Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem

Principal Investigators:

Craig Packer, and Stephen Polasky

The Serengeti ecosystem exemplifies a number of general features of terrestrial food web dynamics and can therefore be viewed as a model system for studying a complex interplay of basic ecological principles. These include: (1) the diverse roles of generalist top predators in governing coexistence in prey communities, (2) the importance of omnivory and intraguild predation in modulating the magnitude of 'top-down' impacts of predators, (3) trophic cascades; (4) the implications of movement, landscape pattern, and spatial heterogeneity for food web... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group11th—16th October 2001Participant List  
Graduate Student1st January—31st May 2002Participant List  
Working Group26th September—3rd October 2002Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Peter A. Abramspeter.abrams@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Feetham Banyikwafeeban@africaonline.co.tzUniversity of Dar-es-Salaam
Chris Barrettcbb2@cornell.eduCornell University
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael B. Coughenourmikec@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
John M. Fryxelljfryxell@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Kathy Galvinkathy@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Emmanuel Geretae.gereta@habari.co.tzTanzania National Parks
Ray Hilbornhilbornr@gmail.comUniversity of Washington
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Kansas
Tristan S. Kimbrellkimbrell@ufl.edu
Peter LittlePeter.little@emory.edu
Samuel McNaughtonsjmcnaug@mailbox.syr.eduSyracuse University
Simon A. R. Mdumamduma@habari.co.tzTanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Charles Mlingwatawiri@habari.co.tzTanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Han Olffh.olff@biol.rug.nl
Craig Packerpacker@biosci.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Mark Ritchiemeritchi@syr.eduUtah State University
Victor Runyoroncaa_faru@cybernet.co.tzNgorongoro Conservation Area Authority
Anthony R. E. Sinclairsinclair@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Rob Slotowslotow@nu.ac.zaUniversity of Natal
Stephanie Ewaltstephewalt@hotmail.comColorado State University
Gericke Sommervillegericke@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Markus Bornermarkusborner@fzo.orgFrankfurt Zoological Society
Sarah Cleavelandscleaveland@vet.ed.ac.ukUnknown
Douglas Donalsonddonals@calstatela.eduCalifornia State University, Los Angeles
Sarah Durants.Durant@ucl.ac.ukZoological Society of London
Titus Mlengeyatanapavet@africaonline.co.tzTanzania National Parks (TANAPA) Vet
Linda Munsonlmunson@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Ephraim Mwangomomwangomo@hotmail.comWashington State University
Cassandra Nunez

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Dobson, Andrew P. 2009. Food-web structure and ecosystem services: Insights from the Serengeti. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences. Vol: 364. Pages 1665-1682. (Online version)
Journal Article Fryxell, John M.; Wilmshurst, John F.; Sinclair, Anthony R. E. 2004. Predictive models of movement by Serengeti grazers. Ecology. Vol: 85(9). Pages 2429-2435.
Journal Article Fryxell, John M.; Wilmshurst, John F.; Sinclair, Anthony R. E.; Haydon, Daniel T.; Holt, Robert D.; Abrams, Peter A. 2005. Landscape scale, heterogeneity, and the viability of Serengeti grazers. Ecology Letters. Vol: 8(3). Pages 328-335.
Journal Article Holdo, Ricardo M.; Holt, Robert D.; Fryxell, John M. 2009. Opposing rainfall and plant nutritional gradients best explain the wildebeest migration in the Serengeti. American Naturalist. Vol: 173(4). Pages 431-445. (Online version)
Journal Article Packer, Craig; Hilborn, Ray; Mosser, Anna; Kissui, Bernard; Borner, Markus; Hopcraft, Grant; Wilmshurst, John F.; Mduma, Simon A. R.; Sinclair, Anthony R. E. 2005. Ecological change, group territoriality, and population dynamics in Serengeti lions. Science. Vol: 307. Pages 390-393.
Data Set Packer, Craig; Mduma, Simon A. R.; Coughenour, Michael B.; Ritchie, Mark. 2006. Serengeti ecosystem. (Abstract) (Online version)
"Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem" is project ID: 4180