A new synthesis of demography and dispersal

Principal Investigators:

Hal Caswell, and Michael G. Neubert

Our understanding of demography has improved tremendously over the past 50 years. So has our understanding of dispersal and its erects. However, our understanding of how demography and dispersal interact to determine spatiotemporal population dynamics is relatively poor. Recent theoretical advances provide tools that can bridge this gap, but because demographic and dispersal data are rarely presented together, they have yet to be applied. We propose to remedy this by forming a working group of empirical ecologists who have (or might obtain) both... more

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group17th—24th January 2001Participant List  
Working Group1st—8th September 2001Participant List  
Working Group9th—16th May 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

James M. Bullockjmbul@ceh.ac.ukInstitute of Terrestrial Ecology, Furzebrook Research Station
Hal Caswellhcaswell@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
James S. Clarkjimclark@duke.eduDuke University
Claudio DiBaccocdibacco@whoi.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Joseph Elkintonelkinton@ent.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
Gordon A. Foxgfox@chuma1.cas.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Janneke Hille Ris Lambersjhrl@u.washington.eduDuke University
Carol C. Horvitzcarolhorvitz@miami.eduUniversity of Miami
Mark Kotkot@amath.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Rob Lensinkrlensink@novi.netUnknown
Lisa A. Levinllevin@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Mark A. Lewismlewis@math.ualberta.caUniversity of Utah
Michael G. Neubertmneubert@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ingrid M. Parkerparker@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
William J. Plattbtplat@unix1.sncc.lsu.eduLouisiana State University
Katriona SheaPennsylvania State University
Mary C. Townermary.towner@okstate.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Frank van den Boschfrank.vandenbosch@bbsrc.ac.ukWageningen Agricultural University
Brian Beckagebrian.beckage@uvm.edu
Susan Kaliszkalisz@pitt.edu

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Bullock, James M.; Pywell, Richard F.; Coulson-Phillips, Sarah J. 2008. Managing plant population spread: Prediction and analysis using a simple model. Ecological Applications. Vol: 18(4). Pages 945–953.
Journal Article Caswell, Hal; Lensink, Rob; Neubert, Michael G. 2003. Demography and dispersal: Life table response experiments for invasion speed. Ecology. Vol: 84. Pages 1968-1978.
Journal Article Horvitz, Carol C.; Koop, A. L.; Erickson, Kelley. 2015. Time-invariant and stochastic disperser-structured matrix models: Invasion rates of fleshy-fruited exotic shrub. Discrete and Continuous Dynamical Systems-Series B. Vol: 20(6). Pages 1639-1662.
Journal Article Le Corff, Josiane; Horvitz, Carol C. 2005. Population growth versus population spread of an ant-dispersed neotropical herb with a mixed reproductive strategy. Ecological Modelling. Vol: 188(1). Pages 41-51.
"A new synthesis of demography and dispersal" is project ID: 3040