Arctic Hydrology (Hosted by NCEAS)

Principal Investigators:

Charles J. Vorosmarty

Although there is widespread recognition that Arctic hydrology is sensitive to global warming, understanding the basic mechanisms that control the terrestrial water cycle is still a critical research need. Several NSF Arctic System Science (ARCSS) fora have identified Arctic hydrology and its feedbacks to the Earth System as a high-priority area for advancing the integration of NSF-sponsored high latitude research. With ARCSS support, the NCEAS will convene an Arctic Hydrology Workshop to help catalyze water cycle studies of the overall ARCSS program... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting18th—20th September 2000Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Carl Boggildceb@geus.dkUnknown
David BromwichOhio State University
David Brooksdbrooks@ocean.tamu.eduTexas A and M University
F. Stuart Chapinfschapiniii@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
John Christensenjchriste@nsf.govNational Science Foundation
Andrew Fountainfountaina@pdx.eduPortland State University
Steve Frolkingsteve.frolking@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Barry Goodisonbarry.goodison@ec.gc.caEnvironment Canada
Pavel Groismanpgroisma@ncdc.noaa.govUniversity of Massachusetts
William Gutowskigutowski@iastate.eduIowa State University
Larry Hamiltonlawrence.hamilton@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Larry Hinzmanffldh@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Doug Kaneffdlk@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Yuji Kodamaffyk@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Richard Lammersrichard.lammers@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Dennis P. Lettenmaierdennisl@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Glen E. Listonliston@iceberg.atmos.colostate.eduColorado State University
Wieslaw Maslowskimaslowsk@ucar.eduNaval Postgraduate School
John McNamarajohn.McNamara@Bristol.ac.akBoise State University
Jamie Morisonmorison@apl.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Frederick Nelsonfnelson@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware
Bruce Petersonpeterson@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Terry Prowseterry.prowse@ec.gc.caNational Water Research Institute
Alan Robockrobock@envsci.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Vladimir Romanovskyffver@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Mark Serrezeserreze@coriolis.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Michael Steelemas@apl.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Marc Stieglitzmarc@ldeo.columbia.eduColumbia University
Matthew Sturmmsturm@crrel.usace.army.milUS Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
James Syvitskijames.syvitski@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Charles J. Vorosmartycharles.vorosmarty@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Valery Vuglinskyvvuglins@vv4218.spb.eduState Hydrological Institute
Robert Webbrwebb@cdc.noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Cort Willmottwillmott@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Report or White Paper Vorosmarty, Charles J.; Hinzman, Larry; Peterson, Bruce; Bromwich, David; Hamilton, Larry; Morison, Jamie; Romanovsky, Vladimir; Sturm, Matthew; Webb, Robert. 2001. The hydrologic cycle and its role in Arctic and global environmental change: A rationale and strategy for synthesis study. A Report from the Scientific Community to the National Science Foundation Arctic System Science Program. Arctic Research Consortium. Fairbanks, Alaska. Pages 84.
"Arctic Hydrology (Hosted by NCEAS)" is project ID: 3340