California Legacy Project (Hosted by NCEAS)

Principal Investigators:

Frank W. Davis, Sandy J. Andelman, and Greg Greenwood

Systematic conservation planning is concerned with developing scientifically-guided conservation strategies over large planning areas. It requires formal measures of biodiversity, explicit conservation goals, recognition of trade-offs between biological conservation and other social goals, and explicit and repeatable procedures for producing alternative plans. The goal of this workgroup is to assist the State of California by bringing systematic conservation planning theory and methods to bear on the design and implementation of the California... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—9th February 2001Participant List  
Working Group6th—8th March 2001Participant List  
Working Group7th—9th May 2001Participant List  
Working Group11th—12th June 2001Participant List  
Working Group17th—18th July 2001Participant List  
Working Group29th—31st October 2001Participant List  
Working Group4th—6th December 2001Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Richard F. Ambroserambrose@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah E. Gergelsarah.gergel@ubc.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Madelyn J. Glickfeldmadely@resources.ca.govUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Greg GreenwoodCalifornia Resources Agency
Dennis H. GrossmanThe Nature Conservancy
Dennis MachidaCalifornia Tahoe Conservancy
Ray McDowellUnknown
David M. Stomsstoms@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Matthew CahnUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Richard L. Churchchurch@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Bill Fultonbfulton@solimar.orgSolimar Research Group
John Landisjlandis@uclink.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Mark Nechodomnechodom@home.comUSDA Forest Service
Marc Beyelermbeyeler@scc.ca.govCalifornia Coastal Conservancy
Pete Dangermondinfo@dangermond.comDangermond and Associates
Diana Hicksondhickson@dfg.ca.govCalifornia Resources Agency
Marc Hoshovskymhoshovs@dfg.ca.govCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
Helen M. Reganhelen.regan@ucr.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Kelleydbkelley@jps.netK and AES, Inc.
Jeff Louxjdloux@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis Extension
Wendy Rashwjrash@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Richard B. Standifordstandifo@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Bill StewartBILL_STEWART@fire.ca.gov
Erik Vinkevink@consrv.ca.govCalifornia Department of Conservation
Cathy Bleiercathy@resources.ca.gov
Don C. ErmanUniversity of California, Davis
Jennifer Giambattista
Roland Knapp
Mike McCoymcmccoy@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Ed Pert
Peter A. Stinepstine@fs.fed.usCalifornia State University, Sacramento
Mary A. Anglemangle@dfg.ca.govSan Gabriel and Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy
Heather Barnettheather.barnett@resources.ca.govCalifornia Resources Agency
Paul Beierpaul.beier@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Sara DenzlerUrban Streams Restoration Program
Rachel Dinno
Robert DoyleEast Bay Regional Park District
Paul EdelmanUnknown
Andrea GulloPuente Hills Landfill Native Habitat Preservation Authority
Denise Kamradtdenise_kamradt@nps.govNational Park Service
Claudia LukeSan Diego State University
Patricia McCartypmccarty@unexmail.ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Crane S. Millermillergis@aol.comCalifornia State University, Hayward
Rick RayburnUnknown
Tom Scotttomscott@citrus.ucr.eduUniversity of California, Riverside
John Woodburydrjohnw@??.netcom.com

