Progressive nitrogen limitation of plant and ecosystem responses to elevated CO2

Principal Investigators:

Yiqi Luo, and Christopher B. Field

This working group will address the issue: why don't most field experimental results support model predictions that progressive ecosystem nitrogen (N) limitation leads to downregulation of primary production in elevated CO2? Ecosystem models that link nutrient cycling with plant production generally predict long-term photosynthetic downregulation and reduced stimulation in plant production caused by progressive N constraints in elevated CO2. The conceptual model is that increased carbon (C) influx under elevated CO2 will immobilize more N... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—13th May 2001Participant List  
Working Group18th—21st June 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Gregory P. Asnergpa@carnegiescience.eduUniversity of Colorado
William S. Curriewcurrie@umich.eduUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Adrien Finziafinzi@bu.eduBoston University
Ueli Hartwighartwig@uni-hohenheim.deInstitute of Plant Sciences
Bruce A. Hungatebruce.hungate@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Yiqi Luoyluo@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Ross McMurtrier.mcmurtrie@unsw.edu.auUniversity of New South Wales
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Diane Patakidpataki@uci.eduUniversity of Utah
Lianhai Wulwu@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Donald R. Zakdrzak@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Aihua Bianaihua@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Jeffrey S. Dukesjsdukes@purdue.eduCarnegie Institution
Ilkka Leinonenleinonen@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Belinda E. Medlynbmedlyn@bio.mq.edu.auUniversity of New South Wales
Ram Orenramoren@duke.eduDuke University
M. Rebecca Shawrshaw@edf.orgStanford University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Hungate, Bruce A.; Dukes, Jeffrey S.; Shaw, M. Rebecca; Luo, Yiqi; Field, Christopher B. 2003. Nitrogen and climate change. Science. Vol: 302. Pages 1512-1513.
Presentations Luo, Yiqi. 2003. Progressive nitrogen limitation of plant and ecosystem responses to rising atmospheric CO2 concentration. 6th Meeting of North America Carbon Plan Science Steering Group. Washington, D.C..
Journal Article Luo, Yiqi; Su, Bo; Currie, William S.; Dukes, Jeffrey S.; Finzi, Adrien; Hartwig, Ueli; Hungate, Bruce A.; McMurtrie, Ross; Oren, Ram; Parton, William J.; Pataki, Diane; Shaw, M. Rebecca; Zak, Donald R.; Field, Christopher B. 2004. Progressive nitrogen limitation of ecosystem responses to rising atmospheric carbon dioxide. BioScience. Vol: 54(8). Pages 731-739.
Journal Article Luo, Yiqi; Hui, Dafeng; Zhang, Deqiang. 2006. Elevated CO2 stimulates net accumulations of carbon and nitrogen in land ecosystems: A meta-analysis. Ecology. Vol: 87(1). Pages 53-63.
Data Set Luo, Yiqi; Zhang, Deqiang; Hui, Dafeng. 2006. Elevated CO2 stimulates net accumulations of carbon and nitrogen in land ecosystems: a meta-analysis database. (Online version)
"Progressive nitrogen limitation of plant and ecosystem responses to elevated CO2" is project ID: 3880