Global change impacts on landscape fires

Principal Investigators:

Michael Flannigan, and Sandra Lavorel

A major problem in projecting ecological change and understanding its mechanisms is the lack of non-equilibrium dynamics in ecological models. The inclusion of disturbance, especially fire is essential for dynamic vegetation models to simulate transient changes in vegetation composition and structure. Understanding landscape dynamics in relation to fire, and how these dynamics may be altered by climate and land use changes is a priority. The development of fire-vegetation models at landscape scales is a crucial gap in land management. Additionally,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group30th October—3rd November 2000Participant List  
Working Group12th—16th November 2001Participant List  
Working Group30th January—2nd February 2003Participant List  
Working Group19th—23rd January 2004Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Geoff Carygeoffrey.cary@anu.edu.auAustralian National University
Ian Daviesdavies@rsbs.anu.edu.auAustralian National University
Andrew Fallfall@cs.sfu.caSimon Fraser University
Michael Flanniganmike.flannigan@ualberta.caCanadian Forest Service
Robert H. Gardnergardner@al.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Robert Keanerkeane@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Sandra Lavorelsandra.lavorel@ujf-grenoble.frCentre d'Ecologie Fonctionnelle et Evolutive-Centre national de la recherche scientifique CEFE-CNRS
Jim Lenihanlenihan@fsl.orst.eduUnknown
Chao Licli@nrcan.gc.caCanadian Forest Service
Florent Mouillotflorent@jasper.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Scott Ruppsrupp@merlin.salrm.uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Michael Wottonmwotton@nrcan.gc.caCanadian Forest Service
William A. Hoffmannhoffmann@unb.brUniversidade de Brasília
C. J. FotheringhamUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Jon Keeleyjon_keeley@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Cary, Geoff; Keane, Robert; Gardner, Robert H.; Lavorel, Sandra; Flannigan, Michael; Davies, Ian; Li, Chao; Lenihan, Jim; Rupp, Scott; Mouillot, Florent. 2003. Comparison of the sensitivity of landscape-fire-succession models to terrain, fuel pattern, climate and weather. World Congress, 13-17 July 2003. International Association of Landscape Ecology. Darwin, Australia.
Journal Article Cary, Geoff; Keane, Robert; Gardner, Robert H.; Lavorel, Sandra; Flannigan, Michael; Davies, Ian; Li, Chao; Lenihan, Jim; Rupp, Scott; Mouillot, Florent. 2006. Comparison of the sensitivity of landscape-fire-succession models to variation in terrain, fuel pattern, climate and weather. Landscape Ecology. Vol: 21. Pages 121-137.
Presentations Flannigan, Michael. 2001. Climate change, forest fires and carbon in northern forests. American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting, 10 December 2001. San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Flannigan, Michael. 2002. Climate change and fire: Where we are going. 4th Annual International Forest Fire Research Conference. Luso, Portugal.
Data Set Gollberg, Greg. 2008. FRAME Fire Research and Management Exchange System. (Online version)
Presentations Keane, Robert; Cary, Geoff; Davies, Ian; Flannigan, Michael; Gardner, Robert H.; Lavorel, Sandra; Lenihan, Jim; Li, Chao; Rupp, Scott. 2003. A classification of landscape fire succession models. World Congress, 13-17 July 2003. International Association of Landscape Ecology. Darwin, Australia.
Journal Article Keane, Robert; Cary, Geoff; Parsons, Russell. 2003. Using simulation to map fire regimes: An evaluation of approaches, strategies, and limitations. International Journal of Wildland Fire. Vol: 12(4). Pages 309-322.
Journal Article Keane, Robert; Cary, Geoff; Davies, Ian; Flannigan, Michael; Gardner, Robert H.; Lavorel, Sandra; Lenihan, Jim; Li, Chao; Rupp, Scott. 2004. A classification of landscape fire succession models: Spatial simulations of fire and vegetation dynamics. Ecological Modelling. Vol: 179. Pages 3-27.
Book Chapter Keane, Robert; Cary, Geoff; Davies, Ian; Flannigan, Michael; Gardner, Robert H.; Lavorel, Sandra; Lenihan, Jim. 2007. Understanding global fire dynamics by classifying and comparing spatial models of vegetation dynamics. Terrestrial Ecosystems in a Changing World. Springer Berlin Heidelberg. Pages 139-148.
Journal Article Keane, Robert; Cary, Geoff; Flannigan, Michael; Parsons, Russell; Davies, Ian; King, Karen J.; Li, Chao; Bradstock, Ross A.; Gill, Malcolm. 2013. Exploring the role of fire, succession, climate, and weather on landscape dynamics using comparative modeling. Ecological Modelling. Vol: 266. Pages 172-186.
"Global change impacts on landscape fires" is project ID: 3101