Facilitation and competition on alpine elevation gradients: A global experiment on the organization of plant communities

Principal Investigators:

Ragan Callaway, Robin Brooker, Christopher J. Lortie, and Richard Michalet

We propose to organize three meetings, each 7-10 days, in order to analyze data and develop conceptual, empirical, and mathematical models with a working group that has been loosely organized and conducting experiments on interactions in alpine plant communities around the world. Results from one of the nine sites for which data have been collected, the French Alps, and other preliminary analyses indicate that interactions shift from highly competitive in low elevation alpine meadows to highly facilitative in communities ¿l1000m higher and near... more

Participants and Meetings


Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group18th—25th February 2001Participant List  
Working Group6th—20th May 2002Participant List  
Working Group27th May—2nd June 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Robin Brookerrob.brooker@hutton.ac.ukCentre for Ecology and Hydrology
Ragan Callawayray.callaway@mso.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Philippe Cholerphilippe.choler@ujf-grenoble.frUniversité J. Fourier, Grenoble I
Zaal Kikvidzezaal@science.s.chiba-u.ac.jpChiba University
Christopher J. Lortiechris@christopherlortie.infoUniversity of British Columbia
Richard Michaletr.michalet@ecologie.u-bordeaux1.frLaboratoire Ecosystemes et Changements Environmentaux
Beth Newinghamhopper@selway.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Leo Paolinileo_paolini@softhome.netLaboratorio de Investigaciones Ecológicas los Yungas de Argentina (LIEY)
Francisco Pugnairefip@eeza.csic.esConsejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)
Will G. Wilsonwgw@duke.eduDuke University
Cristina Armascris@eeza.csic.esConsejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)
Eric L. Berlowericberlow@gmail.comUniversity of California, San Diego
William D. Bowmanbowman@spot.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado
Lohengrin Caviereslcaviere@udec.clUniversidad de Concepción
Sally Hackerhackers@science.oregonstate.eduWashington State University
Molly Smithmsmith@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Alfonso Valiente-Banuetavali@servidor.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Brooker, Robin; Kikvidze, Zaal; Pugnaire, Francisco; Callaway, Ragan; Choler, Philippe; Lortie, Christopher J.; Michalet, Richard. 2005. The importance of importance. Oikos. Vol: 109. Pages 63-70.
Presentations Callaway, Ragan. 2001. Positive plant interactions and environmental severity: Evidence from a global experiment. British Ecological Society Winter Meeting, December 2001. Warwick.
Journal Article Callaway, Ragan; Brooker, Robin; Choler, Philippe; Kikvidze, Zaal; Lortie, Christopher J.; Michalet, Richard; Paolini, Leo; Pugnaire, Francisco; Newingham, Beth; Aschehoug, Erik T.; Armas, Cristina; Kikodze, David; Cook, Brad J. 2002. Positive interactions among alpine plants increase with stress. Nature. Vol: 417. Pages 844-848.
Journal Article Callaway, Ragan; Kikodze, David; Chiboshvili, M.; Khetsuriani, L. 2005. Unpalatable plants protect neighbors from grazing and increase plant community diversity. Ecology. Vol: 86(7). Pages 1856-1862.
Journal Article Kikvidze, Zaal. 2002. Facilitation and competition in alpine plant communities. Global Environmental Research. Vol: 6(1). Pages 53-58.
Journal Article Kikvidze, Zaal; Pugnaire, Francisco; Brooker, Robin; Choler, Philippe; Lortie, Christopher J.; Michalet, Richard; Callaway, Ragan. 2005. Linking patterns and processes in alpine plant communities: A global study. Ecology. Vol: 86(6). Pages 1395-1400.
Journal Article Kikvidze, Zaal; Michalet, Richard; Brooker, Robin; Cavieres, Lohengrin; Lortie, Christopher J.; Pugnaire, Francisco; Callaway, Ragan. 2011. Climatic drivers of plant-plant interactions and diversity in alpine communities. Alpine Botany. Vol: 121(1). Pages 63-70. (Online version)
Journal Article Lortie, Christopher J.; Brooker, Robin; Choler, Philippe; Kikvidze, Zaal; Michalet, Richard; Pugnaire, Francisco; Callaway, Ragan. 2004. Rethinking plant community theory. Oikos. Vol: 107. Pages 433-438.
Journal Article Lortie, Christopher J.; Brooker, Robin; Kikvidze, Zaal; Callaway, Ragan. 2004. The value of stress and limitation in an imperfect world: A reply to Korner. Journal of Vegetation Science. Vol: 15. Pages 577-580.
Book Chapter Lortie, Christopher J. 2010. Synthetic analysis of the stress-gradient hypothesis. Edited by Pugniare, Francisco I. Positive Plant Interactions and Community Dynamics. CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group LLC. Pages 125-148.
Journal Article Michalet, Richard; Brooker, Robin; Cavieres, Lohengrin; Kikvidze, Zaal; Lortie, Christopher J.; Pugnaire, Francisco; Valiente-Banuet, Alfonso; Callaway, Ragan. 2006. Do biotic interactions shape both sides of the humped-back model of species richness in plant communities?. Ecology Letters. Vol: 9. Pages 767-773.
"Facilitation and competition on alpine elevation gradients: A global experiment on the organization of plant communities" is project ID: 3840