Developing population models to examine mortality impacts and spatial components of sea otter demographics (Hosted by NCEAS)

Principal Investigators:

Leah R. Gerber

The Southern sea otter population has recovered from near extinction over the last 100 years. The slow recovery rate in California (5% annually) compared to Alaskan populations (17-20%), suggests that the southern population is highly vulnerable to emerging mortality problems (e.g., disease) and ecological disasters (e.g., oil spills). Over the last 3-5 years, recovery of the southern sea otter population has ceased and abundance has declined. By 1999, the population declined approximately 12% from its peak in 1995. This decline has been accompanied... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—13th February 2001Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Christine Alfanoalfa0012@tc.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Daniel F. Doakddoak@uwyo.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
James A. Estesjestes@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Leah R. Gerberleah.gerber@asu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Brian Hatfieldbrian_hatfield@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Daniel H. Monsondmonson@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Katherine Rallsrallsk@thegrid.netSmithsonian Institution, National Zoological Park
Christine Ribiccaribic@facstaff.wisc.eduUnknown
Michael D. Samuelmichael_samuel@usgs.govUnknown
M. Timothy Tinkerttinker@usgs.govUniversity of California, Santa Cruz

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Gerber, Leah R.; Buenau, K. E.; VanBlaricom, Glenn. 2004. Density dependence and risk of extinction in a small population of sea otters. Biodiversity and Conservation. Vol: 13. Pages 2741-2757.
Journal Article Gerber, Leah R.; Tinker, M. Timothy; Doak, Daniel F.; Estes, James A.; Jessup, David A. 2004. Mortality sensitivity in life-stage simulation analysis: A case study of Southern sea otters. Ecological Applications. Vol: 14(5). Pages 1554-1565.
"Developing population models to examine mortality impacts and spatial components of sea otter demographics (Hosted by NCEAS)" is project ID: 4020