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Greenwood, Greg. 2001. Systematic conservation planning and CCRISP, 7-9 May 2001, 11-12 June 2001, 17-18 July 2001, 29-31 October 2001, 4-6 December 2001. National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis. Santa Barbara, CA and Sacramento, CA.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2002. A framework for setting conservation regional and statewide conservation priorities. Sierra Nevada Science Symposium, October 2002. Lake Tahoe.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2002. Overview of recent trends in conservation planning. Bell Conference, July 2002. University of California Santa Barbara. Santa Barbara, CA.
Report or White Paper Davis, Frank W.; Stoms, David M.; Costello, Christopher; Machado, E. A.; Metz, Josh; Gerrard, Ross; Andelman, Sandy J.; Regan, Helen M.; Church, Richard L. 2003. A framework for setting land conservation priorities using multi-criteria scoring and an optimal fund allocation strategy. Report to the Resources Agency of California. National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis. Santa Barbara, California. Pages 72.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2003. A new synthetic approach to conservation planning. 17th Annual Meeting of the Society for Conservation Biology, June 2003. Duluth, MN.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2003. An integrated framework for setting conservation priorities and its implementation in California. Seminar Series, March 2003. Institute for Environmental Studies, University of Pennsylvania.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2003. A synthetic approach to conservation planning and its implementation in California. Environmental Forum, January 2003. Stanford University. Stanford, CA.
Presentations Davis, Frank W. 2003. Setting conservation priorities in the Sierra Nevada. Tallac Vista Conference Center, July 2003. South Lake Tahoe.
Data Set Davis, Frank W. 2006. California ecological condition 2000. (Online version)
Data Set Davis, Frank W. 2006. California index of ecological condition in the year 2040 based on projected 2040 land use. (Online version)
Journal Article Davis, Frank W.; Costello, Christopher; Stoms, David M. 2006. Efficient conservation in a utility-maximization framework. Ecology and Society. Vol: 11(1). Pages 33.
Data Set Davis, Frank W. 2006. Intersection of Calwater River Basins and ECOMAP subsections. (Abstract) (Online version)
Report or White Paper Machado, E. A.; Stoms, David M.; Davis, Frank W. 2003. A systematic framework for prioritizing farmland preservation. Report to the Resources Agency of California. National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis. Santa Barbara, California. Pages 52.
Journal Article Machado, E. A.; Stoms, David M.; Davis, Frank W.; Kreitler, Jason. 2006. Prioritizing farmland preservation cost-effectively for multiple objectives. Journal of Soil and Water Conservation. Vol: 61. Pages 250-259.
Report or White Paper Regan, Helen M.; Glickfeld, Madelyn J.; Barnett, Heather; Loux, Jeff; McCarty, Patricia; Doyle, Robert; Edelman, Paul; Kamradt, Denise; Beier, Paul; Luke, Claudia; Denzler, Sara; Woodbury, John; Miller, Crane S.; Dinno, Rachel; Dangermond, Pete; Metz, Josh; Angle, Mary A.; Greenwood, Greg; Scott, Tom; Davis, Frank W.; Beyeler, Marc; Rayburn, Rick. 2001. Report of NCEAS/California Legacy Project Workshop on Urban Open Space Conservation Criteria. A report to The Resources Agency of California and CCRISP.
Report or White Paper Regan, Helen M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Greenwood, Greg; Dangermond, Pete; Kelly, Dave; Loux, Jeff; Rash, Wendy; Standiford, Richard B.; Stewart, Bill; Vink, Erik. 2001. Report of NCEAS/CCRISP Workshop on Agricultural Lands Conservation Criteria. A report to The Resources Agency of California and CCRISP.
Report or White Paper Regan, Helen M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Dangermond, Pete; Gergel, Sarah E.; Glickfeld, Madelyn J.; Pert, Ed; Stine, Peter A.; Stoms, David M. 2001. Report of NCEAS/CCRISP Workshop on Aquatic Biodiversity Conservation Criteria. A report to The Resources Agency of California and CCRISP.
Report or White Paper Regan, Helen M.; Rash, Wendy; Loux, Jeff; Frost, W.; Greenwood, Greg; Jolley, L.; Standiford, Richard B.; Rayburn, Rick; Keithley, C.; Vink, Erik; Saving, S.; Stewart, W. 2001. Report of NCEAS/CCRISP Workshop on Forest Lands Conservation Criteria. A report to The Resources Agency of California and CCRISP.
Report or White Paper Regan, Helen M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Greenwood, Greg; Beyeler, Marc; Dangermond, Pete; Hickson, Diana; Hoshovsky, Marc. 2001. Report of NCEAS/CCRISP Workshop on Terrestrial Biodiversity Conservation Criteria. A report to The Resources Agency of California and CCRISP.
Presentations Regan, Helen M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Stoms, David M. 2002. The use of decision-making tools in systematic conservation planning. 16th Annual Meeting of the Society for Conservation Biology. Canterbury, United Kingdom.
Journal Article Regan, Helen M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Widyanata, Astrid; Freese, Mariah. 2007. Comprehensive criteria for biodiversity evaluation in conservation planning. Biodiversity and Conservation. Vol: 16. Pages 2715-2728.
Presentations Stoms, David M.; Davis, Frank W.; Costello, Christopher; Andelman, Sandy J.; Regan, Helen M. 2002. A methodological framework for the California Legacy Project. 17 Annual Meeting of the International Association for Landscape Ecology. Lincoln, NE.
Report or White Paper Stoms, David M. 2003. Linking GIS and reserve selection algorithms: Towards a geospatial data model. Biogeography Lab. Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, University of California Santa Barbara. Pages 37.
Report or White Paper Stoms, David M.; Davis, Frank W.; Costello, Christopher; Machado, E. A.; Metz, Josh. 2004. A framework to extend gap analysis to multi-objective conservation planning. Gap Analysis Program Annual Bulletin. Vol: 12. Pages 42-44.
"California Legacy Project (Hosted by NCEAS)" is project ID: 4040