Macro-ecology and biogeography: Hierarchical (Bayesian) model development using data from South Africa

Principal Investigators:

John Silander, Richard M. Cowling, Alan E. Gelfand, and Anthony G. Rebelo

We propose a Working Group that will focus on developing hierarchical (Bayesian) statistical models to explain joint spatial patterns in plant species distributions (and thus diversity), using unique datasets from South Africa. The statistical models will: be individual species-based, be spatially explicit, utilize individual species attributes (including phylogenetic information), and include various explicit sources of environmental heterogeneity. The models will be hierarchical in attempting to explain joint patterns of species distributions,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—16th May 2001Participant List  
Working Group6th—11th December 2001Participant List  
Working Group5th—9th December 2002Participant List  
Working Group7th—11th December 2003Participant List  
Working Group1st—5th December 2004Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Richard M. Cowlingrmc@kingsley.co.zaUniversity of Port Elizabeth
Alan E. Gelfandalan@stat.duke.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Andrew Latimeramlatimer@ucdavis.eduUnknown
Henri Lauriehenri@pc001a.mth.uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
Amanda T. Lombardgemsbok@mweb.co.zaConservation Systems
John Mickelsonjmickels@ciesin.columbia.eduColumbia University
Anthony G. Rebelorebelo@sanbi.orgNational Botanical Institute, Kirstenbosch
Alexandra M. Schmidtalex@im.ufrj.brUniversity of Sheffield
John Silanderjohn.silander@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Paul Lewispaul.lewis@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Gail Reevesreeves@nbict.nbi.ac.za
Walter SmitSmit@nbict.nbi.ac.za
Shanshan Wushanshan@stat.uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Jarrett Barberjarrett@stat.duke.eduDuke University
Mark Holdermholder@csit.fsu.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Kent Holsingerkent@darwin.eeb.uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Guy F. Midgleygfmidgley@sun.ac.zaNational Botanical Institute, Kirstenbosch
Gabriele Hegerlhegerl@duke.eduDuke University
Bruce Hewitsonhewitson@egs.uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
Mark Tadrossmtadross@egs.uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
Dawn Banarddawn@stat.duke.eduDuke University
Rachel Prunierrachel.prunier@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Gelfand, Alan E.; Silander, John; Wu, Shanshan; Latimer, Andrew; Lewis, Paul; Rebelo, Anthony G.; Holder, Mark. 2003. Explaining species distribution patterns through hierarchical modeling. Bayesian Analysis. Vol: 1(1). Pages 1-35.
Presentations Gelfand, Alan E.; Silander, John; Wu, Shanshan; Latimer, Andrew; Lewis, Paul; Rebelo, Anthony G.; Holder, Mark. 2003. Explaining species distribution patterns through hierarchical modelling. Invited presentation, Case Studies in Bayesian Statistics, 12-13 September 2003. Carnegie Mellon University. Pittsburgh, PA.
Journal Article Gelfand, Alan E.; Schmidt, Alexandra M.; Wu, Shanshan; Silander, John; Latimer, Andrew; Rebelo, Anthony G. 2005. Modelling species diversity through species level hierarchical modelling. Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series C-Applied Statistics. Vol: 54(1). Pages 1-20.
Journal Article Latimer, Andrew; Wu, Shanshan; Gelfand, Alan E.; Silander, John. 2006. Building statistical models to analyze species distributions. Ecological Applications. Vol: 16(1). Pages 33-50.
Journal Article Laurie, Henri; Silander, John. 2002. Geometric constraints and spatial pattern of species richness: Critique of range-based null models. Diversity and Distributions. Vol: 8. Pages 351-364.
Presentations Schmidt, Alexandra M.; Wu, Shanshan; Gelfand, Alan E.; Silander, John; Latimer, Andrew; Rebelo, Anthony G. 2002. Explaining species diversity through species level hierarchical modeling. Poster Presentation 7th Bayesian Valencia Meeting, June 2002. Tenerife, Spain.
Presentations Silander, John; Schmidt, Alexandra M.; Latimer, Andrew; Wu, Shanshan; Gelfand, Alan E.; Rebelo, Anthony G.; Cowling, Richard M. 2002. Spatial patterns of species richness and geographic ranges in Africian Proteaceae: Bayesian hierarchical models. 87th meeting of the Ecological Society of America, 4-9 August 2002. Tucson, AZ.
Presentations Silander, John; Schmidt, Alexandra M.; Latimer, Andrew; Wu, Shanshan; Gelfand, Alan E.; Rebelo, Anthony G.; Cowling, Richard M. 2003. Spatial patterns of species richness and geographic ranges in African Proteaceae: Bayesian hierarchical models. Inaugural Meeting of the International Biogeography Society, 4-8 January 2003. Mesquite, NV.
Journal Article Thuiller, Wilfried; Lavorel, Sandra; Midgley, Guy F.; Lavergne, Sébastien; Rebelo, Anthony G. 2004. Relating plant traits and species distributions along bioclimatic gradients for 88 Leucadendron taxa. Ecology. Vol: 85(6). Pages 1688-1699.
"Macro-ecology and biogeography: Hierarchical (Bayesian) model development using data from South Africa" is project ID: 3640