Life-history variation and community structure in neotropical rainforest communities: Ecological and phylogenetic influences

Principal Investigators:

Susan J. Mazer, David D. Ackerly, Miguel Martinez-Ramos, and Horacio Paz

Several key questions in evolution and ecology may be answered by the analysis of comparative data sets in which information on the demography, life history, and relative abundance of large numbers of species is jointly analyzed. For example, the detection of strong associations between habitat, soil quality, seed mass, life form, dispersal mode, and other life history traits has shed light on the selective forces (e.g., light availability and disturbance) that influence the evolution of these attributes within and among taxa.

Virtually all... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group30th April—4th May 2001Participant List  
Working Group2nd—6th December 2001Participant List  
Working Group6th—11th December 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

David D. Ackerlydackerly@berkeley.eduStanford University
Richard Conditconditr@gmail.comUnknown
Joseph H. Connellconnell@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter J. GrubbUniversity of Cambridge
Kyle E. Harmskharms@lsu.eduCornell University
Guillermo Ibarra-Manríquezgibarra@oikos.unam.mxInstituto de Ecología, UNAM
Miguel Martinez-Ramosmiguel.martinez@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Susan J. Mazermazer@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Horacio Pazhpaz@cieco.unam.mxUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nigel C. Pitmanncp@duke.eduDuke University
Miles R. Silmansilmanmr@wfu.eduWake Forest University
Corine Vriesendorpcvriesendorp@fieldmuseum.orgUnknown
Campbell O. Webbcwebb@oeb.harvard.eduYale University
Mark Westobymwestoby@rna.bio.mq.edu.auMacquarie University
S. Joseph Wrightwrightj@si.eduSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Clementine Gimaret-Carpentiergimaret@yahoo.comEcole Normale Superieure de Lyon
Helene C. Muller-Landauhmuller@umn.eduPrinceton University
John Terborghmanu@acpub.duke.eduDuke University
Ian J. Wrightiwright@rna.bio.mq.edu.auMacquarie University
Angela T. Molesa.moles@unsw.edu.auUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lourens Poorterlourens.poorter@wur.nlWageningen University, Bosecologie en Bosbeheer

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Ackerly, David D.; Webb, Campbell O.; Wright, Ian J. 2004. Phylogenetic ecology of tropical trees: the distribution of functional diversity. Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation Annual Meeting. Miami .
Journal Article Cornwell, William K.; Westoby, Mark; Falster, Daniel S.; FitzJohn, Richard G.; O'Meara, Brian; Pennell, Matt W.; McGlinn, Daniel; Eastman, John; Moles, Angela T.; Reich, Peter B.; Tank, David C.; Wright, Ian J.; Aarssen, Lonnie W.; Beaulieu, Jeremy; Kooyman, Robert M.; Leishman, Michelle R.; Miller, Eliot T.; Niinemets, Ülo; Oleksyn, Jacek; Ordonez, Alejandro; Royer, Dana L.; Smith, Stephen; Stevens, Peter; Warman, Laura; Wilf, Peter; Zanne, Amy E. 2014. Functional distinctiveness of major plant lineages. Journal of Ecology. Vol: 102. Pages 345-356.
Journal Article Ordonez, Alejandro; Wright, Ian J.; Olff, Han. 2010. Functional differences between native and alien species: A global-scale comparison. Functional Ecology. Vol: 24. Pages 1353-1361. (Online version)
Journal Article Ordonez, Alejandro. 2014. Functional and phylogenetic similarity of alien plants to co-occurring natives. Ecology. Vol: 95(5). Pages 1191-1202.
Journal Article Poorter, Lourens; Wright, S. Joseph; Paz, Horacio; Ackerly, David D.; Condit, Richard; Ibarra-Manríquez, Guillermo; Harms, Kyle E.; Licona, J.C.; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Mazer, Susan J.; Muller-Landau, Helene C.; Peña-Claros, M.; Webb, Campbell O.; Wright, Ian J. 2008. Are functional traits good predictors of demographic rates? Evidence from five Neotropical forests. Ecology. Vol: 89. Pages 1908-1920.
Journal Article Wright, Ian J.; Ackerly, David D.; Bongers, Frans; Harms, Kyle E.; Ibarra-Manríquez, Guillermo; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Mazer, Susan J.; Muller-Landau, Helene C.; Paz, Horacio; Pitman, Nigel C.; Poorter, Lourens; Silman, Miles R.; Vriesendorp, Corine; Webb, Campbell O.; Webstoby, Mark; Wright, S. Joseph. 2007. Relationships among ecologically important dimensions of plant trait variation in seven neotropical forests. Annals of Botany. Vol: 99. Pages 1003–1015.
Journal Article Wright, Ian J.; Ackerly, David D.; Bongers, Frans; Harms, Kyle E.; Ibarra-Manríquez, Guillermo; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Mazer, Susan J.; Muller-Landau, Helene C.; Paz, Horacio; Pitman, Nigel C.; Poorter, Lourens; Silman, Miles R.; Vriesendorp, Corine; Webb, Campbell O.; Westoby, Mark; Wright, S. Joseph. 2007. Relationships among key dimensions of plant trait variation in seven Neotropical forests. Annals of Botany . Vol: 99. Pages 1003-1015.
"Life-history variation and community structure in neotropical rainforest communities: Ecological and phylogenetic influences" is project ID: 3300