Review of Forest Service Viability Assessment Processes

Principal Investigators:

Sandy J. Andelman

The regulations implementing the National Forest Management Act (NFMA) direct the National Forests to provide habitat that will support viable populations of native and desired non-native vertebrate species well-distributed across National Forest lands. A proposed revision of these regulations would extend this requirement to additional species in the plant and animal kingdoms, but provide for significant qualifications in the way the requirement is applied to many species in recognition of the natural history and existing condition of those species... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group7th—10th December 2000Participant List  
Graduate Student1st January—30th June 2001Participant List  
Working Group23rd—24th February 2001Participant List  
Working Group27th—28th April 2001Participant List  
Working Group31st—31st May 2001Participant List  
Graduate Student1st January—31st March 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steve Beissingerbeis@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Jean F. Cochranejcochrane@boreal.orgUS Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Peggy L. FiedlerPeggy.Fiedler@ucop.eduL.C. Lee and Associates, Inc.
Leah R. Gerberleah.gerber@asu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Paola Gomez-Priegopgomez@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Craig Grovescraig_groves@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jon Hauflerjon_haufler@emri.orgEcosystem Management Research Institute
Dick Holthausenrholthausen@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Danny C. Leedclee@fs.fed.usUS Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Lynn A. Maguirelmaguire@duke.eduDuke University
Barry R. Noonbrnoon@cnr.colostate.eduColorado State University
Katherine Rallsrallsk@thegrid.netSmithsonian Institution
Helen M. Reganhelen.regan@ucr.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jerry Vernerjverner@fs.fed.usPacific Southwest Research Station

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Report or White Paper Andelman, Sandy J.; Beissinger, Steve; Cochrane, Jean F.; Gerber, Leah R.; Gomez-Priego, Paola; Groves, Craig; Haufler, Jon; Holthausen, Dick; Lee, Danny C.; Maguire, Lynn A.; Noon, Barry R.; Ralls, Katherine; Regan, Helen M. 2001. Scientific standards for conducting viability assessments under the National Forest Management Act: Report and recommendations of the NCEAS Working Group. (Online version)
Journal Article Andelman, Sandy J.; Groves, Craig; Regan, Helen M. 2004. A review of protocols for selecting species at risk in the context of US Forest Service viability assessments. Acta Oecologica-International Journal of Ecology. Vol: 26. Pages 75-83.
"Review of Forest Service Viability Assessment Processes" is project ID: 3960