Howarth

In a world increasingly concerned about declining biological diversity, the emerging consensus is that ecosystem management--the integration of biological, physical and social sciences in large scale land-use planning--must be the dominant paradigm for effective conservation efforts. Our team of biologists, economists, modelers, and soil scientists will contribute to this developing paradigm by considering a major ecological problem: the restoration of severely degraded ecosystems. The land use changes necessary for ecosystem restoration are unlikely... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th February—2nd March 1997Participant List  
Working Group28th—29th May 1997Participant List  
Sabbatical Fellow1st November 1998—31st January 1999Participant List  
Working Group5th—6th November 1998Participant List  
Working Group25th—26th January 1999Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Patrick A. Kellypatrickk@zimmer.csufresno.eduEndangered Species Recovery Program
Craig NicolsonCraig.R.Nicolson-1@tc.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Katherine Rallsrallsk@thegrid.netSmithsonian Institution
Anthony Starfieldstarf001@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Daniel WilliamsCalifornia State University, Stanislaus
Christopher AmrheinUniversity of California, Riverside
Markus Flurymarkus@dustside.ucr.eduUniversity of California, Riverside
Brent Haddadbhaddad@.ucsc.eduUnknown
Richard B. Howarthrbhowarth@dartmouth.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
John LeteyUniversity of California, Riverside
Douglas D. Parkerparker@are.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Wesley W. Wallenderwwwallender@ucdavis.eduUtah State University
David Zilbermanzilberman@are.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Robert G. Haightrhaight@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Brian L. Cyphercypher@lightspeed.netEndangered Species Recovery Program
Hugh P. Possinghamh.possingham@uq.edu.auUniversity of Adelaide, Roseworthy
Linda Spiegellspiegel@energy.state.CA.USUnknown
P. J. WhiteUS Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Haight, Robert G.; Cypher, Brian L.; Kelly, Patrick A.; Phillips, Scott; Possingham, Hugh P.; Ralls, Katherine; Starfield, Anthony; White, P. J.; Williams, Daniel. 2002. Optimizing habitat protection using demographic models of population viability. Conservation Biology. Vol: 16(5). Pages 1386-1397. (Abstract)
Journal Article Haight, Robert G.; Cypher, Brian L.; Kelly, Patrick A.; Phillips, Scott; Ralls, Katherine; Possingham, Hugh P. 2004. Optimizing reserve expansion for disjunct populations of San Joaquin kit fox. Biological Conservation. Vol: 117(1). Pages 61-72.
Report or White Paper Starfield, Anthony. 1999. Report on sabbatical of Anthony Starfield, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior at the University of Minnesota. (Online version)
"A multidisciplinary analysis of alternative farmland-retirement strategies for restoring San Joaquin Valley ecosystems" is project ID: 2304